We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunrise Hoi An Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sunrise Hoi An Beach Resort to your Saves list
Sunrise Hoi An Beach Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Au Co Road, Cua Dai Beach, Hoi An, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #26 of 95 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great resort for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

We spent 8 nights at Sunrise as part of a Deal. The spa treatment each day was great only problem they do not offer manicure or pedicure, but this cam be gad from spa across the road cheaply. The good wad not very good. Hence we took little advantage if this package. The staff were helpful and friendly but very limited in the English language . Tours on offer were also very limited. The free bus shuttle was very handy but limited in the later part of the day. Pity it is so far from town. In all very comfortable. Try to avoid the May public holiday, the locals had a 4 day break and invaded the resort, so very noisy with lots if small children.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    889
    455
    131
    30
    10
See reviews for
314
785
27
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (454)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights as a part of a DEALS package. I think every other person was on the same deal, it was full occupancy and full of Australians! The surrounds were great, but although food was in our deal we opted to eat out a couple of times as the service was questionable!
Staff need to be better trained in english and basic customer service.
I tried to get a massage in the Spa centre, 5 days in advance but was informed it was booked out.
The gym was great and the free shuttle into Hoi An was very convenient. If you need to do laundry, take it across the road. Very cheap!
Overall, this is a very family friendly resort and worth a stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSunrise, General Manager at Sunrise Hoi An Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear guest,
Thanks a lot to spent a time with us and your valuable comments.
We are aware of our weak points to be improve and we focus on consistency training programme. we do have an Australian teacher on board which is doing a great input to raise the level we wish to be.
other training issue are taking place.
We are moving forward to fine tune the resort and bring soon more facilities to enjoy.
We hope to see u again.
Wish you all the best for 2013.
My Best regards'

Jean Luc Bonneau
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChilliGarlic
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights recently, in a beach side room. We had asked for a quiet room, and were given the end rooms, next to the suites, so the room was quiet and pleasant. The airconditioning is great, as they have situated the fans outside. Rather than the noise of air conditioning all night, you could hear the waves, whilst staying cool. Wonderful!
Entropy, however, is never more evident than in the tropics, where, if maintenance isn't constant, then things fall apart. The room fittings were in that phase, and the obvious haste was off putting. The shower, for example, had a contemporary rainwater shower head - the use of which ensured you flooded the bathroom floor as water accumulating around the bath has no drain. Nor is there a drain in the bathroom floor itself, so towel after towel was wasted. All things a more rigorous maintenance regime would solve.
Taxis to Hoi An were plentiful and cheap, and the one time we used the shuttle bus was also fine. 2-for-one happy hour was great, and the bar man in the lobby bar was an exceptional individual, excelling at his job. Unfortunately, the same wasn't for all staff as service was very inconsistent. I have read replies from the GM that this is an understood problem and that the hotel has implemented training and language classes - I applaud this initiative as outsiders who land in places such a Hoi An need to ensure their stay is beneficial to those who actually live there as well.
The breakfast was adequate, however quite lacking in fruit varieties, and almost impossible to get coffee refills. We noticed many staff seemed quite tired, and recognised quite a few from previous evenings - double or split shifts perhaps. Regardless, tired staff cannot excel at customer service. Unfortunately, we were disappointed with the over-priced BBQ seafood buffet - skip it and head to Hoi An to eat where there is 5 star eating to be had at half the price. I suppose it's there to satisfy those with vouchers, and the high price is an anchor to persuade those voucher users that they're getting a good deal.
The beach was fine, despite the sandbags, and bringing the beach up to the pool area is quite clever. The pools get quite warm as they are dark and shallow - but they are around the biggest we saw in Vietnam. Service around the pool was likewise inconsistent, but fine when asked. The hotel is certainly sensible in it's pricing, and it was a joy to sit in the cool sea breeze of an afternoon.
All in all, we had a good stay at this adequate hotel. The scaffolding is certainly there to allow it to grow into something fantastic.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room, at the end of one of the wings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSunrise, General Manager at Sunrise Hoi An Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear guest,
At first thanks a lot fro your time spent with us and your great feedback.
We are moving forward to bring new facilities to enjoy soon.
we hope to see u again.
Wish u all the best for 2013.
Jean Luc Bonneau
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

My family booked two suites at the Sunrise for 6 days. It was a relaxing ,magical break. We had a package deal booked in Australia and enjoyed fresh meals 3 times a day with a great selection of dishes. The staff are mostly young from the surrounding area and are all really trying with their English and always try to engage in conversations.I found them to be helpful and a refreshing change from staff in Australian hotels.We also enjoyed 2 hours of Spa treatments for the 4 adults per day included in the package. We emailed our preferred times before we left Australia and this worked well. The treatments were amazing. The courtesy bus into Hoi an works well but you must book the trips. Taxis are cheap and we even hired motor bikes to show us around and these were a great way of seeing the villages around the hotel.The pools were not overcrowded and we had no trouble getting shaded lounged each day. The beach was sandbagged and certainly not as inviting as some of the other local beaches but the water was safe and clean. It did not concern us.The grounds are impeccably maintained and I noticed a maintenance crew attending to small building problems. A great place to stay for a family. Transfer fees from Danang airport included in package also.

Room Tip: Book spa treatments from Australia to get your preferred times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSunrise, General Manager at Sunrise Hoi An Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear guests,
so nice from u and thanks to spend your time with us and your great comments.
We are moving forward to bring new facilities to enjoy and to fine tune the resort.
Hope to see u again .
Wish u all the best for 2013
My best regards
Jean Luc Bonneau
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was everything we expected and hope for. The hotel is located a short ($5) taxi ride from Hoi An but we found this ideal. After spending hours walking through the streets, it was wonderful to be able to escape to the beach and a cool sea breeze. The hotel is tastefully done and the rooms are very comfortable. Outside there are two swimming pools, one set in the gardens and the other on the beach providing a cooling escape from the heat. Staff were always attentive, welcoming and very friendly. The food we had at breakfast was everything we could ask for. On some nights (Friday, Saturday, Sunday?) there is a seafood BBQ which was good fun although I think it was expensive when compared to the food in town.

All in all a great place to stay with a real luxurious feel for the price that you pay. Some of the reviewers of this hotel have been rather harsh about the quality. This is not an Aman/Six Senses/Four Seasons hotel but then nor is the price. If want that go to the Nam hotel up the road!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSunrise, General Manager at Sunrise Hoi An Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear guests,
At first thanks a lot for your time spent with us and your great comments. It is very encouraging.
We are moving forward to fine tune this resort and bring some new facilities soon.
Hope to see u again.
Wish you all the best for 2013
My best regards
Jean Luc Bonneau
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

My wife and six year old daugher stayed in a beach villa last month. It was a fantastic location and the villa was very well appointed with some additional benefits that were a nice touch.
Like many of the other reviewers have commented if you look closely enough there were signs that the hotel may have been rushed-minor issues (room finishes mainly) that certainly dont detract from your stay. The sandbags on the beach (that a number of people complain about) actually look like rocks- but I guess you see what you look for.
I like the location as the shuttle to town was simple and timely- no dramas.Breakfast was superb, as many have written, and the spa was also very good.
My two observations that repeatedly come up was a very limited tour desk- it is staffed by a tour company from town (the same place the shuttle drops off and picks up)- while they are friendly and helpful, tours are very limted in number. I am used to being overwhelmed with choices when you visit the desk at most resorts but in this case was very underwhelmed. Research and book most before you go.
Second- the level of service was very inconsistent- from the dining to the spa to the housekeeping. Varying levels of english probably added to this. I appreciate that it is a new hotel, with new and quite young staff but some way to go if they really want a reputation as a 5 star resort.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSunrise, General Manager at Sunrise Hoi An Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear guest,
at first thanks a lot for your time spent with us and your very precised comments which tell us to me more consistent in our overall standard of service. We are moving forward to improve and fine tune the resort.
As for our partner tours desk I will inform them and see way to improve as well.
We hope to see u again.
Wish u all the best for 2013
My best regards.
Jean Luc Bonneau
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I stayed at the Sunrise for 6 nights last week and found it to be a lovely hotel. However, I don’t believe it to be a 5 star.
The rooms are OK, with a small mini bar (that was not refilled during our 6 nights!). Tea and coffee was replenished daily along with bottles of water. If you’re being a cheap skate you can pop into the gym and top up your water for free with the water machine (I only know this as I used the gym daily). The walls are thin and you can hear the door bell for your neighbours and people in the hallway.
The hotel grounds are beautifully maintained and the spa / treatments are exceptional. Breakfast is plentiful and well stocked, although service is sparse. Often we had to chase staff to get a coffee. The food at Sunrise is fine, but I would recommend jumping on the hotel shuttle bus and going into town for food where you get much better quality, and it’s cheaper too (we didn’t opt for inclusive – thank goodness as other visitors told us they would have preferred not have booked all inc)!
The hotel has bikes and they’re safe and comfortable. The gym is well equipped by has the most awful air con ever! In fact I’m not sure this hotel has air con, it might just be ‘air cooling’. I have never sweated so much in my life!
Towels are provided by the hotel for the pool / beach. Happy hour is between 5-6.30pm daily for 2for1 cocktails
For the money we paid for our stay I was more than happy!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunrise Hoi An Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Hoi An Beach Resort

Address: Au Co Road, Cua Dai Beach, Hoi An, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 95 Hotels in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sunrise Hoi An Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly positioned along the popular Cua Dai Beach, Sunrise Hoi An. Boasting 222 rooms, suites and beachfront villas, guests are pampered with all the residential touches of home.The resort offers 2 Restaurants and 2 Bars, Kids Club with special design activities for our young guests. 2 oversized Swimming Pools, SPA, state of the art Gymnasium and a wide range of free activities, such as Tai-Chi, Bycicles and a range of Water Sport Activities.Further facilities are:- 24 hours Coffeeshop/Restaurant and Room Service- Speciality Restaurant featuring Vietnamese Specialities and Seafood Tanks- Bar with international Live Music Band- Pool and other Games- Hard Surface Tennis Court- Library- Complimentary Coffee & Tea Brewing Amenities- In-Room Safe- 40 inch LCD Televisions with international Programs- Rain Shower- Custom SPA Toiletries- Hair Dryer- Scale- In-House Laundry- Currency Exchange- Boutique Shop- Airport Transfers- Excursion and Activity ConciergeLocated only a 10-minute drive from the resort you will discover Hoi An a World Heritage Site by UNESCO. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Hotels.com so you can book your Sunrise Hoi An Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunrise Hoi An Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.