We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning pieces made by people with different abilities” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Reaching Out

Reaching Out
#103 Nguyen Thai Hoc Str., Hoi An 84510, Vietnam
84.(0)510.3910-168
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 280 shopping in Hoi An
Type: Specialty Shops
Attraction Details
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Stunning pieces made by people with different abilities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We visited this shop and workshop after reading reviews about the tea house on trip advisor. We toured the workshop where some of the items sold in the shop were being crafted by artisans with disabilities or different abilities. It was heart warming to see these people having the opportunity to create such beautiful items, providing income and meaning to their lives. The painted ceramics were serious works of art and the silver jewellery was absolutely exquisite. I purchased several pieces of this high quality hand made jewellery. All pieces are very original, particularly the divine lantern earring sand pendant, which will be a lovely momento of the lantern lit nights we spent in wonderful Hoi An.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    283
    34
    3
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Amazing products. Yes they are more expansive then the street stuff you find in hoi an but the quality is a lot higher. U can go theough and see the products being made. Every visitor to hoi an should go and buy something. Great cause, great people. Truly wishing them all the best

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A worthwhile experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

A really nice way to support the disabled. Unique handicrafts to the region with one of a kind pieces, as opposed to the typical tourist fare.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koriyama, Japan
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Reaching Out Arts & Crafts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

So surprised with very nice and beautiful products which are made by disables. It is a perfect place to buy souvenir for your trip. I am willing to pay a little extra and happy to know that it is helpful to workers here.

An amazing place - I wish all them well.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“What a very special place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Let's face it. Most of us go to the lovely Hoi An to shop. This is the third time I've been to Hoi An in the last four years but I can never resist going back. It is just lovely to walk into a shop that puts no pressure on you to buy anything. The products are very beautiful and are all made by Vietnamese people with disabilities. It is a very special place where you can find really lovely gifts and the welcome is always worth it! You must go here!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reaching Out also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Reaching Out? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Reaching Out, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Reaching Out to your Saves list