We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed funky ambiance in a striking building with a good happy hour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Green Mango

Green Mango
54 Nguyen Thai Hoc, Hoi An, Vietnam
+84 510 3929 918
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #54 of 456 Restaurants in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: Contemporary, Vietnamese, Diner, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Located in the historic centre of Hoi An. Set in a very traditional Japanese & Chinese shophouse. The setting and ambience is worth a visit
Canterbury
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Relaxed funky ambiance in a striking building with a good happy hour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

On the one hand you have a well designed modern looking space with chunky flock settees and trendy wall hangings and on the other a 16th century merchants house with a balcony overlooking the street. Probably better to choose early or late evening to avoid crowds. The food was fab - Red Snapper Fettucini with curried vegetables was just to die for - Hoi An finally living up to the culinary fuss....The manager also has a fine line in humorously ironic observations if you are from the UK (in a good way).
I thoroughly enjoyed the food service and ambiance and with a beautifully rounded Malbec thrown in and a well presented sharing platter to start - all in with a tip less than £20 (you can also get snacks and European food during the day when beer is half price).
If you go raise a Hanoi Beer and have a chat to the Manager - if you are chilled out (metaphorically because the humidity means it's mostly boiling)you won't be disappointed.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    417
    114
    36
    21
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi, Vietnam
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Green Mango you have done it again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

Having dined/cocktailed twice in Green Mango in Hanoi we were in Hoi An and saw the sign for 2 for 1 drinks offer before 7pm. As I had promised my wife cocktails that evening and as she had become obsessed with dirty Martinis from Hanoi, we decided to go in. We weren't going to eat dinner but in the end stayed to try a green chicken curry for myself and a Hoi An special chicken noodle dish.
Overall value was excellent, atmosphere was pretty good, service was v good but some of that was down to the excellence of the owner who first served us and who constantly made sure his staff were attentative, noticed little things lacking that he immediately rectified-things a publican should know that somehow staff can easily miss. Very happy to have tried the Hoi An chapter oh and try the free handmade potato chips...v moreish!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney - NSW
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The Place To Eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Having eaten three times here since our stay in Hoi An, this was the placed for us. Yes it is a bit more expensive compared to other restaurants around, but compared to prices in Australia it was fairly cheap. Enjoy their happy hour from noon to 7.00pm and it is a cheap place to drink in an amazing atmosphere. Other stand out is when you arrive they give your warm bread rolls which my 13 year old daughter loved. One night we had 8 cocktails, 4 soft drinks, 2 salads and 4 mains for around $65.00 including tip. What makes this restaurant stand out is there manager, Mac, and the head waitress Pineapple, and once we had finished our meal there was no pressure to leave, stay at your leisure. What we found amazing is the staff remembered our names on our repeat visits, plus knew what the kids would order for dinner and drinks. I cannot understand why this restaurant does not have a higher standing on trip advisor, it's a must do for any visitor to this delightful town. We were very fortunate to meet the owner of Green Mango, who introduced himself. I hope he appreciates what an amazing job Mac and Pineapple do.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“What a treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

My friend & I recently dined at Green Mango in Hoi An. After backpacking & being on the road for more than a month we decided to treat ourselves to a night of cocktails & restaurant food. Street food is amazing but it's not a lounging affair. We arrived at Green Mango at about 5pm & ordered rounds of cocktails (getting 2-4-1 drinks until 7pm) & lounging on their amazingly comfortable lounges in the front window. We shared the Goats Cheese Grapes as a starter & they were devine. We then had the Set Menu number 2 and each course was absolutely stunning. We even had the owner cooking for us that night. We then moved back to the lounges to have an after dinner drink of limoncello & mint tea. The whole night was such a treat & just what we needed after a month of street food & cheap beer. Mac was a great host and the waitstaff were fantastic. I definitely recommend this restaurant for a night you won't forget. Order the Set Menu 2. $25 each and we had cocktails, after dinner drinks, starters, soups, salads, mains & desserts. Wow!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing food, amazing service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

If your looking to try great Vietnamese food in a relaxed atmosphere and friendly staff, then Green Mango is the place to go. The food was excellent full of great flavours and the staff were very friendly which made our experience very enjoyable. The cocktails we had were very nice made by the young gentleman behind the bar. After our meal we relaxed in the couches and enjoyed a drink and the wait staff were willing to help in any way. We will return again if in Hoi An!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green Mango also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Green Mango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Mango, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.