We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we were expecting” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Victoria Hoi An Beach Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Victoria Hoi An Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Victoria Hoi An Beach Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Cua Dai Beach, Hoi An Town, Quang Nam Province, Hoi An, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 81 Hotels in Hoi An
UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Not what we were expecting”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed at the end of February and were very disappointed. I can understand people's positive reviews - the beach is lovely and the sea front location cannot be disputed but for us the hotel simply wasn't up to standard. We moved after 2 nights (we were meant to stay for 8) as issues and problems kept coming.

Our doubled glazed cocoon suite was spacious but various things did not work - door out to the garden didn't work, lights did not work, bath looked old and grey and there were problems with the aircon. Early in the evening on our first night the bar over the road from the hotel had a party and the music was so loud it kept our 2 1/2 year old awake. The hotel offered to move us to another suite on the opposite side of the hotel which we did however there were still problems - faulty lights, the bath plug didn't work and looked older than the previous bath, the shower stand wobbled dangerously, wicker mats on the wall of bathroom flapped in the wind and then in the night the power went off for 3+ hours so no fan or air con (electricity upgrade). There was a huge cockroach outside our room and in the morning small droppings on our patio outside. Either side of the hotel is waste land with no real effort to hide it.

The swimming pool is nice but once when we were there rubbish (plastic bottles and litter) were left poolside for 2+ hours whilst the pool boys did little more than give out towels. Food was left on tables until we got up – service was at times slow and whilst friendly not professional. Breakfast was varied - served in a large room with little character or charm (felt more Greek 2* restaurant). As a previous reviewer said there was a school trip of 60+ kids staying – to be fair to them they were well behaved but that has to tell you where the hotel now pitches itself.

I know this review goes against all the other good ones but in our opinion this resort is not maintained enough, the service whilst friendly was clunky, rooms have too many faults and management no where to be seen. Whilst I started my review off by saying I understand the positive reviews I am also confused by them. If you are looking for great service, lovely rooms, management in bars and restaurants overseeing service to make sure it is of an excellent standard, cleanliness & a hotel that prides itself on these things then stay at the Nam Hai – we moved and wished we had not wasted 2 days at the Victoria. If not then stay here – one unexpected slide down the strangely steep bridges over the water ways or sitting on a damp cushion at dinner you may wish you hadn’t.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trang P, Manager at Victoria Hoi An Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Hairloos30,

Thank you very much for your long review!

We are sorry to hear that we are unable to meet all your expectations even we tried our best to satisfy all your requests.
Just very short note to say that there were something that beyond our control but we would try our best to improve our service and facilities.

We do wish you a safe and happy trip and hope we can at least invite you for a drink the next time you come to Hoi An.

Best regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    739
    349
    92
    15
    14
See reviews for
280
637
26
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We spent five days in this resort and loved every minute. The staff are fantastic and all the facilities immaculate. There was not any aspect of our stay that was disappointing. Highlights were the traditional dancers, and the Ural sidecar tour that takes you through the rice paddies and herb gardens located nearby. Our party were absolutely delighted with our stay and the service we received, we will definitely return to Hoi An and will definitely stay at the Victoria again. The gardens of the Victoria are beautiful.

Room Tip: We chose beachfront rooms which were located near pool, bars and restaurant and had no issues with n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trang P, Manager at Victoria Hoi An Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear TelNin,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to write a review of our resort.
We are very happy to hear that you had a thoroughly enjoyable stay. It is great to hear that you liked the dance show, the sidecar trip and the garden.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Best regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Notts
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay in the Victoria even though we had dissappointing weather there was still lots to do. It appears to me that you dont get a bad view at this hotel. We had a standard room which had a balcony which overlooked the main road and the sea inlet( opposed to the more expensive sea front) but it was lovely. Breakfasts were good lots to choose from. We took advantage of the free bike hire and the courtesy bus to and from town. What a great place next time we go though we would like to see it in good weather.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trang P, Manager at Victoria Hoi An Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Jammy Notts,

Thank you very much for your nice review about Victoria Hoi An Beach Resort & Spa.
We are glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and it would be a pleasure to welcome you again, in nice weather of course.

Warmest regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This hotel was one of the prettiest and nicest we stayed in on our trip with fantastic staff, really nice bedrooms and excellent breakfasts.

Whilst it was some miles from the centre of Hoi An they ran a complimentary bus hourly and the local taxis were cheap and plentiful.

Hoi An itself has nice beaches and has a French colonial feel to it.

If you are going to Hoi An stay at this hotel, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trang P, Manager at Victoria Hoi An Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Flyingtame,

Thank you very much indeed for having taken the time to write a review about our resort.
We are very happy to hear that you had a thoroughly enjoyable stay. We look forward to welcoming you to the Victoria Hoi An Beach Resort & Spa again.

Best regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

a perfectly located property right in town. gracious grounds, huge room, sitting area, and fabulous bath. plush patio on the river. very gentle and accommodating staff. easy walk to everything hoi an offers. too bad we were only there 2 nites - hoi an is charming and has great shopping and food.

Room Tip: splurge for a riverfront room, it is worth the little bit extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trang P, Manager at Victoria Hoi An Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Jandsboston,

We would like to thank you for your kind comments.
We are happy to hear that you had a great stay and would be delighted to welcome you to the Victoria Hoi An Beach Resort & Spa again.

Best regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We had a junior suite, which is in one of the beach-front houses just 10 m from the beach. Can recommend that. The suite has a good size, and a fantastic bed with view to the beach. Staff is very friendly and gives a good service. Nice to be able to borrow bicycles. The shuttle bus service to the old town works perfect. Overall a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trang P, Manager at Victoria Hoi An Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Resper R,

Thank you very much for taking your time to write a review for Victoria Hoi An Beach Resort & Spa!

We are very happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and it would be a pleasure to welcome you again if you do return to Hoi An.

Best regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkwall, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We chose to stay here for the last days of our Vietnam holiday, after travelling the country. I found the resort clean friendly and very relaxing. As other have said the distance from Hoi An not a problem with cheap or free transport readily available. My only criticism was the price of food and drinks. By European prices not extreme, but compared to local bars and restaurants extortionate. With some beers 4 times local prices and meals double good local restaurants. We found ourselves spending less time at the resort, than we would have, simply because we thought their pricing was on the greedy side. That rant aside, a lovely hotel/resort. We had a standard room overlooking the road and river, with which we were very happy with.

Room Tip: . We had a standard room overlooking the road and river, with which we were very happy with.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trang P, Manager at Victoria Hoi An Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Stevie,

We would like to thank you for your favorable review about Victoria Hoi An Beach Resort & Spa. We are very happy to hear that you had perfect trip to Vietnam and you had enjoyed your stay with us!

We certainly agree with your comment regarding the price but please do allow us to have small explanation on that as we also know that we are more expensive than the local restaurants because we do pay good salaries, provide many benefits and organize many events for staffs. We also do pay all taxes according to the law.

We do hope that you will stay with us again should you come to Hoi An again.

Best regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Victoria Hoi An Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Hoi An Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Cua Dai Beach, Hoi An Town, Quang Nam Province, Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Hoi An
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Hoi An
#8 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#10 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Victoria Hoi An Beach Resort & Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Hoi An, splendor of the past Annam, a most charming town listed as a World Heritage site by UNESCO. Explore the vestiges of a glorious Cham past. Located along the unique private beach of white sand, Victoria Hoi An Beach Resort & Spa replicates a traditional fishing village with small streets, water ponds and village houses with clay-tiled roofs, providing a warm and restful environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Otel, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Victoria Hoi An Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hoi An Beach Hotel Hoi An
Victoria Hoi An Beach Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victoria Hoi An Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.