We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunrise Hoi An Beach Resort- July 2012.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sunrise Hoi An Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sunrise Hoi An Beach Resort to your Saves list
Sunrise Hoi An Beach Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Au Co Road, Cua Dai Beach, Hoi An, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 85 Hotels in Hoi An
Moscow
2 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Sunrise Hoi An Beach Resort- July 2012.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

July Sunrise Hoi An Beach Resort- 2012.

Ugly hotel, full of disappointment.

1.check in \ check out
On arrival the hotel blocked amount on the card to pay for accommodation for the entire stay , but other than that the hotel blocked an additional amount at the rate of $ 30 per day in case of its use inside. If we do not spend all money(30$ per day), the rest was promised to be return. Thats, in my opinion, is extremely irresponsible act for a five-star hotel and more than that is not accepted practice in the hospitality industry.
Upon expiry of our stay at the residence, at the time of payment, staff were not able to write off the amount less, than was blocked (because we spent less than $ 30 per day).
As a result, we had to pay the hotel with the another card, blocked amount was promised to return within 3 days, however, 1 month has passed before the money was returned.
No written or verbal apology from the hotel were reported.
So, to stay in this "perfect" hotel, it is desirable to have multiple . financial resources.
2.The beach.
The hotel is situated on the outskirts of the coast, so the beach is significantly less than others and even less than the free public beach.
The sand on the beach worse than near other hotels (such as Boutique Hoi An Resort) and at the public beach. The sand is larger, there are many rocks, and garbage is not removed from the beach.The entire coastline is lined with sandbags, the sandbags here and go to sea, forming small bays.Apparently, this was done that the waves are not eroded the sand or the beach at the hotel is completely unmade.
As a result, when you are looking at the sea from anywhere in the hotel, or looking at the hotel from the sea, there are visible sandbags, many of them have already been covered green slime and algae from contact with water and they are spreading the algae around.
As a result, the sea at the hotel Sunrise Hoi An Beach Resort is dirtier than anywhere else on the coast (for example,city beach, Boutique Hoi An Resort).
Play with the kids along the surf line is uncomfortably. There are uncomfortable sunbeds, sitting position is not provided. Staff does not take away from the beach tables bottles and glasses to 1p.m. Sunbeds and umbrellas are located very close to each other.
3.The staff
Staff cheeky and very concerned about getting tip. Knowledge of English is much lower than average. 30% of the staff goes with disgruntled, angry faces and no greeting, no smiles. Staff uniform is made in six variants of which three options are for waiters, can be confusing. Uniform looks very messy and cheap.
Life guard at the pool or the sea appears sporadically and do other things.
4. Swimming pool
On site there are 2 swimming pools: one with a panoramic view of the sea, the maximum depth of 1.3 m (the view overshadow bags with sand and mud) and a large swimming pool at the beach restaurant, max depth 1.65 m. It is impossible to be near the large pool after 12:00 p.m. due to the strong smell of food from the beach restaurant. In some places pools already have repulsed tiles, sharp angles and a side of the pool, there is a risk injury. Sides of the pool are very slippery, it is easy to fall. Ladder to enter the pool are also uncomfortable. The pool cleaning is often in the day time.
5. Towels at the pool and the beach are always available, they are large size and can be taken at will.
6. The hotel territory.
Best view on the area is from the balcony, because when you are on the ground floor it is impossible to feel prospects. The look constantly stops into something:a delimiter for swimming pools children and adult , the beach restaurant, the closely spaced umbrellas and sunbeds, the trees. Despite the fact, that the area Sunrise Hotel is not less than, for example, the area Boutique Hoi An Resort, and maybe more, the feeling of tightness does not leave. To admire the green lawn due to architecture of the hotel and the presence of broad asphalt tracks is problematic.
7. Interior and rooms
It looks worse than the picture on the Internet. It seems to have everything, everything in its place, but the effect is not the same. Perhaps this is due to the use of special lighting during filming. King size bed about 1.8 * 2.0 m.
8. Breakfasts.
Breakfasts are delicious and varied, a large selection of baking ... but it is impossible to enjoy them, because atmosphere reigning on breakfasts reminds Vietnamese station: very hot, a lot of people, the constant buzz of voices. The waiters are trying to put all closer to each other, if you will not ask for another place. Coffee or tea can be held for a long time. We had to had breakfast at 1h 30min later, to eat in silence.
9. There is a children's club, we did not use it
10. The bus service runs to the city five times a day at a very inconvenient schedule, forcing hotel guests (not just us) always use a taxi. In addition, it is necessary to make a 1 hour pre-recording before you are going to take a bus. For comparison, at the Boutique Hoi An Resort bus runs 7 times a day, without any pre-recording, very comfortable, we did not use taxi at all.
11. There is a free shuttle bus to and from airport, very comfortable.
Summary: The hotel is big, ugly, it is better suited for a corporate holiday, because it does not care where to rest, when other pay for you. The level of service does not correspond to five stars.
-

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    719
    386
    106
    27
    10
See reviews for
266
622
20
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Had a great 6 night stay at Sunrise. Staff were really friendly, nice room with sea views and great breakfasts. Nice location on the beach and they have a free shuttle service into town and back about five times a day (would be better if this was more frequent). Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This is a modern first-class beach resort which could be anywhere in the world. Nothing bad to say. Good service, great facility. Outside facilities including pool first class. The beach however was a disappointment as you cannot really swim in the oceal in front of the hotel - you have to go 200-300m to the north of the property.
Prices for all services are not typical Vietnamese... Almost had a heart attack on our laundry bill (we had missed that an independent one is across the street - use him instead!).
And don't use the internal restaurant which is nothing special and pricey; the city, 15 minutes away, has some of the finest restaurants in all Vietnam: Miss Ly, Morning Glory, Mango Mango.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bli Bli, Australia
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

An enjoyable one night stay at this Hotel, Great friendly Young Staff very keen and Proud of their role here every one is so pleasant and eager to please, Breakfast is excellent with a wonderful variety
Rooms are well appointed, Ocean views, very comfortable beds, Pillows are really good best I have come across,

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSunrise, General Manager at Sunrise Hoi An Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Aussietony

Greetings from Sunrise Hoi An!

Thank you for your recent visit with us and I am very happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay. I will pass on your comments to our team and i would be gladly welcoming you back in future.

With warm regards
Sven Saebel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I found the staff at this hotel knowledgeable, helful and very friendly. We got to know the staff really well and the management do not mind getting their hands dirty, they are visibly present and serving the clientele as they expect their staff to!! Sven, the operational manager and Don the executive assisstant manager aproachable and dedicated to service and success in this hotel. We had a great stay and will be back without doubt!!!

Room Tip: Report any issues you might have to the staff and it gets dealt with pronto!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSunrise, General Manager at Sunrise Hoi An Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Cathy9M

Greetings from Sunrise Hoi An Resort!

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. Thank you for also mentioned our Management Team which i appreciate.

I do hope to welcome you back again in the near future!

Warm regards
Sven Saebel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

The hotel has excellent facilities all round.
We stayed in a very nice overlooking the manicured gardens, swimming pools and with a glimpse of the open sea.
The room was very spacious and included an "indoor" balcony. Very nice ensuite.
The breakfast buffet had an excellent range and the service was good.
We also had international buffet on New Year's Day and it was delicious.
Use the gym a couple of times during our stay and the tennis court looked great.
Overall, a very nice 5-star hotel by any standard.

The only down side for us is that its design is ultra modern and located quite a few kilomenters from Hoi An. There weren't much in the hotel that would remind us that we were in actually in Vietnam, let alone Hoi An. You could mistake it for another hotel resort in Fiji, Thailand or Indonesia!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSunrise, General Manager at Sunrise Hoi An Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear TonyT 950

Greetings from Sunrise Hoi An Resort!

I would like to thank you staying during the New Year Period at our resort and would like to thank you for your positive review and comments.

We will be over the next months further improving our decorations to bring a little bit more vietnamese flair to our resort.

I do hope to welcome you back again in the near future and once again thank you for your review.

With warm regards
Sven Saebel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I was blown away with Sunrise - after staying at 3-star places at the beginning of our trip, this was a very enjoyable visit for us. As soon as you enter the lobby and see the pool - we got very excited. The rooms were comfortable for just two people (although there was three of us), the food selection was to die for and I think we paid a decent price for such a lovely place. Our stay in Hoi An was short, but most of it was spent at the resort for swimming, tanning, eating and sleeping!
Staff were not the most friendly compared to others which is a bit disappointing, and the internet area is small but other than that it was great!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSunrise, General Manager at Sunrise Hoi An Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Vivvy W,

Greetings from Sunrise Hoi An Resort!

Thank you for sharing your experience of your recent stay with Sunrise Hoi An Resort. I would like to thank you for your positive comments and also in regards to our team, which i will certainly address.

I am looking forward welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards
Sven Saebel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunrise Hoi An Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Hoi An Beach Resort

Address: Au Co Road, Cua Dai Beach, Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 85 Hotels in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sunrise Hoi An Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly positioned along the popular Cua Dai Beach, Sunrise Hoi An. Boasting 222 rooms, suites and beachfront villas, guests are pampered with all the residential touches of home.The resort offers 2 Restaurants and 2 Bars, Kids Club with special design activities for our young guests. 2 oversized Swimming Pools, SPA, state of the art Gymnasium and a wide range of free activities, such as Tai-Chi, Bycicles and a range of Water Sport Activities.Further facilities are:- 24 hours Coffeeshop/Restaurant and Room Service- Speciality Restaurant featuring Vietnamese Specialities and Seafood Tanks- Bar with international Live Music Band- Pool and other Games- Hard Surface Tennis Court- Library- Complimentary Coffee & Tea Brewing Amenities- In-Room Safe- 40 inch LCD Televisions with international Programs- Rain Shower- Custom SPA Toiletries- Hair Dryer- Scale- In-House Laundry- Currency Exchange- Boutique Shop- Airport Transfers- Excursion and Activity ConciergeLocated only a 10-minute drive from the resort you will discover Hoi An a World Heritage Site by UNESCO. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sunrise Hoi An Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunrise Hoi An Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.