We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good service,excellent location and great food.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Tonnelle

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added La Tonnelle to your Saves list
La Tonnelle
44 Nguyen Thi Minh Khai, Hoi An, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 115 Hoi An B&B and Inns
Cairns, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Very good service,excellent location and great food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This little gem is ideally located in the old quarter of Hoi An where the prices of goods are terrific. It is much quieter here and the market is only a few blocks away. I stayed In one of the upstairs rooms where it was very quiet. The building and furnishings are very old. It gave a sense of the old times. The breakfast had many choices and was delicious. The prices were very good. A little tip. We walked straight past it. The front of it is the eatery/ bar so its easy not to notice. Take note of the house numbers on the signage in front. La Tonnelle offers a great experience overall.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    29
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
12
43
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Situated in the old town, La Tonnelle is handy to most things and the breakfasts are very good, as is the service. It is a a street restricted to traffic so it is quiet at night for a good sleep.The suite is very basic consisting of two rooms plus bathroom. The sitting room has a computer with internet access, which is convenient. The sitting room does not have a fully functioning kitchen - an electric kettle and two pots. The cushion cover on the day bed in the sitting room needed attention as it was sticky and needed the sand shaken out of it. The bathroom is very basic with no shower enclosure and no hot water over a small slab functioning as a hand washing area. There are no insect screens but a net over the bed. There is an outside courtyard off the sitting room.The price was too his for the suite. They do have two upstairs rooms as well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

If you are after a typical French farmhouse with rustic features, right in the heart of the old town quarter, look no more.
This place will impress you especially if you are feed up with Asian designed rooms with a western edge to them. The room on the ground floor is the one to ask for as it is 2 rooms in one with a small kitchenette and a small private courtyard.
The room is A/C and the bathroom is just fantastic. No marble here folks, good old terrazzo on walls and floor. The food is excellent and the wine and beer cheap by Vietnam standards. $6-9 a glass for wine is the norm here as they import all of it except for Da-lat wine, which is terrible.
Even better is its position. You cannot be any closer to the shopping heart of Hoi-an as its in the same street as the Chinese Bridge that is 600 years old or so and you can watch the hustle on the street during daylight hours right from the front courtyard of the hotel. Don't get me wrong, this place is quite as there a re no cars allowed in the street, just tourists and locals.
The staff are really friendly (Hi Miss Chung) and speak english quite well and the owners are French, so the place really is, well, French.
If I went back to Hoi an, I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: Room on ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

La Tonelle is situated on a quiet no-car street near the japanese bridge. it has only 3 rooms and the 4 of us took the 2 rooms on the second floor. the rooms were on the small side but there was a big private living area outside that the 2 rooms shared.
The bed was very comfortable and the rooms were well-cleaned. Breakfast was generous, you could order as much of anything from the menu that you could eat. And they were not particular about the time you went for breakfast!
The lady who worked there, Chung, was very friendly and chatty. We got a recommendation from her for her sister, Luna's tailoring shop. We were very happy with the dresses we made there!
Overall for the price it was excellent value for money and we would stay there again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

La tonnelle is a great hotel right in the heart of Hoi An, about 200m from the Japanses bridge, a perfect location! Rooms are simple but very clean and have everything you need. The staff were so friendly and Would help you do anything you needed. The services were great, washing for $1.50 a kilo, bike hire for $1.50 a day and they will organize private transport back to the airport for $17. The only negative is that because the house is built with a lot of wood it can get quite echoey and if you have loud neighbours it may be hard to go to sleep. Would reccomend to anyone staying in Hoi An, purely for location and price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

My favorite hotel in Vietnam! Charming, quiet place near Japanese Bridge is very pictorial. Beautiful, clean and cosy room. Good cooking, and you might have a breacfast (good choice of local and european dishes) till 8 am till... any time you wish! Quite right practice I think. Very friendly stuff! I love my vacation in La Tonnelle.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

we stayed for 5 nights and loved the place. thanks for an amazing time. the staff were beautiful and we really appreciate their kindness to my husband and me,,,, but especially our son.there was lots of laughs and lots of fun and understanding.....even as our 4 year old had some traveling blues and temper tantrums.great value for money. chung, one of the staff was really good to us as were all the staff,i just wish i could do justice to their vietnamese names, which unfortunately i cant.the staff speak better english than i can Vietnamese. the kitchen was yummy and leoungs cooking school was fun and great. i agree with another review, chungs sister was a good referral for clothes.
Don't stay here if you are prone to complain about water smells and a few cobwebs or lack of slippers..........if you want 'stars' attached to your accommodation it's not for you.... if you want charm and friendliness and can reasonable understand you pay for want you get, you may like to consider this place.the staff try really hard to met your needs and exceeded our expectations and they put up with all our strange customs,,, like dragging masses of shopping home and our western style parenting. thanks.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Tonnelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Tonnelle

Address: 44 Nguyen Thi Minh Khai, Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 115 B&Bs / Inns in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your La Tonnelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Tonnelle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.