We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feel like a part of the ancient town!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vinh Hung Heritage Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Vinh Hung Heritage Hotel to your Saves list
Vinh Hung Heritage Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   143 Tran Phu Street, Hoi An, Vietnam (Formerly Vinh Hung 1 Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 95 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Perth, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Feel like a part of the ancient town!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is absolutely stunning! There were many times when I was sitting on the balcony when other tourists would walk by and take pictures of the hotel. We stayed in one of the big rooms at the front of the hotel, overlooking the street - it was very spacious and full of gorgeous period furniture. The service was fantastic, but I think that's just the way in Vietnam! The only possible negatives are that the room is quite dark and noisy (which is cool if you're looking for a proper authentic experience), and the shower is a title awkward but completely manageable.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    66
    15
    11
    5
See reviews for
27
100
29
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Media, PA
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We enjoyed wonderful hospitality and a beautiful room here in January. It's in the heart of historic Hoi An and central to everything. The staff was welcoming and warm with helpful suggestions and lots of smiles. The decor is authentic and beautiful with artwork and antiques that deserve a bit of time to admire. When back in Hoi An we'll always consider this home!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oriental, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

The service of the VH1 is outstanding with a very professional staff. The Ving Hung staff booked us a pick-up from DaNang Airport and a trip My Son and onto Hue. The hotel is 250 years old--not everything will work perfectly. The water pressure and old wooden tub in the upstair's room leaves something to be desired from a bathing standpoint but with patience all can be surmounted. We stayed in Rm 206 and our friends stayed in 208. They are the rooms used in the filming of the Quiet American. Sitting on the balcony overlooking the street below is wonderful. Breakfast if good with strong Vietnamese coffee. The staff even gave our friend a birthday cake--unsolicited from his passport info. Take a 1 hour trip to My Son--another a World Heritage site and home of the Cham people. Like Angkor Wat but different.

Room Tip: Rooms 206 and 208 can be noisy at night if there is a lot of street noise. Close the shutters from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed at the Vinh Hung 1 in a suite on the second floor for 3 nights. An ancient house, formerly a Chinese trader's residence in the Old City. The room itself was unique, furnished in the old style with creaky floors, etc. Dark. However, it was comfortable. The only drawback was that the hot water heater was above our room and it gurgled throughout the night. They turned it off at night for us for the 2nd and 3rd nights and all was well. It is a quiet hotel with a very polite staff. The breakfasts were nothing special and we decided to pick up our own supplies for breakfast after the 1st night. Warmer trays for food not kept at a proper temperature (which is always a concern), and sad looking vegetables and noodles. They ordered pho' in for us one day which arrived cold - and unappetizing. However, we do not stay in hotels for the breakfasts alone, and all in all it was a wonderful experience staying here. The hotel lobby also boasts some incredible furniture (antiques, no doubt) and many tourists were dropping in to the lobby to take pictures of the exquisite furnishings. They have a computer for use in the lobby as well. We loved it here. Highly recommended.

TIP: Avoid shopping in the Old City and paying inflated prices. Take a walk across the bridge out of the Old City, where you can purchase items for much less and pick up some freshly made baguette from the vendors.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conegliano, Italy
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Great location of this ancient house transformed into an hotel. Very kind and helpfull staff. The breakfast however is a bit below standards and also the bathroom of the bedroom. However the location and the atmosphere are soo good which make it a worth place to stay! Reccomended!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subang Jaya, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

A very unique hotel located right in the centre of the Old Quarters. Nice and clean hotel with only 6 rooms. Friendly and helpful staff. All the major tourist spots are within walking distance. Would definately like to stay again during my next vist to Hoi An.

Room Tip: Both the rooms on the ground floor will be good. First floor front room will be a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Want to step back in time? Want to imagine Vietnam hundreds of years ago? Check in to Vinh Hung 1 and treat yourself to a stay unlike most any hotel experience. An Asia beauty, filled with the sights and sounds and beautiful fragrances of Vietnam. Simply beautiful, located in the heart of Hoi An, just a minute to the river and old Bridge. The staff treated me like a friend, arranged a bicycle for me when I decided to tour the countryside and returned it when I got back. Same with arranging transport for me whe I was checking out. What others have said about the showers is true, but trust me you won't care, and I promise it will be a highlight of your hotel experience in Vietnam.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the street (which is quiet at night) have more light. I was in the rear, my window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Vinh Hung Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vinh Hung Heritage Hotel

Address: 143 Tran Phu Street, Hoi An, Vietnam (Formerly Vinh Hung 1 Hotel)
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
#28 Family Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Vinh Hung Heritage Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Vinh Hung Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vinh Hung 1
Vinh Hung 1 Hoi An

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vinh Hung Heritage Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.