We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food in Hoi An but certainly not pushy owners” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chips 'N' Fish 'N' Stuff

Chips 'N' Fish 'N' Stuff
1 Nguyen Phuc Chu Street, Hoi An, Vietnam
+84(0)12 36 005179
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 559 Restaurants in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Vietnamese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food in Hoi An but certainly not pushy owners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Fantastic little restaurant in Hoi An over the bridge. Owned & run by a young couple who are very friendly but not pushy. The "Chips n Fish" suits anyone wanting some Western food ..... but if you want really good Vietnamese food stick to the menu .... it's great. Cooking classes are wonderful - small but informative .... best of all you get to eat what you make. After a hard day cooking & eating a fantastic meal finish off with a "Fresh Beer".. There is no hard sell here .... just genuine warmth & friendliness.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Maire56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just Great Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I am sitting Now at chips and fish, after a wonderful meal, Great taste, lovely people !
Beautiful mango pancake with icecream and chocolate for desert, Life is good!
Tomorrow fresh fish!

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Huxleyxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Fantastic fish & chips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

We went there during a rainy night in Hoi An and were lucky enough to have the whole family restaurant to ourselves. Otherwise the restaurant is usually very packed. We ordered the signature fish & chips of course plus some fresh Vietnamese spring rolls. The fish lived up to its reputation as the best in Hoi An. The fish was fresh & succulent & the batter was just right, not too thick. The chips were just ok probably because those were the best potatoes they could find in Hoi An. The fresh Vietnamese spring rolls were below average though. But hey, we shouldn't complain as the restaurant's specialty is fish & chips. Definitely worth revisiting.

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FoodHound_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Don't be put off by the name.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I read about this place, but the name was not appealing. I did decide to try it, once I read their menu. I chose the fixed menu, #2, but on the recommendations I chose the deep fried wontons as a subsitute for the"white rosé". All I can say is this is the best tasting food I have had in the past 3 weeks here in Viet Nam. And that includes Brothers Cafe, at 3 x the price.highly recommended!! No reservations, no hesitation!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Average reastaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Made the mistake of trying the fish and chips at this place after all the local food consumed in the past 3 days. Fish pieces were tasty but the chips were rather inferior (probably from the local potato variety). Quite quiet for that night as it was a rainy day. Family run business. Will try the local fare the next time we return.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jbgt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chips 'N' Fish 'N' Stuff also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Chips 'N' Fish 'N' Stuff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing