We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we needed!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunshine Hotel Hoi An

Save Saved
You added Sunshine Hotel Hoi An to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunshine Hotel Hoi An
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   02 Phan Dinh Phung Street, Hoi An, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 31 Specialty lodging in Hoi An
NA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Just what we needed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Great specs, great staff and great service! We stayed here after a long trip around Asia and this was definitely one of the best places! The service was top notch and the staff were all very polite and accommodating, especially the front desk. Our room was fantastic and they even upgraded us to a bigger room because the one we booked on Agoda was full. Upon check in, they gave us cold water and a fruit plate as well as nice tour of the hotel with advice about the town.
The breakfast buffet was full of Western and Eastern delights and I loved the fresh juices and banana shakes for free each morning. The pool was well worth it and we spent more time there than we would have expected!
The only service that was not spectacular was my massage in the hotel spa. My masseuse was only 18 years old and it was obvious she wasn't as strong as I would have liked, but she tried nonetheless! I think I would go elsewhere for a massage if I were you.
The free bikes are a great addition as it is about a 15 minute bike ride away to the center. But we needed the exercise, so we didn't mind at all.
TIP: If you have time, go up the road and turn left onto a road that goes through the rice paddies. Biking through the ducks and buffalo was one of my favorite activities (and free)!
Enjoy! It's worth the mid-range price to stay here!

Room Tip: There are two rooms 101 and 102 that are not over the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    195
    143
    45
    11
    7
See reviews for
56
171
23
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We(4 of us) had one of the worst experience in our trip in this hotel. First of all, this is little too far from the town but that's ok. We biked to places. The hotel has swimming pool and great breakfast buffett.

When we stayed there, I had to book a separate room for one night and they gave me a room in 5th floor which didn't have any elevator. So basically I have to take the elevator to 4th floor and then carry all my stuff to the 5th floor. They didn't even offer help. I'm at least ok with that but then two of my friends' money got stolen. We were so shocked that something like that has happened to us.The owner and the girl at the reception really tried their best to solve the issue. They even showed the video footage in which we can see the maids going into the room with no cleaning supplies and then coming back after few mins and then going again with cleaning stuff.

They paid for the car trip to the airport which is nice but still $250 in Vietnam is a great deal of money and losing it caused some issues for my friends since they were hoping to do some shopping. And then the hotel told us that they can't take credit card and they wanted only cash. After we told them that we can't do that since we need the cash to use in places where only cash is allowed, somehow the credit card machine miraculously worked.

Hotel is good, food is good, most of the staff is great. If it was not for the stolen money and credit card fiasco, I would have rated higher. Overall a mixed experience in this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoi An, Vietnam
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights with 2 other friends in a clean, airy, fairly spacious triple room. Breakfast was good. Lovely pool and loungers. Enjoyed the location as beach and town easily reachable on the free bikes. Staff friendly.

Bathroom was nicely decorated and clean but gap between bath and wall meant that every shower ended up flooding the bathroom unless a 'dam' of towels was placed around the bath. Also we were in room 109 directly above the restaurant area looking out over the pool - this really should not have been a problem. However, every morning just before 6am a racket of clattering cuttlery, banging gas bottles and shifting crockery began - this was frustrating as I am sure the commotion could have been reduced considerably by exercising a little consideration for the guests paying to sleep!

All in all this hotel ticked the boxes for our stay, and would have got 4* if the morning disturbance had been a one off. I would recommend staying here, but would advise avoiding the first 2 floors until the kitchen staff have had a few lessons in general hotel courtesy.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The hotel itself is lovely - spacious rooms, helpful staff, everywhere clean and new. Tea/coffee making facilities and complimentary fresh fruit in room. We did send some laundry to be done and it was returned un-ironed which wasn't very helpful. Breakfast was good - pool looked inviting. As everywhere is flat it is easy to cycle around with the hotel's free bikes. I would say though that I felt we were a bit too far out of town. I didn't like walking back in the evening along quiet and only partially lit streets. The hotel was great but I would have preferred it nearer to town. However on the upside we arrived on the bus from Hue and the hotel was only a couple of hundred yards from the bus stop.
Warning - we asked for an early morning call and it was forgotten. Fortunately we were up anyway.

Room Tip: We had a room with bars at the window - not sure why. Rooms further along the corridor had balconie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed only 1 night in this hotel, and the first thing that comes to mind is that we wished we stayed more!
The hotel is still very new, so it is very clean. Rooms are spacious and well-kept, and the complimentary fruit plate is a very nice touch.
Breakfast was very good and there was a good choice, and the swimming pool is big enough to do a few laps.
What made all the difference was the staff: they really go out of their way to make your stay comfortable. One example: we needed shampoo (real one, not the one from the hotel), and 5 minutes later, it was delivered to our room with a smile! They were also most helpful to book a private car for the airport transfer (cheaper than a taxi), give us some advice on where to eat (Morning Glory, so good we went 3 times!), etc.
For sure, next time we go to Hoi An, we know where to go!
Thank you to all the staff at Sunshine Hotel and keep up the good work. It's not often that we find this quality of service in Vietnam...

Room Tip: Rooms 501, 502 and 503 are close to the water-boiler and it gets a bit noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

What a wonderful hotel from the time I first walked into the hotel I felt totally relaxed,it has a lovely pool the staff are very friendly and the breakfast is amazing good choice of fresh juices,hot asianfood,toast,pancakes,omelette fruit tea coffee you couldn't fault it.i stayed here for 6 nights and had a lovely relaxing time and it was great to use the free bicycles to get around so much fun,slightly out of town but its a lovely walk in the evening loved every minute of my stay here

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

It's fairly new and it's absolutely nice and affordable! Room & toilet were clean, they even serve us welcome fruit platter! What a nice touch... Breakfast is included and there's a pool & wifi in the hotel. Will definitely come back.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sunshine Hotel Hoi An? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Hotel Hoi An

Address: 02 Phan Dinh Phung Street, Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 31 Specialty lodging in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunshine Hotel Hoi An 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunshine hotel is three star hotel with 45 rooms, near the Anbang beach and 10 minutes walk in the Hoian old town ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Sunshine Hotel Hoi An reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunshine Hotel Hoi An, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.