We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best time in Vietnam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hoi An Riverside Bamboo Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hoi An Riverside Bamboo Resort to your Saves list
Hoi An Riverside Bamboo Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   83/09 Nguyen Duy Hieu Street, Hoi An, Vietnam (Formerly Bamboo Village Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 82 Hotels in Hoi An
Hanoi, Vietnam
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best time in Vietnam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I've lived in Vietnam for over a year now, and not overly loving it, but Hoi An definitely shone. Bamboo resort was amazing, We got the overnight sleeper from Hanoi which, while not a great nights sleep, made it up for it in the morning waking up to the train chugging through the mountains next to the coast.

Bamboo resort were great. A very relaxed atmosphere, great rate and lovely pool. Bike and motorbikes for rent and thought food was pretty good. Though I would suggest they cover the breakfast buffet on a morning to prevent flies - seems everywhere doesn't take this precaution though.

We stayed two nights and didn't want to leave. Bicycle down to the beach everyday and relax - amazing. Everyone is so friendly. Took us til the second night to find the street in town where everyone goes which was lovely - all lit up with lanterns and nice places to eat - fab bakery.

Contrary to what another person here says - the hotel arranged an airport transfer minivan for us in the early morning hours which was cheap.

All in all a fantastic stay and would highly recommend this place!

Room Tip: I preferred the rooms on the ground level away from the pool - the pool rooms looked too close for c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    55
    21
    5
    1
See reviews for
18
67
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Warwickshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights at Hoi An Bamboo Village Resort, it was a wonderful retreat after the hustle and bustle of Saigon. The room was spacious, clean and cool but as seems to be the norm in Vietnam the beds were very hard. Breakfast was more than adequate; we only had one evening meal in the hotel which we thoroughly enjoyed. The hotel is a short taxi drive away from town but we didn't find it a problem as a taxi would always arrive within a couple of minutes.The staff were helpful and friendly, all in all a great find.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here 2 nights and loved it. The room was huge and had a very comfortable bed, good aircoditioning and nice bathroom. We rented bicycles at the hotel and rode into town and to the beach every day. The breakfast was excellent . Thanks for a very nice time I Hoi An.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minh b, Manager at Hoi An Riverside Bamboo Resort, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Hi Heathermcfeather, it has been a pleasure for us to serve you as our value customers.
We would like to thank you for your review about our hotel. We appreciate it and will continue to work harder in order to provide the best quality, reasonable price and great customer services.
Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to you and your family.
We look forward to serving you again in Hoi An. Best wishes
Riverside Bamboo Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I'll start off by saying that I think it was a bit of a low season that I was here (July) and I got a great deal on Agoda - $32 for a room overlooking the pool (I want to say Room 112?) It was a great room. It's not overly private with the room right next to you but honestly I don't need that much privacy (just shut the drapes!) The room was HUGE, one of the biggest I've ever stayed in. Nice big bathroom with a nice tub that I quite enjoyed. Everything was perfectly clean. The bed was hard, as is often the case, but not awful. I felt like I was staying at a luxury resort!

I had a great time here, spent 3 nights in Hoi An (soooo not enough!) The location is a bit out of the way but taxis are sooo easy in Hoi An and during the day you can also take a bicycle. I did walk to town in about 25 minutes but I certainly wouldn't want to be doing that every time. The location other than that is very secluded. Beautiful and calm right on the river (actually it was more of a channel). There were nice chairs to relax either by the pool or at the riverside. I loved the pool! There is a shallow area, which is brilliant, and I saw people either sitting there or playing with small children. Not that many pools include this!

Breakfast was very good, especially because it was included in my rate! Lots of fruit, any kind of drink you could think of, and a few Vietnamese breakfast dishes. My favourite was that there was actually potatoes (hashbrowns)!

Service was great, I had no problem with them.

Overall, I think this is a great option for Hoi An if you're looking for more of a resort style hotel. Especially considering the rate I paid, even though this was out of my budget, it was absolutely the best value I'd experienced in Vietnam.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed here for a week and really enjoyed our time here. The Resort is located about a 30 minute walk from the town centre which makes it nice and remote. A taxi costs about 2USD each way and as the heat is pretty intense we caught taxis both to and from the town centre each time.

We had a standard double room which was lovely. It was big and spacious so we didn't feel we were tripping over each other, and was equipped with a bar fridge, table and chairs, air conditioning, tv and a big bed. The mattress was firm but that is standard in Vietnam. We were on the top level with views over the resort, river and pool.

The surrounds are lovely and the gardens are immaculate. It was very quiet and we never heard any other guests. There is amble seating around the gardens and pool some of which is undercover. The pool is well maintained and very clean.

Breakfast was great and fresh. There are also vegetarian options available. We ate in the restaurant a couple of times and the food was okay, but nothing to rave about and a bit pricey compared to what you can get at a restaurant locally.

Despite saying on their website that they offer a shuttle service from the airport they do not! We caught a taxi from Da Nang which worked out to be nearly 500 000DNG. The website also says that they have a pool bar which to be honest, yes they do, however it is used as a storage unit with chairs, a fridge and other items in it! It was never used once during our stay and we got the impression it hasn't been used for a long time.

At times, there was a big language barrier and this caused a lot of frustration. For a Resort that prides itself on its atmosphere and service, I did expect that staff would have spoken better english. We tried to order room service one night and were delivered the wrong meal as the staff member did not understand what we asked for. Despite our attempts to communicate to them, we were unable to so gave up. We found one member of staff who spoke good english though at times this was limited!

The Resort is connected with a Beauty and Spa company that can come to your room and offer you various treatments. I strongly suggest you do not use their services!! They say they use Sothy's products but they do not! They use products that are that old, dirty and expired they are only fit for the bin. We declined their services and they were asked to leave my staff.

Room Tip: Great views from the higher floors and away from noise around the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This resort has a nice view, the room is large and clean. It's take 30 min for walking from this resort to town centre ( about 2km) but a receptionist told me just 1 km from there to town, it's a little bit lied. The price for laundry, drinks, motobikes, bicycle was expensive. mini bar was empty, when I was thrist, open the refrigerator but nothing inside. Can stay here but don't use anything service.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed here as a family of 4 (two children aged 10 and 9) as part of our holiday in Vietnam. We had 2 adjacent rooms which worked very well for us - the boys liked having the space, and the total cost per night ($140) was still on a par with other places we stayed. It's a little way out of town. We walked on the first day, but it was a bit far in the heat so stuck to taxis after that (about $2 each way). The pool was very welcome after the sweltering days walking around. The breakfast was good, but not the best we had on our trip.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hoi An Riverside Bamboo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoi An Riverside Bamboo Resort

Address: 83/09 Nguyen Duy Hieu Street, Hoi An, Vietnam (Formerly Bamboo Village Resort)
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 82 Hotels in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hoi An Riverside Bamboo Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A RIVERFRONT ESCAPE nestled on the bank of scenic Thu Bon River. The Bamboo Village Resort offers tropical resort seclusion just minutes from Hoi An Town Center and 1km from Cua Dai Beach. The centuries-old pagoda and temples, historical bridges, museums and ancients houses are all less than 10 minutes away. We welcome ours guests with a special style of villge-inspired serenenity and warmth along with contemporary accommodations. Opened in 2011, the resort offers a Zen-like style that features contemporary furnishings and is one of the best values in Hoi An. A place of serenity in harmony with nature, the 22-room Bamboo Village in Hoi An is committed to providing the highest quality lodging experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hoi An Riverside Bamboo Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hoi An Riverside Bamboo Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.