We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yuuuuuuummmmm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banh Mi Phuong

Banh Mi Phuong
2B Phan Chau Trinh, Hoi An, Vietnam
0905 743 773
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 406 Restaurants in Hoi An
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Yuuuuuuummmmm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

So devastated that I found this place on my last day in Hoi An ! Such a good lunch - 100% give this place a go ! Only 20,000 per sandwich ! Such a good value, tasty lunch !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    37
    9
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi, Vietnam
Top Contributor
457 reviews 457 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
343 helpful votes 343 helpful votes
“Take that, Subway! :D”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

I can't join the anthem of 'best Banh Mi', since this is my first, nor do I give much credence to the Bourdain hype. But as far a flavor sensations go, this thing hit a spot I did not even know existed in me, waiting patiently to discover Phuong Banh Mi in Hoi An. For a mere 20Kdong (1$) you get the best sandwich you will ever have. If you don't like it at first, go back and adjust .. more fire, less fire, with or without egg. I loved equally the non-secret sauce / non-herbs version my son ate as I enjoined the spice-gasm the 'Quens Lander' (#3 on the menu) gave me. A throng of local people lining up at 8PM surely was a great sign too. The lady spoke sufficient English and is still not tired of hearing people praising her craft, or may I say 'art'. Addictive!

I do not give 5stars lightly and this is surely no fine dining place, but as a 'simple' sandwich place, this takes the crown!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Best Banh Mi I had in Hoi An”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

I enjoyed this Banh Mi the best of those I had in Hoi An. At Phuong Banh Mi the bread was coming straight from next door at the bakery as they were being baked. This Banh Mi had a bit less chilli so I seemed to taste all the flavours better

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
209 helpful votes 209 helpful votes
“Best I've had so far”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Best banh mi I've had to date. Previous best was the award winning Lee's bakery off Buford Hwy outside Atlanta. We were in Hoi An for about 20 hours and we managed to eat here twice. Once for lunch upon arrival and once for breakfast before departure. 2 visits, 5 sandwiches. I dare you to eat just one. The bread is perfectly crispy on the outside and buttery soft on the inside. Pork sits in a very flavorful broth while waiting to be plucked out and thrown on your sandwich. Vegetables are pickled and add more crunch and a nice acidity to the sandwich. I've rarely seen tomatoes on a banh mi but it works, whatever chili sauce they using is perfect. Hot and tangy without being overbearing. They open early, have them throw a fried egg on your sandwich and you'll be calling it the best breakfast ever. The place is immensely popular with tourist and locals alike(sign of a good place). Locals usually grab theirs to go while tourist grab a seat in the dining room. We are banh mi freaks and food nerds so we also tried The Banh Mi Queen at 115 Tran Cao, she's good but no where near this place in taste or popularity. I travel as much for food as anything and this place gave me goosebumps. Oh and its super cheap, not that price has had or ever will have an impact on how good I think a food is. Bon appetit!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Hedland, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Best banh mi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

It's not fancy but it's awesome.

Fresh, flavoursome & authentic.

It's got to be close to the best Banh Mi in Hoi An. I can't wait to go back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Banh Mi Phuong also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Banh Mi Phuong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banh Mi Phuong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.