We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“easy travel to Hoi An world heritage city of vietnam” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hoi An Free Day Tours

Hoi An Free Day Tours
127 Phan Chu Trinh | Kiosk 7, Hoi An, Vietnam
05102222773
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #11 of 113 activities in Hoi An
Type: Bus tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Hoi An Free Tour is run by local university student community who offer free bicycle tour to unexplored countryside in Hoi An such as Kim Bong Village, Tra Que Vegetable Village and Cam Thanh Water Coconut Palm Village. The only benefit for volunteer students is that they get a chance to practice their English language skills and promote cultural exchange. This is two way learning experience for both visitors and hosts!
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“easy travel to Hoi An world heritage city of vietnam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

From Hue city i booked a tour bus ticket from the hostel for US4.00. the shutter bus picked me from the hostel at 9 am and transfered to air cond coach waiting near to the perfume river. Off we went at about 9.30 am. stopped for lunch break for an hour and another stop at Danang to offload danang passengers. arrived Hoi an ancient city at about 3.30pm. was able to get a motorbike to transfer me to the hostel 10 mins away. Hoi an is truly awesome. i love this place and will go back again. tours available easily from the hostels. the most common tour is the My Son tour including river ride to handy craft areas. very easy to move about at this ancient city by walking . lots of foods and water holes. best places to dine are those stalls set beside the river. hoi an speciality is 'cao lao' a kind of noodle with fish souce and lots of vegetables.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    13
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Geelong, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Amazing bike ride!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This is a unique opportunity to ride through a village in a small group and meet wonderful people going ahead with their everyday jobs and life. Don't miss out on this tour if you want to experience real Vietnam and the hospitality of the students was fantastic. Thank you to our guide who was so good with the children.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We had an amazing time on this tour and met some amazing people. The tour guids went above and beyond what was expected and were extremely helpful and friendly. A must do!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Probably one of the best things we did in Vietnam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We were told about the free bike tour run by students in Hoi An by some travellers in the Mekong Delta. We were arriving on the over night coach on Sunday morning, and although the last thing we fancied doing was going cycling for the day, we'd heard such good things that we really didn't want to miss out.

I'm so glad the we did the tour as it really was brilliant! Not only was it a great way to find out about local trades and get a bit off the beaten track, it also really helped us on the rest of our travels. By picking up a bit of Vietnamese from our student tour guides, we found that it went a really long way with the locals. it also helped us to feel confident ordering street food - and more importantly knowing what we were asking for!

Our tour guides were amazing. Really fun and friendly. It was absolutely pouring with rain but we just laughed about it and carried on. They taught us lots about local life and what ti is like growing up in Vietnam, the kind of stuff that you can't learn about from day trips and lonely planet books. I can't recommend this enough for a fun day out that will really help you to enjoy the rest of your trip around Vietnam!

The tour is free but you can make a donation towards running costs at the end of the tour. To be honest, compared to the paid tours we did in Saigon, this trip was far far more fun and personal. Even after a night of no sleep on the coach and a morning of pouring rain, we were still raving about this tour to all our friends when we got home !

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A win-win tour.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

My boyfriend arranged this tour for us while staying in Hoi An. It is indeed free, however there is a 50,000 dong fee for the ferry ride and "tips" for the villagers. I completely agree with this practice of upfront donations, as it appears in the past only transportation was covered and then you were responsible for giving small change to the artisans or shopkeepers. Although we visited 5 locations, it was never assumed that we would buy anything, and neither were we pushed into feeling responsible to do so. We walked away quite happy with the fact that we spent a day mingling with locals (the most interaction is obviously with the Uni students due to their English skills), and we felt that it's a great way to give and take from a tourism opportunity.

Our one gripe was that there seemed to be a bit of confusion as to who was really leading the tour - it may have been the student's timid nature, but at times we waited around wondering about next steps and tour length in general, and the final stopping point of the tour, which involved a suggestion form, could have been resolved in a more timely and orderly fashion. Therefore, be sure to bring snacks with you! Otherwise, the guides were very eager to satisfy and will undoubtedly be next-generational leaders in Vietnam.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hoi An Free Day Tours also viewed

 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Hoi An Free Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hoi An Free Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hoi An Free Day Tours to your Saves list