We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“French cuisine in Vietnam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Banyan Bar

Le Banyan Bar
Last Restaurant Left Side (North) Of An Bang Beach, Hoi An 51000, Vietnam
1238819236
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #92 of 407 Restaurants in Hoi An
Price range: $2 - $15
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean, Tapas, Vietnamese
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
St.Petersburg
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“French cuisine in Vietnam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

It is very interest place on Hoi An beach. It's real french cuisine in Vietnam. owner this cafe is Frenchman. This French food I ate only in Provence! Very delicious! You can also play pool and petanque, at the bar you can negotiate with the trainer for learning to surfing. Staff speak on english, french and vietnamese languages.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    24
    7
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Jongny
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great food and location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Superb location on the beach with a nice house and lounge bar and billard table...
We've been there 5 times and the food was always good (I recommend their "tartare de thon").
Friendly staff, just not stressed so don't expect the service to be very fast and enjoy a few beers waiting for the meal.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“This is the place to go !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed about 3 weeks in Hoi An from the middle of December 2012 to begining of January 2013 and we visited several restaurants in Hoi An and this was our favorite dinner place because the 2 french guys which are runing this place are doing a good job. They are very service oriented and food quality was very good as well. I ate the fillet steak, almost all burgers, spagetti bolognese and and........ and all was good. Before we found the Banyans we went one time to Hoi An City and went in to a restaurant at the river and they cheated us as good as they could in terms of price and food quality. We payed for the same menu a five times higher prices as at the Banyans. We never ate again in Hoi An City.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaborone, Botswana
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Rustic, friendly place on the beach.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This French run beach bar / restaurant on An Bang beach serves a mixture of local and continental dishes at reasonable prices. There is a large pool table at the bar and the hosts are very open and friendly. They have no problem if you wish to order from one of the other adjacent restaurants and have your food delivered to their premises.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“Leaving was too hard”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This place is a little spot of heaven you'll never want to leave. Wonderful food and wine with a really relaxed laid back friendly atmosphere, in a perfect spot. If you are staying in Hoi An, go here on your last night because if you go here sooner you won't visit anywhere else. Oysters, sashimi mahi mahi, plus a kind of vietnamese french fusion mix of interesting tapas dishes, plus good french wine (not at all easy to find in Vietnam). On our second night here (our last in Hoi An) an impromptu party started up and we ended up leaving way too late. Which was still too early. We really loved this place. Go.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Banyan Bar also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Le Banyan Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Banyan Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.