We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food in Hoi An but certainly not pushy owners” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chips 'N' Fish 'N' Stuff

Chips 'N' Fish 'N' Stuff
1 Nguyen Phuc Chu Street, Hoi An, Vietnam
+84(0)12 36 005179
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 388 restaurants in Hoi An
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food in Hoi An but certainly not pushy owners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Fantastic little restaurant in Hoi An over the bridge. Owned & run by a young couple who are very friendly but not pushy. The "Chips n Fish" suits anyone wanting some Western food ..... but if you want really good Vietnamese food stick to the menu .... it's great. Cooking classes are wonderful - small but informative .... best of all you get to eat what you make. After a hard day cooking & eating a fantastic meal finish off with a "Fresh Beer".. There is no hard sell here .... just genuine warmth & friendliness.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    114
    42
    10
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Just Great Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

I am sitting Now at chips and fish, after a wonderful meal, Great taste, lovely people !
Beautiful mango pancake with icecream and chocolate for desert, Life is good!
Tomorrow fresh fish!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Fantastic fish & chips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We went there during a rainy night in Hoi An and were lucky enough to have the whole family restaurant to ourselves. Otherwise the restaurant is usually very packed. We ordered the signature fish & chips of course plus some fresh Vietnamese spring rolls. The fish lived up to its reputation as the best in Hoi An. The fish was fresh & succulent & the batter was just right, not too thick. The chips were just ok probably because those were the best potatoes they could find in Hoi An. The fresh Vietnamese spring rolls were below average though. But hey, we shouldn't complain as the restaurant's specialty is fish & chips. Definitely worth revisiting.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
“Don't be put off by the name.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I read about this place, but the name was not appealing. I did decide to try it, once I read their menu. I chose the fixed menu, #2, but on the recommendations I chose the deep fried wontons as a subsitute for the"white rosé". All I can say is this is the best tasting food I have had in the past 3 weeks here in Viet Nam. And that includes Brothers Cafe, at 3 x the price.highly recommended!! No reservations, no hesitation!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Average reastaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Made the mistake of trying the fish and chips at this place after all the local food consumed in the past 3 days. Fish pieces were tasty but the chips were rather inferior (probably from the local potato variety). Quite quiet for that night as it was a rainy day. Family run business. Will try the local fare the next time we return.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chips 'N' Fish 'N' Stuff also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Chips 'N' Fish 'N' Stuff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chips 'N' Fish 'N' Stuff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.