We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best day in Hoi An” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Green Bamboo Cooking School & Cafe

Green Bamboo Cooking School & Cafe
21 Truong Minh Hung, Cam An, Hoi An, Vietnam
0905.815.600
Website
Improve this listing
Useful Information: Stroller parking, Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Stroller parking, Activities for older children
Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Best day in Hoi An”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

I'm not usually interested in cooking but this was a brilliant experience. The cost was very reasonable for what amounts to almost a full day of interesting experiences and brilliant food. Van, who runs the class, is a lovely lady, so calm, knowledgeable and organised as she oversaw the preparation of 10 different meals with good humour. Her kitchen is spotless and a pleasure to work in. The preliminary trip to the market to buy ingredients was highly entertaining. There was far more food than I could ever eat, and drinks were also included in the cost, making it excellent value all round.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    644
    13
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Definately the best in Vietnam!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Wow! This is definately the best cooking school we have ever done. We wanted something authentic with a small class size that still involved you in the preparation and cooking. Pick up from hotel and then Van taking us to the market was Fantastic! Then going to her home and cooking in her kitchen was great. We had fantastic food, great company and Van was just amazing!!! Highly recommend!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Full as a goog”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Can't beat this for a full day of fun, education, companionship not to mention the amazing food. This one has it all. If you love food, it's preparation and want a real look at the way the Vietnamese purchase and prepare their meals you can't go past Van and her amazing ability to give the insight into all things food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“No breakfast required”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Yum, yum and yum. What a wonderful way to spend a day, this is the true Vietnamese food we have been looking for. We attended the cooking class as a family of 4, we all enjoyed the class and walked away happy and very full. Van is a lovely warm person that can make anyone feel comfortable in the kitchen, thanks for a wonderful day and the gifts at the end.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huesca, Spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“fantastic experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

We found Van's cooking class surfing the web and we do confirm all the positive reviews above.
The cooking class is tailored on your chooses and preferences (e.g. I eat fish sauce and seafood and Van adapted all the dishes accordingly). Shopping at the market with her was an nice and instructive experience. During class all participants (we were 7) worked as a team preparing all the dishes in a relaxed warm atmosphere. Van is a very organized and competent cook, we learn a lot and the best "Cao Lau" and "Fresh spring roll" we have had in Vietnam were actually those we prepared at Van's.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green Bamboo Cooking School & Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Green Bamboo Cooking School & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Bamboo Cooking School & Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.