We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lantern Town Restaurant

Lantern Town Restaurant
49 Nguyen Thai Hoc Str, Hoi An, Vietnam
+ 84 1239912212
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 388 restaurants in Hoi An
Price range: $3 - $14
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Located right in the middle of Hoi An ancient town, Lantern Town offers authentic Vietnamese cuisine and a selective creative fusion dishes. Great ambience, welcoming staff and friendlly services are what we always try our best to bring to our customers. Wide range of choices for enjoying your meal and drinks such as Cozy indoor, Open courtyard, Upstair overlookng the river, Terrace or Chilled out bar. With wide selection of food cooked in traditional way of Vietnamese Hoianian, and a collection of signature cocktails especially the Happy Hours 2 for 1 from 3:00pm-7:00pm, Lantern Town is perfect place for dining in charming Hoi An.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

We went here for dinner twice as we were having suits tailored next door at Yaly! Both times we ate there our food and service was exceptional and Hang was very nice. They spring rolls were the best do not hesitate eating here very clean and the lanterns and bike in the restaurant add to a great ambience!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    213
    78
    21
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing, fresh food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

A great restaurant by the river. Enjoyed dinner in the peaceful courtyard. The food was delicious; super fresh and tasty. Service was friendly. Lovely.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Lantern Town - Very very good.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Hoi An is flush with restaurants, but you need to be careful as many are overpriced and not that good. We hired bikes during our stay as they offer a couple of advantages. 1) it's easy to get around town 2) you get hassled less by the tourist/nick nack/peddlers etc.
We stumbled upon Lantern Town after a couple laps on our bikes. With the bikes you can easily see which restaurants are busy and which aren't. Lantern Town was busy so we thought we would give it ago.
The food was excellent. The service even better. We were looked after by Lan and Luyen who catered to our eve need and that our our two young daughters. We sat outside in the upstairs
balcony on a beautiful star filled night.
We enjoyed White Rose Wontons, Chicken and Beef Noodles, Stuffed Squid, Flambé Banana and Mango for dessert. Excellent presentation for all dishes, and very fresh. Plus 4 beers and fresh juice for our kids, all for 750,000VND. The kitchen where I managed a sneak peek was very clean and tidy.
No hesitation in recommending. Very good food and service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanterntown, Owner at Lantern Town Restaurant, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear writer,
How lovely to hear about your evening at Lantern Town was memorable. It must have been a wonderful visit so that you could gave very details comments on our food, services, presentations and kitchen...
Miss Luyen and Lan wanted to send their huge thanks for your nice words on their services. They hope to see you at Lantern Town again one day.
Thank you for sharing your experience dining with us.
Regards
Khiem Vu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hoa,the great host at this resturant will be able to advise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Great food in a brilliant setting with staff that know the menu and are able to advise patrons on Vietnamese food.
They are able to comunicate in English making menu choices far less taxing.
The upstairs rea of tis resturt eeds advace booing and will e well worth doing.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanterntown, Owner at Lantern Town Restaurant, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear writer,
Thank you for your constructive review.
Hoa wanted to send his big thanks and regards for your great comment on his services.
We hope to have you at Lantern Town again one day.
Regards
Khiem Vu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
“Our only poor meal”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Shame this one. It all started very well with a charming manager explaining the menu and making sure we were settled with our 2 year old and baby. Then we ordered and waited. And waited and waited. Other tables got served and still none of us - including a very hungry two year old - had their food. We complained and they scuttled about but still nothing. When we saw the managers' friends get served we then kicked up a huge row and eventually that seemed to spur them to actually bring some food, well over an hour after we ordered.

The food itself was ok but nowhere near the standard of places like Morning Glory, Miss Ly or Ancient Faifo.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanterntown, Owner at Lantern Town Restaurant, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear writer,
Thank you for sharing your experience dining at Lantern Town.
I remembered this case very well as I am the one who received the booking from your husband for that evening.
We have set up a beautiful table on the terrace for your family but unfortunately we could not move the trolley upstair so we arranged another table downstair in stead.
It took for a while before your order completed as the baby cried and the going to the bathroom, also your time for seeing the menu...
The order was completed at 20:00pm (as recorded in the software, camera system and in the captain order we still keeping) and your meal arrived at 20:20pm(starters for you and food for your baby). During the 20min, we served you drinks, wine and complimentary...
According to our concept, this period of time is accepted and it was totally not late at all.
Especially, we never let our guests sitting and waited for hour like you said in the review.
When you got angry and complained, we checked everything imediately to make sure you happy and even gave discount on your bill(even there was nothing wrong).
Regarding the manager's guests served first. They were actually our loyal guests for months and have become our friends. They always let us know what they wanted to eat before arrived so the food was well prepared in advance. There was no advantage of serving as you might think.
We are very sorry hearing this and we do hope this may help you understand better the case.
If you would like to give us any idea or your comment after this please feel free to drop us an email through: lanterntownhoian@gmail.com
Thank you for choosing us.
Regards
Khiem Vu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lantern Town Restaurant also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Lantern Town Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lantern Town Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.