We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Theatre was closed” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Traditional Theater

Traditional Theater
39 Nguyen Thai Hoc Street, Hoi An, Vietnam
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 34 attractions in Hoi An
Type: Theaters
Attraction Details
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Theatre was closed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We were looking forward to this show but visited both the addresses in the guide and found no show. First place advertised nightly showing but directed us to the second address. This was closed up. Very disappointed.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    24
    7
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warkworth, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Enjoyable and entertaining.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

A delightful surprise to find this theatre, I enjoyed the performances of traditional dances and instruments that I haven't seen before anywhere else. The theatre is set in an old wooden building, giving it a great atmosphere and acoustics. The dancers and musicians all seemed very talented to my untrained eye. The performances are short and sweet so children should be able to sustain interest. Photography and video is allowed. You can buy a multi-ticket entry for the attractions in Hoi An old town, and that gets you entry to this attraction and others. Can't remember the cost exactly but I think around $6 USD pp.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Macquarie
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Cultural insight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Our big group of 21 tourists were thrilled with the music, drama and traditional dancing and singing performed by these talented people in Hoi An.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodside, CA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Traditional Theater: OK for 30 minutes”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

The usual planned "cultural" experience. Good music and costumes and earnest performer. It was crowded with large Westerners and Australians when we attended.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Authentic Vietnamese Theater”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

This is really worth visiting along with many of the other historic sites. The music was really interesting, quite different. Take a fan with you as its really hot in there!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Traditional Theater also viewed

 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Traditional Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Traditional Theater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Traditional Theater to your Saves list