We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We traveld from the North to the South and this was out very favorite spot!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Phone Cafe

Phone Cafe
80B Street of Bach Dang, Hoi An, Vietnam
Improve this listing
Ranked #229 of 432 Restaurants in Hoi An
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Restaurant details
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We traveld from the North to the South and this was out very favorite spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Dont be fooled by the outside of this little family run restaurant, its surrounded by far more fancy looking places but its the best by FAR! Once you are inside, its a cute as a button. Its in the front part of a family home and the family (including granny!) do all the cooking and serving. The food was some of the nicest we had in Vietnam (yum claypots!) and the beer was cheap. The staff where super friendly and the ambiance was warm, local and 'real' feeling. Hanoi can feel a little touristy at times, and this place is a very welcome break from that. What more could you ask for? We rarely go to a place more than once when we are traveling because we like to try new things, we in 4 days we went back to this place 3 times! And we would do it again! HIGHLY recomended.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    13
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Cooking Class & Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stopped in here for a cooking class and really enjoyed ourselves. This is a small family run restaurant with great local food. We were able to customize our menu, learn things we really wanted to and finished with some really tasty food. The price for our class was very reasonable, much cheaper than elsewhere in town. We strongly recommend Phone Café for a cooking class and or a good meal!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Amazing food, cheap beer and freindly staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

The Cauo Lao is the best dish by far, cheap food and even cheaper beer. You can get a beer for 20c and it's cold and refreshing. We visited almost every day as the food is so good and a lot cheaper than what u will pay in the other restaurants. We tried a lot of places here but this is by far the best. Give it a go even just for the one dish you won't regret it.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoi An, Vietnam
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great claypot dishes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

It might indeed not look very attractive, but we were pleasantly surpised by the simple but extreemly tasty claypot chickenbreast and claypot eggplant dishes!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing cooking course!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

We were lucky enough to have a private cooking course for 2 people at no extra cost and were allowed to choose the menu ourselves. The chef was very good in explaining everything and allowed us to take our time. All the ingredients were good quality and fresh that day and the recipes were very traditional. The whole experience was fantastic and there was a huge amount of food to eat at the end, all of which was delicious! Very nice family restaurant and extremely good value for money on the waterfront.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phone Cafe also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Phone Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phone Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.