We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real place to relax” 4 of 5 stars
Review of River Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added River Beach Resort to your Saves list
River Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   05 Cua Dai Beach, Hoi An 84.510, Vietnam (Formerly Dong An Beach Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 95 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Taoyuan, Taiwan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A real place to relax”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

A beautiful private beach which provides you umbrella, bath towel, and nearby abundant of restaurant with so fresh seafood.

We got Deluxe River View, and it was amazing, every seconds is worth giving.
Comfortable, Elegant, and bring to you feeling like your sweet home.

A beautiful swimming pool with a restaurant and Bar nearby!

We did enjoy an wonderful holiday at there.

P/s: only one thing that annoy us is flap and knock boat sound from local fishermen in the very early morning.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Beach Res... H, Director of Sales at River Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Sir / Madame,

Warmest greeting from the River Beach Resort & Residences Hoi An!

Thank you for choosing to stay at the River Beach Resort & Residences Hoi An. We are very pleased to know you enjoyed your stay at our Resort. Our management and staff will keep improving our services in warm spirits to make the stays with us memorable.

We appreciate your valuable comment of our hotel and services on Trip Advisor.

We are looking forward to welcoming you to the River Beach Resort & Residences on your next visit to Hoi An.

Best regards,

Pham Hanh Trinh/ Ms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    164
    57
    26
    10
See reviews for
93
135
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

One night in hoi an and had to stay in this terrible hotel. Corridors look like hospital's. Did not dare sleeping as bed was dirty with wore ....aaargh ! Reading the comments, I now understand why the hotel is so empty and so the restaurant. Don't mentioning the bathroom, furniture or even complimentary fruit and water, did not even touch them.
I wouldn't recommend it even to my enemies...

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Beach Res... H, Director of Sales at River Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Sir/ Madame,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the River-Beach Resort & Residences Hoi An.
We really regret to receive your comment on TripAdvisor as it sounds like you are not happy with your stay due to some unexpected reasons. On behalf of the Management team and staff at the River-Beach Resort & Residences, we would like to apologize for the inconvenient you have encountered and we will take your comment into consideration to improve our services and facilities in the future.
In regards to your comment, we understand improvement and replacement of some facilities at our hotel is a must. We will take care of this matter and hope you will consider visiting us on your next visit to see the improvement.

Best regards,
Pham Hanh Trinh/Ms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We really enjoyed staying at this hotel where you can dip your feet in the pool at anytime of the day or night. It was wonderful having outdoor table and chairs on the balcony too as this is hard to come by in the main cities. The views across the river were wonderful. Breakfast was fantastic! Thanks for a good 4 nights.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Beach Res... H, Director of Sales at River Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Sir / Madame,

Thank you for choosing to stay at River Beach Resort & Residences. We are pleased to know that you are happy with your stay at our Resort.

We look forward to welcoming you to the River Beach Resort & Residences on your next visit to Hoi An.

Best regards,

Pham Hanh Trinh/Ms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Innes, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

My husband & I spent 6 nights at River beach resort and residences last week, we arrived at midnight and the reception area should be closed at 10pm but the staff were there to welcome us
and see that we were settled in. Breakfast is crowded and noisy but lots of fun and they cater to everyones taste and the omeletes are delicious, everything you order is made fresh for you and is delicious, so much so my husband & i did not bother going elsewhere as the menu had enough different dishes for us to try something new each evening. They had a mexican duo in the dinning room at night playing music on guitar and mandolin and they were wonderful but unfortunately do not have a CD of their music recorded. My husband & I had spent 2 weeks touring Thailand before arriving in Hoi An to kick back and relax have some tailoring done and have a taste of Vietnam and we were very pleased that our travel agent booked us into the River Beach Resort and residences for our stay. The only down side was our cooking class, we left the resort at 10.20am had to sit in a restuarant in town for an hour before the market walk and then when we were finished and at the dining part of the class we were told by the guide we had to leave because our time was up and we had to be back at the resort by 3pm.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Beach Res... H, Director of Sales at River Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Sir / Madame,

Thank you very much for choosing our Resort for your family stay in Hoi An. It's our pleasure to know you are enjoy your stay at River Beach Resort & Residences. Our Management and Staffs at resort will keep improving our services with our warm spirit to make the stays with us memorable.

We also appreciate your valuable comment on TripAdvisor and look forward to welcoming you to the River Beach Resort & Residences on your next visit to Hoi An.

Best regards,

Pham Hanh Trinh/Ms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkeroed, Denmark
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Going to Hoi An we decided that we wanted to stay close to the beach and then go into the town in the evening - and we are very happy we did that since this was the last part of our fantastic holiday in Vietnam and we wanted to relax on the beach during the day.
This place has a very nice location right on the river and with only 100 meters to the beach. They have a restaurent at the beach where you can get beach-chairs and towels. In the busy season I can imagine that there is not enough charis thoug!
Nice place with a nice garden and a very nice pool. Nice with the shuttlebus to town, although it would have been nice with at later bus home.
The breakfast buffet is very nice and with something for everybody. We had a family room wich was very big - and that was very nice since we stayed for 8 nights.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Beach Res... H, Director of Sales at River Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Sir / Madame,

Thank you for choosing River Beach Resort & Residences for your stay in Vietnam. We have read your comments about River Beach Resort & Residences and we greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, as our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guests. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your collaboration and we hope to have a chance to welcome you again at our Resort.

Best regards,

Pham Hanh Trinh/ Ms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 nights in a family room ( interconnected) and enjoyed it very much. While lacking the glitz and glamour of newer resorts this is a solid 3.5 star place. It's built in more traditional Asian style, more basic airy rooms with solid timber floors and white rendered walls. It is a bit frayed around the edges but this is only cosmetics. It could do with some patching up. Comfort is good ( although not very sound proof), amenities are plentiful and we liked the location. It is close to the beach but still has shops & restaurants around that provide good value for money. Many of the other, more expensive, beach resorts on the peninsula are close to nowhere. River Beach has a much better location IMO.

Breakfast was good, both western and Asian choices. While not very large, the pool is adequate for cooling off.

Staff was helpful and polite and quickly arranged for a doctor when one of our boys fell ill ( fantastic service from the medical centre to have a doctor arrive within one hour).

At the beach the hotel has a deal with GoBy restaurant for sun chairs. That is all you get from there.... While the cheaper restaurants next to it are eager to serve you lunch and drinks, the smart dressed staff at the more upmarket GoBy couldn't care less.. No drinks served to you sun chair unless you beg, and no desire to sell food. Needless to say, we never ordered from them.

In summary River Beach is great value for money if you want comfort but don't need luxury. We'd gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Beach Res... H, Director of Sales at River Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Dear Mr and Mrs Magste,

Thank you for your stay with us and it’s our great pleasure to know that you did enjoy your stay at our resort.
I would like to write you to thank you for your comments our hotel and services on the TripAdvisor. This help us to know and improve some services that is still not satisfied our valued guests.
Concerning to the Goby restaurant at our beach, I would like to correct it that this restaurant is belong to our hotel although it’s name is different but it’s the same owner. It’s our regret to see your comment that the staff here couldn’t care you well as you require and this is our ashamed to hear that. But it’s good for the Management here to know this to train the staff again and improve the services at our beach restaurant.
Once again, thank you for your stay at our River-Beach Resort & Residences as well as your comments on the TripAdvisor. This helps us to improve our services better in the future.
We hope to welcome you again at our resort soon with more refresh services.

Kind regards,
Pham Hanh Trinh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orebro, Sweden
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

A very good hotel. Nice pool area, good rooms, and service-minded staff. The location near the beach is good. The shuttle-service to the town is nice but could be better organised. The hotel would soon need a little refurbishing.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at River Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Dear Mr. Jonas K,

Warmest greetings from River Beach Resort & Residences !

Thank you very much for choosing our Resort for your family stay in Hoi An. It's our pleasure to know you are enjoy your stay at River Beach Resort & Residences. Our Management and Staffs at resort will keep improving our services with our warm spirit to make the stays with us memorable.

We also appreciate your valuable comment on TripAdvisor that are being considered for our soonest plan.

We are looking forward to welcoming you at River Beach Resort & Residences again soon.

With kind regards,

Pham Hanh Trinh/Ms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to River Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Beach Resort

Address: 05 Cua Dai Beach, Hoi An 84.510, Vietnam (Formerly Dong An Beach Hotel)
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Hoi An
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Hoi An
#32 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — River Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HostelBookers and Hotels.com so you can book your River Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Beach Hotel Hoi An
River Beach Hoi An

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.