We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feel like a part of the ancient town!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vinh Hung Heritage Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Vinh Hung Heritage Hotel to your Saves list
Vinh Hung Heritage Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   143 Tran Phu Street, Hoi An, Vietnam (Formerly Vinh Hung 1 Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 113 Hotels in Hoi An
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Feel like a part of the ancient town!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is absolutely stunning! There were many times when I was sitting on the balcony when other tourists would walk by and take pictures of the hotel. We stayed in one of the big rooms at the front of the hotel, overlooking the street - it was very spacious and full of gorgeous period furniture. The service was fantastic, but I think that's just the way in Vietnam! The only possible negatives are that the room is quite dark and noisy (which is cool if you're looking for a proper authentic experience), and the shower is a title awkward but completely manageable.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank mistyglo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Media, PA
Level Contributor
97 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We enjoyed wonderful hospitality and a beautiful room here in January. It's in the heart of historic Hoi An and central to everything. The staff was welcoming and warm with helpful suggestions and lots of smiles. The decor is authentic and beautiful with artwork and antiques that deserve a bit of time to admire. When back in Hoi An we'll always consider this home!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RamblinRoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oriental, North Carolina
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

The service of the VH1 is outstanding with a very professional staff. The Ving Hung staff booked us a pick-up from DaNang Airport and a trip My Son and onto Hue. The hotel is 250 years old--not everything will work perfectly. The water pressure and old wooden tub in the upstair's room leaves something to be desired from a bathing standpoint but with patience all can be surmounted. We stayed in Rm 206 and our friends stayed in 208. They are the rooms used in the filming of the Quiet American. Sitting on the balcony overlooking the street below is wonderful. Breakfast if good with strong Vietnamese coffee. The staff even gave our friend a birthday cake--unsolicited from his passport info. Take a 1 hour trip to My Son--another a World Heritage site and home of the Cham people. Like Angkor Wat but different.

Room Tip: Rooms 206 and 208 can be noisy at night if there is a lot of street noise. Close the shutters from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
131 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed at the Vinh Hung 1 in a suite on the second floor for 3 nights. An ancient house, formerly a Chinese trader's residence in the Old City. The room itself was unique, furnished in the old style with creaky floors, etc. Dark. However, it was comfortable. The only drawback was that the hot water heater was above our room and it gurgled throughout the night. They turned it off at night for us for the 2nd and 3rd nights and all was well. It is a quiet hotel with a very polite staff. The breakfasts were nothing special and we decided to pick up our own supplies for breakfast after the 1st night. Warmer trays for food not kept at a proper temperature (which is always a concern), and sad looking vegetables and noodles. They ordered pho' in for us one day which arrived cold - and unappetizing. However, we do not stay in hotels for the breakfasts alone, and all in all it was a wonderful experience staying here. The hotel lobby also boasts some incredible furniture (antiques, no doubt) and many tourists were dropping in to the lobby to take pictures of the exquisite furnishings. They have a computer for use in the lobby as well. We loved it here. Highly recommended.

TIP: Avoid shopping in the Old City and paying inflated prices. Take a walk across the bridge out of the Old City, where you can purchase items for much less and pick up some freshly made baguette from the vendors.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary_TO_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conegliano, Italy
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Great location of this ancient house transformed into an hotel. Very kind and helpfull staff. The breakfast however is a bit below standards and also the bathroom of the bedroom. However the location and the atmosphere are soo good which make it a worth place to stay! Reccomended!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank iCharlie79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subang Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

A very unique hotel located right in the centre of the Old Quarters. Nice and clean hotel with only 6 rooms. Friendly and helpful staff. All the major tourist spots are within walking distance. Would definately like to stay again during my next vist to Hoi An.

Room Tip: Both the rooms on the ground floor will be good. First floor front room will be a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrewchoo55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Want to step back in time? Want to imagine Vietnam hundreds of years ago? Check in to Vinh Hung 1 and treat yourself to a stay unlike most any hotel experience. An Asia beauty, filled with the sights and sounds and beautiful fragrances of Vietnam. Simply beautiful, located in the heart of Hoi An, just a minute to the river and old Bridge. The staff treated me like a friend, arranged a bicycle for me when I decided to tour the countryside and returned it when I got back. Same with arranging transport for me whe I was checking out. What others have said about the showers is true, but trust me you won't care, and I promise it will be a highlight of your hotel experience in Vietnam.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the street (which is quiet at night) have more light. I was in the rear, my window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Farryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.1 mi away
Little Hoian Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA
0.3 mi away
Vinh Hung 2 City Hotel
Vinh Hung 2 City Hotel
#63 of 113 in Hoi An
4.0 of 5 stars 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lantana Boutique Hotel Hoi An
0.3 mi away
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
#38 of 113 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 stars 943 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Residencia Hoi An Luxury Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vinh Hung Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vinh Hung Heritage Hotel

Address: 143 Tran Phu Street, Hoi An, Vietnam (Formerly Vinh Hung 1 Hotel)
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
#28 Family Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Vinh Hung Heritage Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Vinh Hung Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vinh Hung 1
Vinh Hung 1 Hoi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing