We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Vietnamese food and very friendly...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of TinTin Restaurant

TinTin Restaurant
Phan Dinh Phung, Hoi An, Vietnam
938545690
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 432 Restaurants in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
london
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Lovely Vietnamese food and very friendly...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

The food and service here really are good. This is very much a family run place and they make you feel incredibly welcome. We came back here a number of times as we were staying locally and they food is as good of not better than many of the places in town and is certainly much better value.

It has to be said however they are not great when it comes to western fare. A burger here was deep fried and may actually have been made from ham not beef (it was hard to tell) so stick to the Vietnamese food and you really won't be disappointed...

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    41
    7
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, lovely quiet place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

If you're in Hoi An for more than a few days, or on a backpacker budget then you'll love this place. The food is great - it tastes more like home cooking than restaurant food. The place itself is quiet and away from the bustle and noise of the main town. If you're staying at the Southern Hotel and Villas or Sunshine Hotel then it's seconds from your door. The family that run the place are lovely, friendly and welcoming. You can't go wrong with this restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great place to eat and to take cooking classes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

Very lovely place with delicious food, big variety of dishes and very friendly staff. Also the prices are very reasonable. Their Vietnamese tea is what you have to try. Also we took cooking class and it was great experience - we prepared 1 starter and 3 main dishes. We spend time very interesting and funny, all was explained very clearly, so we hope that we can prepare these dishes at home. If we return to Hoi An there will be no doubt that we will go to Tin Tin again))

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Welcoming family restaurant, excellent food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Food very good quality and excellent value compared to te town. Convenient as it is located across from the Sunshine Hotel, which we were staying in. Ate there twice while we were in Hoi An, enjoyed the food and atmosphere (nice relaxing music in the background)

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Simple home restaurant, but food splendid”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The place itself is simple and in the outskirts of Hoi An, and we would never find that unless staying at Southern Hotel & Villas, very close to Tin Tin. The restaurant is a hidden gem and thanks to that they still keep warm and personal attitude to every visitor. Do not expect however the waiters experienced and silent as in high-class European restaurants, that is hardly can be found smwh in SE Asia. Here it is all about food taste, quality and value.
The most remarkable are the meals served - oh gosh they are VERY good. I am not a Vietnamese cuisine expert but I can judge on the taste, and I enjoyed. We tried fried tofu with pinced vegetables, meat and shrimps; chiсken curry and duck with cashew - all great, but tofu rolls at the top. Portions are huge and the food is fresh, not peppered to death to disguise the low quality. Local Da Lat vine exceeded our expectations.
I would recommend visiting Tin Tin to those who stay for simple but extremely tasty food prepared by locals as they are used to. It is a great experience and great delight!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed TinTin Restaurant also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to TinTin Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TinTin Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.