We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good dispite my paranoia” 3 of 5 stars
Review of My Chau Hotel

My Chau Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hoi An
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
My Chau Hotel
4 Tran Cao Van Street | Quang Nam, Hoi An, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #94 of 109 Hoi An B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good dispite my paranoia”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

I don't usually check reviews but a friend informed me of some horrible ones just after I checked in. So I spent my time there a little paranoid I was going to have my room raided.
Luckily I did not. I did keep my key with me rather than returning it to the desk, and I declined housekeeping service while I was out.
So dispite my paranoia the place was rather pleasant and a decent price, $7/night for a single room. The girl at the desk was lovely and helped me book a tour to My Son temples, and my bus to Hue.
I did however have to ask them to come clean the toilet again as there were sticky pee spots on the seat when I arrived.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    9
    7
    10
    13
See reviews for
1
9
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

In a nut shell, dont stay at thís hotel. Stayed hểre for 2 nights an had 150 euro taken from our roôm. Another couple also had money taken from their rốom the same night as us. Coincidence?
After confronting them, they denied everything and accused ús òf lying and shouted at us in Vietnamese.

Thís hotel ís one big scam and it starts at the bús station when they try to lure you to their place.

Good location, rooms are average yet not clean.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoi An
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

I am surprised to read some of the reviews on here. I stayed here June 2012. Room was clean, with tv, and air con (both had remotes). All for $10. Not a huge room but had small closet and desk. My room was on the first floor (so up the stairs). It was quiet. Door locked fine and seemed secure. I had computer, camera, and money in my room. They have a guy who sleeps by the front door of the hotel.

Located about 10minutes from river. They rent bicycles for $1 a day.

Staff seemed friendly.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

I have stayed there 1 night.

About 10 mins from hotel to old market.
About 5 mins from hotel to Sinh tourist that is no.1 tour/transportation service in Vietnam.
SInh tourist can pick up you at the hotel.

Near to Sinh tourist, you can rent bicycle to go old market area. Actually you can walk to there.
And you can cycleing to Cua Dai beach about 4 km from old quarter.
Some local menus are waiting there in good atmosphere e.g. Cau Lao(yellow noodle with pork and soy bean sauce), My quang, Banh Can, Ngao nuong(grilled shellfish) etc.

Staffs are friendly in normal level.
Facilities are in good condition and suitable price.

You can find local foods in front of the hotel in the morning and lunch.
It's good price but you need to ask price first for food.

Hoi An people are always friendly. I love there and miss there.
It's hot city, chill and noisy in old market area.

Xin cam on,

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Rooms were nice although needs some tlc in places, I strongly urge you to get an A/C room as fans are inadequate. Staff friendly and location is pretty good being on the outskirts of old town...

Room Tip: Get A/C... fan is useless!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012 via mobile

-Run down rooms
-Bugs in the room
-Door does not lock
-Air conditioning makes you caugh
-Unfriendly staff
-Bad service
-Location ok 5 min to old town
11 USD for a double bad room without breakfast

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

PLEASE do yourself a favor and stay away from My Chau Hotel. Family members and I had our passports and hundreds of dollars stolen from a locked suitcase (most likely by hotel staff). The owner was entirely unhelpful and threatened us with further problems. After continual denial that the money/passports could have been stolen by a staff member, I mentioned that other people have had items stolen from the hotel and the response was "I know; I don't care." I've never had such a bad experience and it has sadly discolored our entire trip of Vietnam. We are now headed back to Hanoi to get new passports issued and have to cut our trip short due to loss of funds.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to My Chau Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about My Chau Hotel

Address: 4 Tran Cao Van Street | Quang Nam, Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 109 B&Bs / Inns in Hoi An

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage My Chau Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added My Chau Hotel to your Saves list