We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“decor from a horror movie” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cua Dai Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Cua Dai Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Cua Dai Beach Hotel
Khoi Phuoc Hai | Cua Dai St, Hoi An, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #104 of 111 Hoi An B&B and Inns
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“decor from a horror movie”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

on the plus side - receptionist was helpful, lent us bikes so that we could get back into the city (6km away).

on the minus - in the middle of nowhere, accross the road from the beach and next to the abandoned resorts, appears to be a soviet built mental facility built in concrete cubism style with bars on the windows style. We were 1 of 4 occupied rooms (out of the 60'ish). The guys that we met - also booked the hotel by accident (there is a similar sounding hotel actually in the city with good reviews). It felt like a horror movie - and we felt a strange urge to separate and check out the hotel by ourselves (remember the shining 'red rum, redum...').

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    0
    2
    12
See reviews for
1
4
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    1 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Also we booked this hotel by accident after pressing the tripadvisor link. Its in a location far away from everything! You need to bicyle 30 min to see any human life. The hotel is empty and looks like it has had better times. Do not book this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Cua Dai Beach Hotel sounded great when we booked it but unfortunately we were met with much disappointment. The hotel is right down the end of Cua Dai beach, about 15 minutes out of old Hoi An. The drive out here says it all, there's nothing around except for abandoned developments and rubbish. The taxi trip is about $6 each way, so if you add it up you're better off spending more on a nicer hotel closer to the centre.
The hotel itself lacks any atmosphere, the rooms are cold, empty and drafty and the wind howls constantly through the rooms and corridors which lends an overall creepy vibe.
We noticed most visitors who, like us, cancelled their bookings and checked out as soon as possible.
The staff seem to do their best given the circumstances, the breakfast isn't bad, there is hot water (in the leaky bathroom) and a bed to sleep in. However, it's probably best to avoid the disappointment and find something closer to town.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Like the previous review, i ACCIDENTLY booked this hotel... btw to TRIP ADVISOR staff, the link from the CUA DAI HOTEL page links to a booking page for THIS HOTEL... they are 2 separate and totally different hotels!

This is in the middle of nowhere, a desolate place, taxi driver couldn't find it. We just happened to be the ONLY guests around for the whole day and night we spent here.

The building is like a 70s Soviet mental asylum. solid concrete building that will freak you out esp when you're the only ppl here in this hotel.

But that didn't stop me and my gf. But when we came back to the hotel at night, after settling in for 5 minutes... the power went out...

HOLY crap! Now we're on the 4th storey of this absolutely empty mental asylum, in absolute darkness! I swear i heard zombie noises!

Of course the lift was also out of order when the power went out, so i had to summon up some courage and find my way slowly down to the reception! This is actually how they shoot horror movies.

It would be good to say that i got attacked by zombies... but maybe that night they weren't hungry.

Oh yeah, did i mention there was a huge crack in the door of our room and our windows had metal bars across them? I guess the mental patients in the past wanted to escape!

Anyhow, spending about half an hour in total darkness, we got the power back.

I didn't want to wait to see if the zombies would now come out... so i went to sleep. Getting eaten alive in your sleep is better i think.

To give this hotel some credit, the girl was really nice at reception in the morning, they gave us bikes for free to ride, but as for the hotel... if you're looking for a half decent hotel to stay at, don't pick this one... if you are looking for a thrill and love horror movies... then try this for a night!

Room Tip: Try the zombie room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

Should you wish to stay at a hotel in the beautiful old city of Hoi An, do yourself a favour and do not book at the Cua Dai Beach Hotel.

Everything, from the totally incompetent receptionist, to the institutionalist decor, to the bathroom with a shower that had no floor drain, to the mould on the bedroom walls, to the beds that were like planks with sheets on, to the room door that wouldn't shut properly, all point to a totally disastrous one-night stay. I made a mistake booking here - I thought I had booked at the Cua Dai Hotel (which is a very charming and well-appointed hotel right in town), not this isolated horror show out in the middle of nowhere (allegedly beside the beach, but I never saw evidence of this). I only realized my mistake when the taxi driver had pocketed his king's ransom of a cab fare and left me stranded for the night.

I was never happier to leave a hotel in my life.

Room Tip: Just don't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

Taxi scam both ways, the rudest receptionist I have ever met, and the sadest and oldest room I have ever seen. This hotel was not worth the money, and I left after one hour.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011 via mobile

We stayed for 1 night as we could not get into the hotel we thought we had booked. This place is in the
Middle of nowhere has rooms that smell and should definitely not be confused with the cui dai hotel in town.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cua Dai Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cua Dai Beach Hotel

Address: Khoi Phuoc Hai | Cua Dai St, Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cua Dai Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cua Dai Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.