We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“horrible service, bad rooms. to be if possible.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Minh Quang Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hoi An
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Minh Quang Hotel
Save
You added Minh Quang Hotel to your Saves list
551 Hai Ba Trung St., Hoi An, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #109 of 121 Hoi An B&B and Inns
1 review
“horrible service, bad rooms. to be if possible.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

we arrived at hoi an on december 29 and the city was packed with tourist so we had no chioce but to agree for the not clean, windowless and very noisy room for 12$ a night.
no windows the room gave us a constan chocked feeling, the remote for the tv did not work (not that we needed the tv but if you oay for one it should at least work) and the lady did not have a solution to offer.
we gave our luandry away only to get it back wet the day after and the lady tried to convince us it ok, only after we insisted to fet it dry woukd she take it back.
on the morning if the 31 she decided that we should check out even though we clearly stated that we would stay after jan 1st, because "we were paying to little" even though the price was ok just a few days before.
probably our worst hotel experience in vietnam so far - the greedy lying veitnamese at his worst.
AVOID IF POSSIBLE!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    2
    4
    5
    5
See reviews for
Families
0
5
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tenerife, Spain
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

We arrived in hoi an and found it to be a town built for tourists to shop.... that's not for us. We would have left immediately but we'd just got of a long night train and wanted to rest. After looking around town for a cheap room and failing we were on our way to the bus station when the lovely lady at Minh called us over. Her rooms were just 210,000. The rooms are not going to impress too much but was a good size with tv, AC and hot water. The only reason I wouldn't stay here again is the really hard bed and I'm sure a large rock would be more comfortable than the pillow provided. If your not too fussed about the bed, this is a good friendly budget hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

2 of my friends and I arrived in lovely Hoi An and were looking for a triple room in a hotel. We found a very nice one which was not available on the night, so the receptionist sent us to Minh Quang around the corner and asked us to come back the next day when she would have availabilities. She warned us that it was basic but that for one night it would be ok.
It was basic indeed, small, dark and really depressing looking. As we were tired and at $14 for a triple room close to the centre, we gave in and took the room.
Going back late in the evening, we noticed a lot of bed bugs on the beds and the floor. We asked to change room, but we were first told there were non available so we asked that they change the bed linen. They too, had bugs on them. We also saw that there were blood stains on the matresses and the pillows.
We insisted on gettting another room and they suddenly remembered there was one exactly the same just below ours.
The room had the same bugs on the floor, but a lot less on the beds, so after spraying some jungle spray around the beds, we slept fully clothes, on our towels and we just hoped they wouldn't climb on or get in our backpacks.
We were glad to go to the other hotel the next day which was great and for only $1 more.
Minh Quang is the only really bad hotel experience we have had touring Vietnam in 2 weeks.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

Although quite cheap at around $15 a night, I would not recommend staying in this hotel. The room had no windows or ventilation, leaving it feeling humid after you have a shower and also smelling terrificly like mould. We hated returning to the dirty room after a day out, and given that the curtain on the glass door was so thin, the room remained bright all night. We were also promptly awoken at 6am each morning by loud staff. Find a better place to stay and preferably in the old quarter.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

I have to start with mentioning that the people are very friendly and that the location is not bad at all. I had a horrible room with no working shower, a hardly working TV and a flooding through the ceiling when it rained. Only after asking the staff several times to fix my shower, which they forgot and did not manage to, they were willing to give me another room which was empty anyway.

The staff is very helpfull to organise tours for you, but be ware that they add quite some money to the original price, making it more worthwile to do it yourself. What's also very annoying is that the guard/repair man goes to bed at 21.30-22.00 every night and sleeps at the reception. So the area will be very dark and closed and everytime you pass him he wakes up! By the way...this is also the place where the (bad working) computers are, the only souce of internet in the hotel (no WIFI!)

Once I checked, which I indicated a day in advance, it took them ages to calculate my bill, making me almost miss my bus.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Busan, South Korea
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

I stayed here for 3 nights after leaving a terrible hotel. They don't negotiate room prices but they are fair $12-14/night. The room itself is basic. It looks a little run down but it's a place to sleep. The bathroom is alright. The family running it is very kind. I would stay here again if on a budget.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2011

Just few minutes walk outside the old town.
Basic rooms, clean and cheap.
very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Minh Quang Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minh Quang Hotel

Address: 551 Hai Ba Trung St., Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 121 B&Bs / Inns in Hoi An
Number of rooms: 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Minh Quang Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.