We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very convenient place to stay at” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cam Chau Homestay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cam Chau Homestay to your Saves list
Cam Chau Homestay
2.0 of 5 Guest house   |   157 Tran Nhan Tong | Thanh Nam hamlet, Cam Chau ward, Hoi An 0510, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 111 Hoi An B&B and Inns
2 reviews
“very convenient place to stay at”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

loved being here!
the family was super nice without being too annoying/friendly. room was clean, had everything we needed (although the wifi signal could have been better..)
distance to the city was great: only 5 minutes by bike, yet not too close so you can have a break from all those crowds. beach is 3km away nd very easy to find.

breakfast was superb as well. (ask for some mixed fruits that aren't on the menue and they'll still make it for you!)

the family knows only little english, so don't expect them to tell you any stories.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    17
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
20
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

Although a bit out of the city centre, this is a great place to return to after a busy day in touristy hoi an. Lovely family, small but clean rooms with fan, ac and mosquito net. Good showers. The breakfast is good but stick to local, the pancake was so-so. However the people are very nice and with little english they make this your home away from home. Bicycles arenincluded which is great in hoi an amd surroundings!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We have stayed for 2 days with Van and his family and had a wonderful time. The room was spacious and clean and the breakfast was delicious. The family did everything to make us feel at home. Bikes were free and available at the home. It took us a 5min bike ride to the center of Hoi An, 20min to the beach. It was a very nice experience.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

we had group of 4 visit Hoi An last week and choose to stay at Cam Chau Homestay.
During our stay, Hue Family is our host.

The host is a lady with a son, she doesn't speak English, but her son speak very simple English. But we don't have any big problem communication with them.

She give a good serve to us and prepare us a very good breakfast.
The home environment is also great and fantastic.

Room Tip: a little far distance from town, may have to walk 10-20 minute or with bike. the shower is not big...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Totally experiencing life of the '70s, cycling, biking around padi fields. Vietnamese homestay cooking and little tour guiding. The interesting ancient city with multicultural invasions of different type of people, like Chinese,Japanese,French and Americans.

Room Tip: Be ready for friendly atmosphere and anticipating language barrier however speaking slowly. Hot wat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

***** I have just spent 9 days with Dung and Cuc in their home with their two children. They are part of the Cam Chau homestay experience here in Hoi An. I ate most nights with the family as Cuc is such a good cook and she allowed me to help her. Cuc took me to the local market as well. We cooked Vietnamese pancakes and such which were delicious. If I every return to Vietnam, I will definitely stay with Dung and his family. The house is lovely and clean.
I was in Hoi An with Swim Vietnam, an organisation set up to try and help the Vietnamese children learn water safety as the drowning rate is so high.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I spent almost a week in Hoi An. The homestay organisation has several homes apparently and I stayed at 157 Tran Nhan Tong. The family were very friendly and we shared a meal together on one night. They speak English to a range of levels of proficiency which was fine. The room was clean with air con and a private bathroom. Breakfast was included. They had free bicycles available for use. The cycle ride into town took me about 5 to 10 minutes which was very pleasant, and it was about 25 mins by bicycle to the beach. I enjoyed staying a little further out of town at a peaceful spot.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cam Chau Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cam Chau Homestay

Address: 157 Tran Nhan Tong | Thanh Nam hamlet, Cam Chau ward, Hoi An 0510, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cam Chau Homestay 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an idea on sustainable tourism, which benefits the local communities in Hoi An, Cam Chau homestay has been born to meet the idea. By using this kind of accommodation, guests are helping the local people improving their standard of living and preserving the traditional Vietnamese culture and environment. Staying with the local families, guests will have opportunities to immerse yourselves into the real Vietnamese culture, to experience the local daily life and food. Don't miss it!Cam Chau homestay is a complex of 12 houses located in a small and quiet Hamlet called " Thanh Nam ", just 5 minutes by bicycle to the city center of Hoi An. Every house has a private bedroom with En-suite bathroom or with shared use of the family bathroom and kitchen for guests ( 1 or 2 ) to stay with their family. Some of the rooms have air-conditioning and internet access. Meal for dinner can be available on request and guests could have dinner with the family. In case, guests would like to cook for their own, kitchen can be used.All families have TV & DVD players at the living rooms and of course, guests can use it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Cam Chau Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cam Chau Homestay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.