We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Comfortable Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of River Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added River Beach Resort to your Saves list
River Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   05 Cua Dai Beach, Hoi An 84.510, Vietnam (Formerly Dong An Beach Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 95 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
“Very Comfortable Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Our room was spacious and very nice. The hotel has excellent grounds and a very good breakfast. They run regular shuttles into the old town, which we found to be extremely charming. While we didn't have time to use the pool, it looks to be a good one. If we ever return to Hoi An, we will likely book this place again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Beach Res... H, Director of Sales at River Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Sir / Madame,

Warmest greeting from the River Beach Resort & Residences Hoi An!

Thank you for choosing to stay at River Beach Resort & Residences. We are pleased to know that you are happy with your stay at our Resort.

We look forward to welcoming you to the River Beach Resort & Residences on your next visit to Hoi An.

Best regards,

Pham Hanh Trinh/Ms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    163
    56
    26
    10
See reviews for
92
134
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singleton, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I have taken 3 groups to this resort for a 2 night stay over the past 18 months. We are going back for a 4 night stay next March with another group of 30 people. Being the group leader I have never had a complaint about this resort. The Staff are all wonderful and they go out of thier way to help you enjoy your stay. Breakfast was plentiful in a nice setting overlooking the pool. The Beach is a short 100 metre walk at the end of the street and locals shops accross the road where you can wine and dine with the locals.
For my groups I would not think of anywhere else to stay in Hoi An.
Regards
Allan

Room Tip: Ground Floor Rooms are great to relax on the grass by the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Beach Res... H, Director of Sales at River Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Sir / Madame,

Warmest greeting from the River Beach Resort & Residences Hoi An!

Thank you for choosing to stay at the River Beach Resort & Residences Hoi An. We are very pleased to know you enjoyed your stay at our Resort. Our management and staff will keep improving our services in warm spirits to make the stays with us memorable.

We appreciate your valuable comment of our hotel and services on Trip Advisor.

We are looking forward to welcoming you to the River Beach Resort & Residences on your next visit to Hoi An.

Best regards,

Pham Hanh Trinh/ Ms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This resort is excellent. It looks like the rooms have just been renovated & ours was 5 star except for old bath which was still o.k. but obviously older.
Location is brilliant. Back faces the river with fantastic views & front is a 100 metre walk to beach.All the facilities are good. Pool is a fair size with spa in shallow area.Bar ,restaurant,internet room all good & service excellent.
A free shuttle bus goes to & from Old Town in Hoi An every 3 hours, so you get the best of both worlds.
There are shops accross the road & restaurants. Also Laundry facilities.
Don't go anywhere else.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Beach Res... H, Director of Sales at River Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Sir / Madame,

Warmest greeting from the River Beach Resort & Residences Hoi An!

Thank you for choosing to stay at River Beach Resort & Residences. We are pleased to know that you are happy with your stay at our Resort.

We look forward to welcoming you to the River Beach Resort & Residences on your next visit to Hoi An.

Best regards,

Pham Hanh Trinh/Ms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

First surprise: a non-citizen needs to pay an additional VND500,000 (that's about US$25) on top of rack rates. So, rack rates are for citizens only - please take note in future!

Second surprise: rooms are poorly maintained. Musty, dark and at times stench from the WC flush. Rooms may have good river view but the darkness of it is appealing. It was difficult to find thing or to make sure you don't have wardrobe malfunction. Wanted to inform hotel but there was no fused bulbs or other lighting options available.

Otherwise stay was pleasant and enjoyed the pool and the river view at our balcony.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Beach Res... H, Director of Sales at River Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Sir/Madame,

Warmest greeting from the River Beach Resort & Residences Hoi An!

Thank you for choosing to stay at the River Beach Resort & Residences Hoi An. We are very pleased to know you enjoyed your stay at our Resort. Our management and staff will keep improving our services in warm spirits to make the stays with us memorable.
On behalf of the Management team and staff at the River-Beach Resort & Residences, we would like to apologize for the inconvenient you have encountered and we will take your comment into consideration to improve our services and facilities in the future.

In regards to your comment, we understand improvement and replacement of some facilities at our hotel is a must. We will take care of this matter and hope you will consider visiting us on your next visit to see the improvement.

We highly appreciate your valuable comment of our hotel and services on Trip Advisor.

We are looking forward to welcoming you to the River Beach Resort & Residences on your next visit to Hoi An.

Best regards,

Pham Hanh Trinh/Ms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taoyuan, Taiwan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

A beautiful private beach which provides you umbrella, bath towel, and nearby abundant of restaurant with so fresh seafood.

We got Deluxe River View, and it was amazing, every seconds is worth giving.
Comfortable, Elegant, and bring to you feeling like your sweet home.

A beautiful swimming pool with a restaurant and Bar nearby!

We did enjoy an wonderful holiday at there.

P/s: only one thing that annoy us is flap and knock boat sound from local fishermen in the very early morning.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Beach Res... H, Director of Sales at River Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Sir / Madame,

Warmest greeting from the River Beach Resort & Residences Hoi An!

Thank you for choosing to stay at the River Beach Resort & Residences Hoi An. We are very pleased to know you enjoyed your stay at our Resort. Our management and staff will keep improving our services in warm spirits to make the stays with us memorable.

We appreciate your valuable comment of our hotel and services on Trip Advisor.

We are looking forward to welcoming you to the River Beach Resort & Residences on your next visit to Hoi An.

Best regards,

Pham Hanh Trinh/ Ms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

One night in hoi an and had to stay in this terrible hotel. Corridors look like hospital's. Did not dare sleeping as bed was dirty with wore ....aaargh ! Reading the comments, I now understand why the hotel is so empty and so the restaurant. Don't mentioning the bathroom, furniture or even complimentary fruit and water, did not even touch them.
I wouldn't recommend it even to my enemies...

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Beach Res... H, Director of Sales at River Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Sir/ Madame,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the River-Beach Resort & Residences Hoi An.
We really regret to receive your comment on TripAdvisor as it sounds like you are not happy with your stay due to some unexpected reasons. On behalf of the Management team and staff at the River-Beach Resort & Residences, we would like to apologize for the inconvenient you have encountered and we will take your comment into consideration to improve our services and facilities in the future.
In regards to your comment, we understand improvement and replacement of some facilities at our hotel is a must. We will take care of this matter and hope you will consider visiting us on your next visit to see the improvement.

Best regards,
Pham Hanh Trinh/Ms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We really enjoyed staying at this hotel where you can dip your feet in the pool at anytime of the day or night. It was wonderful having outdoor table and chairs on the balcony too as this is hard to come by in the main cities. The views across the river were wonderful. Breakfast was fantastic! Thanks for a good 4 nights.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Beach Res... H, Director of Sales at River Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Sir / Madame,

Thank you for choosing to stay at River Beach Resort & Residences. We are pleased to know that you are happy with your stay at our Resort.

We look forward to welcoming you to the River Beach Resort & Residences on your next visit to Hoi An.

Best regards,

Pham Hanh Trinh/Ms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to River Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Beach Resort

Address: 05 Cua Dai Beach, Hoi An 84.510, Vietnam (Formerly Dong An Beach Hotel)
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Hoi An
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Hoi An
#28 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#32 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — River Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, HostelBookers and Priceline so you can book your River Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Beach Hotel Hoi An
River Beach Hoi An

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.