We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average reastaurant” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chips 'N' Fish 'N' Stuff

Chips 'N' Fish 'N' Stuff
1 Nguyen Phuc Chu Street, Hoi An, Vietnam
+84(0)12 36 005179
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 471 Restaurants in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Vietnamese
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Average reastaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Made the mistake of trying the fish and chips at this place after all the local food consumed in the past 3 days. Fish pieces were tasty but the chips were rather inferior (probably from the local potato variety). Quite quiet for that night as it was a rainy day. Family run business. Will try the local fare the next time we return.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    73
    12
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
248 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We had pork crispy wonton to start they were delicious lovely sauce veges and lots of fresh coriander. Husband had fish and said it was dekicious dauce very tasty. I had prwns in tamarind skightly spicy sweet sauce were great, The flambeed bananas were so gorgeous sweet strong bana. Flavour and enough for two with one portion. Service excellent does not look as flash as others but great food.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delicious food and good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We had lunch here - food was delicious and good value. You sit out on the street so it's good for people watching and river traffic scanning. Recommend the fried wanton which is a speciality.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“My favourite place to eat in Hoi An”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

I've been to this place 3 times during my week in Hoi An, I really like it!
The service is attentive but relaxed and the food is delicious! I highly recommend the vegetable cao lau, which is very tasty, and if you are looking for something simple then the steamed rice and steamed vegetables hits the spot. I found this restaurant really good value for money, 2 vege dishes and a soft drink was just under 50,000 vnd. I'll really miss the food at this place!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanjing, China
Level Contributor
69 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great view, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

Overlooking the river and HoiAn's main riverfront street this is a great place to relax and watch the tourists and locals go by.
The name is s little misleading, and rest assured that the food is the good Vietnamese variety, rather than a British rip off. The fish wrapped in banana leaf was amazing.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chips 'N' Fish 'N' Stuff also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Chips 'N' Fish 'N' Stuff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chips 'N' Fish 'N' Stuff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.