We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very special place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vinh Hung Heritage Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Vinh Hung Heritage Hotel to your Saves list
Vinh Hung Heritage Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   143 Tran Phu Street, Hoi An, Vietnam (Formerly Vinh Hung 1 Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 102 Hotels in Hoi An
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very special place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We had a wonderful time here. The hotel is incredibly atmospheric, with wooden panels and screens and in a perfect location for wandering the streets of Hoi An. We enjoyed delicious breakfasts in the lobby, and the charming front desk manager was always cheerful and helpful. It was also very quiet and restful. Not highly modern but perfect for what we wanted.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    75
    16
    11
    4
See reviews for
32
115
30
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, MI
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed three nights at the Vinh Hung 1, in room 206, which is one of the "special" museum-like rooms. The location could not be better, right on the "main drag" of the old town. I'd say that the sightseeing is right outside the door, but the fact is the hotel is a sightseer's site in itself! It's a wonderful cultural experience with its magnificent antiques, but if your idea of a fine hotel is a cushy chair in which to watch TV, go elsewhere. The room was a fantastic period piece, but there really wasn't anyplace comfortable to sit. The canopy bed with mosquito neeting was quite comfortable. Wooden shutters on the front window are effective in blocking most of the street noise, so that was not a problem. Air conditioner worked well in fighting the over 90 degree (F) heat, but, like most hotels in the region, you have to insert a key fob in a holder next to the door to turn the electricity on, so the aircon doesn't operate when you're not in the room. The bathroom had to be seen, with a bathtub made like a barrel; wooden staves and iron straps. Very good breakfast for a hotel with only six rooms, including eggs cooked to order.

The staff was uniformly friendly and helpful.

We're glad we stayed at the Vinh Hung 1; wouldn;t have missed it for anything. But we're glad not all our hotels on our trip were such cultural experiences!

Room Tip: Access to the second floor balcony overlooking the street is open to all guests, so that's a p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Everything everyone has said before is true. This hotel is full of character, a delight, and centrally placed, which was great. We loved our large room, which was at the back, although it's true that rooms are dark (keeps them cool). Breakfast was taken at a table sitting looking out of the large window, watching the man over the road tend his birdcages. Lovely fruit, lovely breakfast, great welcome. And we went to the Vinh Hung resort to use the pool, which made for a relaxing change to sight-seeing. I can't imagine there being a better place to stay.

Room Tip: I can imagine the room near the water pump could be noisy - it didn't trouble us in our room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is absolutely stunning! There were many times when I was sitting on the balcony when other tourists would walk by and take pictures of the hotel. We stayed in one of the big rooms at the front of the hotel, overlooking the street - it was very spacious and full of gorgeous period furniture. The service was fantastic, but I think that's just the way in Vietnam! The only possible negatives are that the room is quite dark and noisy (which is cool if you're looking for a proper authentic experience), and the shower is a title awkward but completely manageable.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Media, PA
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We enjoyed wonderful hospitality and a beautiful room here in January. It's in the heart of historic Hoi An and central to everything. The staff was welcoming and warm with helpful suggestions and lots of smiles. The decor is authentic and beautiful with artwork and antiques that deserve a bit of time to admire. When back in Hoi An we'll always consider this home!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oriental, North Carolina
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

The service of the VH1 is outstanding with a very professional staff. The Ving Hung staff booked us a pick-up from DaNang Airport and a trip My Son and onto Hue. The hotel is 250 years old--not everything will work perfectly. The water pressure and old wooden tub in the upstair's room leaves something to be desired from a bathing standpoint but with patience all can be surmounted. We stayed in Rm 206 and our friends stayed in 208. They are the rooms used in the filming of the Quiet American. Sitting on the balcony overlooking the street below is wonderful. Breakfast if good with strong Vietnamese coffee. The staff even gave our friend a birthday cake--unsolicited from his passport info. Take a 1 hour trip to My Son--another a World Heritage site and home of the Cham people. Like Angkor Wat but different.

Room Tip: Rooms 206 and 208 can be noisy at night if there is a lot of street noise. Close the shutters from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
119 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed at the Vinh Hung 1 in a suite on the second floor for 3 nights. An ancient house, formerly a Chinese trader's residence in the Old City. The room itself was unique, furnished in the old style with creaky floors, etc. Dark. However, it was comfortable. The only drawback was that the hot water heater was above our room and it gurgled throughout the night. They turned it off at night for us for the 2nd and 3rd nights and all was well. It is a quiet hotel with a very polite staff. The breakfasts were nothing special and we decided to pick up our own supplies for breakfast after the 1st night. Warmer trays for food not kept at a proper temperature (which is always a concern), and sad looking vegetables and noodles. They ordered pho' in for us one day which arrived cold - and unappetizing. However, we do not stay in hotels for the breakfasts alone, and all in all it was a wonderful experience staying here. The hotel lobby also boasts some incredible furniture (antiques, no doubt) and many tourists were dropping in to the lobby to take pictures of the exquisite furnishings. They have a computer for use in the lobby as well. We loved it here. Highly recommended.

TIP: Avoid shopping in the Old City and paying inflated prices. Take a walk across the bridge out of the Old City, where you can purchase items for much less and pick up some freshly made baguette from the vendors.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.1 mi away
Little Hoian Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA
0.5 mi away
Ha An Hotel
Ha An Hotel
#34 of 102 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 stars 1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
#35 of 102 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 stars 852 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hoi An Chic Hotel
Hoi An Chic Hotel
#5 of 102 in Hoi An
5.0 of 5 stars 626 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pham Gia Boutique Homestay Villa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vinh Hung Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vinh Hung Heritage Hotel

Address: 143 Tran Phu Street, Hoi An, Vietnam (Formerly Vinh Hung 1 Hotel)
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
#28 Family Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Vinh Hung Heritage Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Vinh Hung Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vinh Hung 1
Vinh Hung 1 Hoi An

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vinh Hung Heritage Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.