We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunshine Hotel Hoi An

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sunshine Hotel Hoi An to your Saves list
Sunshine Hotel Hoi An
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   02 Phan Dinh Phung Street, Hoi An, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BOOK DIRECTLY BEST PRICES
Ranked #46 of 95 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

3 of us stayed here for 4 nights. Luckily we got a triple room 3 single beds. Room was large and enough space to open suit cases without falling over them. Everything was clean although not extremely white but lets face it whites don't turn out white in Adelaide either! Towels a bit thin but when replaced everyday it's not an issue. We were picked up by the hotel van which looked brand new, icy cold water was handed out for the 30 min journey from Da Nang airport. Fruit plate and complimentary water in our room on arrival. Breakfast was a combination of western and Asian. Only one cereal, one choice of bread and one jam. I was surprised that no bacon was in the bain maries. It was only available for omelettes diced but still lots of food to eat. Free bikes to ride into old town. Reception very helpful with directions, taxis and overall a good experience. Just wish it was closer to town as my 75 year old mother struggled to walk in the heat. Ok if you're fit and young. Pool was refreshing on stinking hot days. Met lots of other travellers great meeting point.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    195
    59
    14
    13
See reviews for
75
215
33
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo, Canada
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed 8 nights - we arrived on a night bus from Nha Trang at 8am and they had our room ready. They also met us at the bus station at no charge! There is nothing quite like seeing your name on a paper when you get off a night bus that was delayed and late getting to the destination! Staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was very spacious, had a safe (which we really love!), fridge and had a large bathtub (jacuzzi style). Rooms were serviced everyday (new towels etc) but bedsheets not changed that often and a few days the floors still sandy from previous day. Staff very responsive when we spoke to them about this. We had a balcony which faced the infinity pool - the pool was gorgeous - perhaps a little exposed to the street and got morning sun - it was a highlight to start the day and dive in at the end of a hot day in town - or even at the Beach! Breakfast was included and was a well stocked buffet - lots of choices including eggs/pancakes made to order! The hotel lies about halfway between old town (10 mins bike ride) and An Bang beach (10 mins through rice fields). An Bang is less busy than the more well known Cua Dai, which is further. Bicycles are provided at no charge and all were in good working order - we took advantage of this bonus almost everyday. There is also a shuttle that goes to town a few times a day and also picks up from town - also a bonus! It is only short taxi ride (about $2 or less) - use metered cabs to be safe. There are a couple of good restaurants close by - including the one in hotel. The Tin Tin across the street is fabulous for local Hoi An food - which is so good we did a cooking class there as well as eating there a number of times. Wi fi was really great - no troubles. Even when power went out in town they had a generator working quickly on and off until power was restored. They also had several computers available in the lobby. All in all a great place to stay to enjoy all Hoi An has to offer.

Room Tip: the beds were amazingly comfortable - you can face pool or not - was very quiet overall. There is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Rooms are large , air con, clean sheets, normal size fridge, balcony- everything you need, plus a lovely pool that has the morning sun. We loved staying around the pool in the morning and then heading off to explore during the afternoon. This was recommended to us by Sparkle circus and we were glad of the top off.

Breakfast- they have an egg station- I am always impressed when your eggs are cooked to order. Good selection of fruit, yoghurt, breads, jams etc.

you also get free bikes to get into Hoi An itself and to go to the beach. Great fun!

Room Tip: go for the balcony rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The Sunshine Hotel is fantastic! If I could, I'd rate it 4.5 stars. The only thing I'd change was its location. It's not in the town but it only takes a couple of minutes by cab and the cabs are there within minutes once the reception staff call them. The room was probably the nicest of all the places we stayed. Very modern and new, very clean, nice balcony, great pool.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We booked for 1 night and stayed for 11. The breakfast as good but sometimes cold, but with a buffet there is plenty of choice. The rooms are large with great views and they are clean and very comfortable. The welcome fruit plate is good. The rom has a mini bar, fridge,wifi (not very fast) and tv. The staff on reception Are always smiling and friendly and go out of their way to make you feel welcome, they can assist you wi travel arrangements and tours also. T hotel,also provides bicycles free for guests... S go for a ride around town as it is the most beautiful around and very safe for bike riding.

Room Tip: Superior are much better then the standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This is the best hotel we stayed in during our Vietnam trip, especially in regards to what the rooms cost, and I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a hotel in this price range.
The rooms are large, modern and clean. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Free bikes and computers/internet for guests to use. The pool is clean. Breakfast was very good - lots of fruit, freshly cooked omelettes, other dishes changed daily. Free room service during restaurant opening times. The walk to the Old Town is about 20 minutes or so, but taxis are only $2.
I would definitely stay here again - well done to the owner and all the staff.
I also recommend the cooking class at the restaurant across the road (Tin Tin) - a great, hands-on experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buderim, Queensland, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This hotel has a great pool, very clean and maintained. The buffet breakfast was great, heaps of fruit and variety. The rooms were large and clean and serviced everyday. The hotel is between the town and the beach which suited us perfectly as each day we rode to one or the other (both some days) The free bikes made getting around very easy especially with 2 teenage children. The bikes had little lights that we made use of on a few nights. There is a lovely restaurant across the road 'Tin Tin' . A great week to recharge after 3 months of travelling.

Room Tip: We were in an economy room without the balcony and it was fine, but if you like the extra room go fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunshine Hotel Hoi An? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Hotel Hoi An

Address: 02 Phan Dinh Phung Street, Hoi An, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 95 Hotels in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunshine Hotel Hoi An 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunshine hotel is three star hotel with 45 rooms, near the Anbang beach and 10 minutes walk in the Hoian old town ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Sunshine Hotel Hoi An reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunshine Hotel Hoi An, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.