We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hoi An Riverside Bamboo Resort

Save Saved
You added Hoi An Riverside Bamboo Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hoi An Riverside Bamboo Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   83/09 Nguyen Duy Hieu Street, Hoi An, Vietnam (Formerly Bamboo Village Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 81 Hotels in Hoi An
Dubai
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We spent two nights here after the the bustle of Hanoi. It's a good property with scenic riverside setting. Although the rooms are spacious, they seemed a bit jaded. The safe in the room locked itself (with my valuables inside) and I had to complain thrice before someone came and opened it. Breakfast was nothing to rave about. The location is rather inconvenient and a bit away from the city.

Room Tip: If you are concerned about privacy, avoid the poolside rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    53
    20
    5
    1
See reviews for
18
62
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Provence
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed here for the last 5 nights of our 2-week trip in order to wind down after crazy Saigon. Bamboo is a quiet hotel positioned mid-way between busy and chic Hoi An town and quiet and beautiful An Bang beach.

The hotel is very new and clearly a lot of effort has gone into making it look like an attractive riverside resort. The impression is good but the beauty, regrettably, is only skin deep.

We were "upgraded" from a garden-view to a ground floor pool-view rooms at "no extra cost" (when in fact there is no extra cost anyway) but we should perhaps have refused since, unknown to us, these rooms have other rooms above them.

The first night we were disturbed by a karaoke taking place across the river (God, how the Viets love their karaoke!) and subsequent nights by noises from our neighbours above. The buildings may look pretty, but they have neither sound nor themal insulation of any sort whatsoever.

Being by a river may seem idyllic but it sure makes for a damp environment especially if you are on the ground floor - within a couple of days all our clothes hanging in the wardrobe were damp. Running the air-conditioner would have helped but Hoi An is not always so warm in December, the aircon has no reverse mode and the resort does not have a single heater we could borrow. We tried leaving the aircon on while we were out but they just turned if off each time.

The resort is down a narrow street (less than a two-car width) and for some crazy reason the resort did not build any entrance for the taxis to turn into, so there ensues a 5-point turn which is just about OK provided there is only one taxi and nothing else parked in the street.

We only ate here once on the so-called restaurant. Of the 2 types of pizza on the menu one was "not available" and of the other they had just one. We suspect the entire menu was based on pre-packaged meals. We shared the pizza which had a base the consistency of an overcooked biscuit and a topping just short of lava temperature. Their chef is certainly no whizz with the microwave.

At this point I would mention the breakfasts which do not even make average in a country where the average breakfast is of the "am I really that hungry?" level.

I'll just finish off with a few more but perhaps less-important criticisms:-

1. The beds are hard, even for Vietnam
2. The wi-fi may be free but our holiday time certainly isn't - the connection time is in the "now what was I doing?" zone
3. The water smells of bad eggs when you first run the taps so make sure you use the bottled water in the kettle
4. The cleaning is very skimpy nevertheless make sure you lock your good stuff away
5. The herringbone red-brick paths look pretty but are lethal when damp
6. The garden lights are pretty but they stay on until 5am - since the curtains are so thin remember to hang on to those eye blinkers from the plane

It's not good enough to say this place is cheap when there are other better hotels in Hoi An for the same price. It needs staff who are service orientated and who can speak English as well as owner-managers who are more active in their roles. As has been observed by others this could be a really nice hotel - at the moment it misses by a mile.

Room Tip: Make sure you do not take a ground floor room unless it is a river view room - try not to disturb th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is really clean and is beautiful and quiet. The staff are really friendly and helpful. It has a great pool area. I think that this hotel is great value for money. The only downside which is minor is that it's a bit far to walk into the townsite of Hoi An, however reception call u a cab, it arrives within 2 minutes and it costs about $2 for the trip. We have really enjoyed staying here and would definitely stay here again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

Firstly the positives:
The resort appears to be brand new. The rooms are huge, the staff are very helpful, free WIFI, really nice pool. Nice and peaceful, not many tourists. Overall comes across as a classy 4-5 star resort.

Negatives:
Restaurant looks great but is overpriced for pretty poor food and not much choice.
We were hassled quite a bit to visit their tailor shop (3 times in 2 days is a bit much!)
A gym would be nice

However overall I'm nitpicking because its a fabulous resort and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minh b, Manager at Hoi An Riverside Bamboo Resort, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Hi Theengelbert, it has been a pleasure for us to take care of you as our value customers.
We would like to thank you for your review about our hotel. We appreciate it and will continue to work harder in order to provide the best quality, reasonable price and great customer services.
Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to you and your family.
We hope to see you again in Hoi An. Best wishes
Riverside Bamboo Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed at Riverside Bamboo Resort (according to their cards, although it is the Bamboo Village Resort) in mid November 2012 and had a lovely, relaxing stay. The location is a short taxi ride out of town or about a 20 minute walk. We reserved the two end river view suites and they were delightful. The rooms are free-standing bungalows, separated by a fish pond, they overlook the garden and river and are very quiet. The rooms are clean and large, with decent bathrooms and a comfortable seating area and desk. Complimentary water bottles, tea and coffee and fruit plate is the usual very nice touch and the staff are very helpful. The usual hard Vietnam mattresses were the only negative and the fact that we could only get one roll of toilet paper at a time (no backup!) and one small cake of soap. My husband had a cold and as there were no tissues he was using toilet paper to blow his nose. We ran out and asked for a replacement plus spare - no extras the manager says! This was an annoyance that could have been avoided. Breakfast was good with eggs to order at the buffet and lots of fruit, breads etc.

Restaurants: We went to Mango Mango twice as the food was so delicious. It is just across the from bridge from the old town. They told us about their sister restaurant that had just opened: Mai Fish, which was equally good, but had a limited and pricey wine list. Both were excellent.

Room Tip: The end river front rooms cost a little more but they are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I've lived in Vietnam for over a year now, and not overly loving it, but Hoi An definitely shone. Bamboo resort was amazing, We got the overnight sleeper from Hanoi which, while not a great nights sleep, made it up for it in the morning waking up to the train chugging through the mountains next to the coast.

Bamboo resort were great. A very relaxed atmosphere, great rate and lovely pool. Bike and motorbikes for rent and thought food was pretty good. Though I would suggest they cover the breakfast buffet on a morning to prevent flies - seems everywhere doesn't take this precaution though.

We stayed two nights and didn't want to leave. Bicycle down to the beach everyday and relax - amazing. Everyone is so friendly. Took us til the second night to find the street in town where everyone goes which was lovely - all lit up with lanterns and nice places to eat - fab bakery.

Contrary to what another person here says - the hotel arranged an airport transfer minivan for us in the early morning hours which was cheap.

All in all a fantastic stay and would highly recommend this place!

Room Tip: I preferred the rooms on the ground level away from the pool - the pool rooms looked too close for c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights at Hoi An Bamboo Village Resort, it was a wonderful retreat after the hustle and bustle of Saigon. The room was spacious, clean and cool but as seems to be the norm in Vietnam the beds were very hard. Breakfast was more than adequate; we only had one evening meal in the hotel which we thoroughly enjoyed. The hotel is a short taxi drive away from town but we didn't find it a problem as a taxi would always arrive within a couple of minutes.The staff were helpful and friendly, all in all a great find.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hoi An Riverside Bamboo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoi An Riverside Bamboo Resort

Address: 83/09 Nguyen Duy Hieu Street, Hoi An, Vietnam (Formerly Bamboo Village Resort)
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 81 Hotels in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hoi An Riverside Bamboo Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A RIVERFRONT ESCAPE nestled on the bank of scenic Thu Bon River. The Bamboo Village Resort offers tropical resort seclusion just minutes from Hoi An Town Center and 1km from Cua Dai Beach. The centuries-old pagoda and temples, historical bridges, museums and ancients houses are all less than 10 minutes away. We welcome ours guests with a special style of villge-inspired serenenity and warmth along with contemporary accommodations. Opened in 2011, the resort offers a Zen-like style that features contemporary furnishings and is one of the best values in Hoi An. A place of serenity in harmony with nature, the 22-room Bamboo Village in Hoi An is committed to providing the highest quality lodging experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hoi An Riverside Bamboo Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hoi An Riverside Bamboo Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.