We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent resort in beautiful Hoi An” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunrise Hoi An Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sunrise Hoi An Beach Resort to your Saves list
Sunrise Hoi An Beach Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Au Co Road, Cua Dai Beach, Hoi An, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 85 Hotels in Hoi An
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent resort in beautiful Hoi An”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

My husband and I have enjoyed 6 days at this beautiful resort using a deal from an Australian company, however, checking the website, I think this resort is very well priced for what you get.
The resort employs lots of local staff who are very friendly and helpful. It's very big, capacity for 700 people I think, and was fully booked when we were there, but we never felt crowded, or had to wait. Always room around the pool, or on the beach with comfortable lounges.
We had a very fun time using the Spa services. Again the staff was very friendly, respectful, but also able to enjoy the fun of the moment.
Lots to do around Hoi An for people of any age I think. The resort has a tour desk which gives advice, and books tours. Very helpful.
The resort has a free shuttle bus which takes guests into Hoi An and also a free Danang Airport Shuttle. This could be improved by offering more services to Hoi An at busy times, and also more scheduled airport shuttles.
Congratulations and thanks to all involved in our stay here. :))

Room Tip: We stayed in a deluxe ocean view room I think. Fourth floor, great view. Perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSunrise, General Manager at Sunrise Hoi An Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear guests,
Thanks a lot for your time spent with us and your great comments. it is very encouraging. We are moving forward to fine tune the resort and bring soon some new facilities to enjoy.
Hope to see u again
Wish u all the best for 2013
My best regards
Jean Luc Bonneau
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    716
    384
    105
    27
    10
See reviews for
266
619
20
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Currently staying at the sunrise with a group of 6 ages - 10, 18, 36, 38, 40 and 62. This resort and its staff are amazing. Our rooms, the ocean suites are huge, clean and have the most comfortable beds. We have eaten every meal at the resort and all of us have been more than satisfied with both the Vietnamese and western offerings. The breakfast is typical of an Asian resort is of a high standard and there is certainly enough to cater for all. You can order a cappuccino or latte as did some of our group at no charge. I enjoyed their regular coffee. The happy hour from 5 till 630 is fantastic offering 2 for 1 and surprisingly for a 5 star resort the drink prices outside of these times are more than fair - 120000 dong (au$5.50) for any cocktail - their list comprises about 20 different favorites. Two bars, two restaurants. The location is out of town, 10 minutes by the free shuttle service which as long as you book is no drama. It cost us 120000 dong (au5.50) in a cab from town. The private beach is beautiful. It is true it is sand bagged but this is no fault of the resort, in fact the resort has done this only to stop further erosion of the beach which is noticeable further down. At this time the weather is perfect and I would guess the ocean temperature to be around 24 Celsius. The skies have been clear and it is hot, very hot around 34 degrees daily. There is however a beautiful breeze off the ocean. 4 of our group are enjoying daily spa treatments which are amazing. The staff are friendly and attentive and I have found their understanding of and their spoken English to be clear. I think for a new resort with young staff they are doing a tremendous job and I would not hesitate in recommending this resort.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSunrise, General Manager at Sunrise Hoi An Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear guests,
So nice to hear from you . this is very encouraging. Thanks a lot for your time spent with us and your great feedback.
We are moving forward to fine tune the resort and bring some new facilities soon.
Hope to see you again
Wish you all the best for 2013
My best regards
Jean Luc Bonneau
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Enjoyed a 12 day stay in March/April 2013. Despite the hotel being very full during several days of our stay, the service remained at a high standard. The staff were always exceptionally helpful and friendly and some of the negative comments on previous reports remain a mystery! The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable although the huge window between the bedroom to the bathroom is a peculiar feature! Slightly disappointing beach, due to the huge sand bags to cope with the erosion but we never had a problem finding a sunbed beside the pools. The breakfast buffet was excellent. Food and drink were slightly pricey but take advantage of the happy hours. We enjoyed trying the restaurants opposite the hotel which were amazing value. Laundry can also be done here at a cheap price and in less than 8 hours. Renting bikes and cycling to Anbang beach is to be highly recommended and the shuttle bus to and from Hoi An is a great service provided you are organised and book ahead of time. Thank you Sunrise for a great holiday!

Room Tip: Would recommend rooms on the first floor or above as the ground floor rooms are easily overlooked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSunrise, General Manager at Sunrise Hoi An Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear guests,
At first thanks a lot for your time spent with and your great comments.it is very encouraging for our young team.
we are moving forward to fine tune the resort and bring more facilities.
Hope to see u again.
Wish u all the best for 2013.
My best regards
Jean Luc Bonneau
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

My partner and I stayed for 3 nights in April and was very sorry to leave the charming and tranquil town of ancient Hoi An and the Sunrise resort. We stayed in an ocean deluxe room on level 3 with the beach/ocean view.

The rooms were spacious and the oversize shower head, devine for a cold shower after spending the day(s) in searing heat. The weather gods were kind to us as the temperature vary between 32-35 degrees celsius during our time in Hoi An. The view was simply amazing (refer to pic uploaded) and it was such a privilege waiting up to something so beautiful each day.

The staff from the front desk, doorsman, pool side, reception, cleaners, shuttle bus drivers, restaurant & room service were delightful. There was always a smile and a friendly greeting from them as you pass by. It's these little things that makes the hotel a pleasure to stay at.

We only ate at the hotel during breakfast, and the selection was endless. It caters very well to both western and eastern vistors. I would think, anyone that is not satisfy with such a huge selection in both cuisines, would be very difficult to please?

There was two poor experiences from our stay though.

One, the hotel can easily fix with improved processes, efficiency and staff training. One evening after spending 90 minutes in the pool, we decided to have a few cocktails at the hotel bar afterwards. It took staff about 15 minutes to make the drinks as we sat at the bar, and this was after about 10 minutes waiting for them to take our order noting the time we were there was fairly quiet.

The problem was, there were about 4 bar tenders were just standing around doing practically nothing and having a yarn, so I couldn't understand why they couldn't simply take our drinks order, make them and hand them over the bar directly to us. The process in place seem to be:

a) We make eye contact with the bar tender, bartender asks us what drinks we would like
b) Bartender then calls out for a waiter/waitress to come round & take our order (a little strange)
c) Waitress/waiter swings by to ask us what drinks we would like (weird)
d) Waitress/waiter takes our order and hands them to the bartender
e) Bartender makes the drinks
f) Waitress/waiter comes back to deliver the drinks

If your sitting at the bar, why not have the bartender take the order, make the drinks and serve to customers direct. It would be much more efficient and free up waitress/waiters resources. The process was a little cumbersome, but at the end of the day, no big deal. I'm sure this will be recognised and fixed in due course.

The second poor experience was related to a guest being rude & short with staff. Like many other previous reviews before me, one needs to remember you are visiting a country that does not have english as their native language. Have some patience and tolerance when staff do not understand you the first time around. There is no need to be short with them for not understanding you and for you to get upset cursing them for not understanding better english. If that's your attitude, go on holidays to a country where english is widely spoken. It's as simple as that! I hate to say this, the guest was a fellow Australian and approximately in her mid 40s. You should know better.

One final thing, the hotel is about 6 kms out from town. That is a non issue though, as they run regular shuttle bus (complimentary) trips to and from town throughout the day and night. Otherwise, you have two other options:

1) Complimentary bikes usage for hotel guests to ride to and from town
2) Taxi's - average cost is about 120,000 - 140,000 dongs

Overall, top notch hotel at very reasonable prices and I would have no hesitations in recommending it as a place to stay when in Hoi An.

Well done to the team at Sunrise Hoi An Resort & Spa for making our experience an truly memorable one!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed at Sunrise over the Easter Break, 8 Nights in total, reading some of the negative comments prior to departing we were a little nervous about what Sunrise had to offer! Our Concerns soon disappeared once we arrived, staff upon arriving were amazing, extremely welcoming, they also deserve a big pat on the back for their service throughout our whole Stay (big shout out to Mr Heugh on the door) we had a standard room but for myself my wife and our three year old it was spacious enough and had all the mod cons you need! House keeping ensured the room was clean and tidy every day, so a big well done must go to the house keeping team!
Breakfast is as good as any resort we have stayed at around the world, we had the buffet dinner twice which was good enough without being outstanding, (you have to eat in the old town anyways that’s where the real gems are)
The Main pool is refreshing and the beach seemed good enough to me so not sure what other travelers had been expecting/complaining about (the Maldives maybe)

A few little tips, if you’re up for it hire a scooter in the old town, it cost us $3USD per day and gives you total freedom to explore not only Hoi An but the surrounding villages, Sunrise also provide push bikes and a shuttle but trust me if you’re up for it a scooter is the way to go, Hoi An is a lot slower paced that a Hanoi or HCMC so riding the scooter was not an issue even with our little girl up front.

Across the road from Sunrise there are 4 or 5 Laundry business egger for your business ($2 per KGS approx) , look for Ms Heugh Laundry (blue tarp over her shop), not only does she offer a great Laundry service but ask her or her Husband Duc to show you through their Fishing Village that is directly opposite Sunrise, you would not know it is there unless you ask Ms Heugh or Duc, they will be able to show you through the Village and get a true understanding of just how the Local Vietnamese Live, this is not on a tourist Map but we can honestly say this was the best part of our Visit to Hoi An, the generosity of the people in the Village and experience my family had was something we will never forgot!

Enjoy everything Hoi Ann & Sunrise have to offer 10 out of 10

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bulli, Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Wow where do I start first?

My daughter and I stayed at the hotel in mid April for 5 days. We booked a twin room which was so beautiful. It was on the 4th floor The views were to die for. The views were of the resort and the South China Sea.

The buffet breakfast was wonderful. Anything and everything including espresso/cappuccino available. It was hard to choose if I would have a western or an Asian breakfast or both !

The staff were exceptionally friendly and efficient. There was never anything that was too much trouble.

We ate from the restaurants , ordered room service and ate at the pool bar , the food was delicious.

People on Trip Advisor whinged and whined about all sorts of things. Don't let it put you off from staying here, most of it is unwarranted. Our stay was totally fabulous.

The beach does have sand bags to stop it eroding , but after we walked along this beach and in front of the other hotels I felt that The Sunrise probably had the best beach. I thought the views of the beach from the resort were just beautiful.

I was sooo sad to leave. We received a really friendly welcome as well as a really friendly good bye.

You are doing a great job. Thank you Sunrise I WILL be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We spent a wonderful 6 days here midway through our Vietnam holiday. Good food, sevice, rooms and wonderful massages.The suites with ocean views are great. The pools were a little cool but refreshing. Drinks are reasonable with the exception of wine which is a bit expensive

Room Tip: Go gor beachfront suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunrise Hoi An Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Hoi An Beach Resort

Address: Au Co Road, Cua Dai Beach, Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 85 Hotels in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sunrise Hoi An Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly positioned along the popular Cua Dai Beach, Sunrise Hoi An. Boasting 222 rooms, suites and beachfront villas, guests are pampered with all the residential touches of home.The resort offers 2 Restaurants and 2 Bars, Kids Club with special design activities for our young guests. 2 oversized Swimming Pools, SPA, state of the art Gymnasium and a wide range of free activities, such as Tai-Chi, Bycicles and a range of Water Sport Activities.Further facilities are:- 24 hours Coffeeshop/Restaurant and Room Service- Speciality Restaurant featuring Vietnamese Specialities and Seafood Tanks- Bar with international Live Music Band- Pool and other Games- Hard Surface Tennis Court- Library- Complimentary Coffee & Tea Brewing Amenities- In-Room Safe- 40 inch LCD Televisions with international Programs- Rain Shower- Custom SPA Toiletries- Hair Dryer- Scale- In-House Laundry- Currency Exchange- Boutique Shop- Airport Transfers- Excursion and Activity ConciergeLocated only a 10-minute drive from the resort you will discover Hoi An a World Heritage Site by UNESCO. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sunrise Hoi An Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunrise Hoi An Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.