We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best cooking experience!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thuan Tinh Island Cooking Tour

Thuan Tinh Island Cooking Tour
Thon 1, Cam Thanh Village, Hoi An, Vietnam
+84 90 647 77 70
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 113 activities in Hoi An
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Hands on cooking class and small class size. The 4 dishes are classics and practical to replicate at home. Enjoy a boat cruise and scenes of river life while fresh ingredients you bought at the market are cleaned and prepped. Please visit our Facebook page "Thuan Tinh Island cooking tour", and TA's Hoi An Attractions "Thuan Tinh Island".
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best cooking experience!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We had been looking forward to our cooking class and we were definitely pleased and surprised at the level of professionalism demonstrated by the entire staff. It was my husband's birthday and a highlight of his day.
The translator was very informative while showing us around the market (loved the opportunity to know what all the different herbs were called and what they looked like) and the boat ride very relaxing to see Hoi An from the river.
The chef? well what a lovely character, fun and entertaining without speaking any English!!
The facilities are some of the best I saw in our trip from Hanoi to Phu Quoc. All in all a wonderful day, the cost for value is excellent and I would highly recommend this to anyone as it is a small enough class with a lot of hands on cooking, which is what we had hoped for.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    21
    3
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A fun experience!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

Great fun!! So glad we did it! The market experience was mind boggling. We were glad to have someone help us navigate through the maze of vendors. Then onto the boat ride ....... Probably the least pleasurable part of the whole tour however it wasn't bad. The next leg was in a row boat...... It was beautiful. The lady who did the rowing was very sweet! We learned how to husk rice and make rice milk. Then the cooking began. "Tea" our cooking instructor was a sweetie. She showed us what we were making and how then she set us free at our own stations to make our own. We made 4 things and really enjoyed eating everything we made!! Great, great experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Cooking Enjoyment for all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We were a party of 8, 3 adults and 5 children and we all loved this day. The market experience, the boat trip and the whole experience of cooking such fabulous food was great fun..and this is coming from someone who hates cooking!,It is one of the highlights for me from our 3 week Vietnam trip. I have cooked the recipes again at home, it has inspired me to get back into the kitchen!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Eco Tourism at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

This is undoubtabley one of the best tourist activities we have ever undertaken. The organisation was first class, cooking instruction excellent but did not give the impression of catering for mass tourism. No hard sell, nobody trying to sell you extras, it was brilliant.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury, Australia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Best SV Activity Yet!~”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I needed some persuasion to join this full-day cooking class. My cooking has been limited to seafood and game... and even though now retired, I've been reluctant to have-a-go at anything requiring thought, patience and culinary skill. Fortunately my life partner talked me into it. The fun started at the markets, where we learned a little about the ingredients we'd use. Two river trips followed, until we arrived near the river mouth to find ourselves in a huge, very well-appointed open-air kitchen/classroom, adjacent organic vegetable gardens. Class members were an enthusiastic, lively bunch whose ages ranged from early-twenties to mid-sixties.

Thai, our guide, chef and instructor, and his assistants, demonstrated some fundamentals, including making pancake flour for pancakes, using traditional Vietnamese grinding and sifting techniques. Thai's training, assisting to run his mother's Vietnamese Restaurant in Paris, gave him an enormous breadth of cuisinery knowledge and skill, some of the subtleties of which we perceived and applied.

As an ex-chalkie, I was impressed with Thai's teaching skill, which was basically a step-by-step demonstration (and tasting); followed by us, his students, actually preparing as exact a replication as we could. Each of us had a set of typed instructions... and assistants supported our efforts if necessary. Our results varied, but even the dullest student (yours truly) managed to produce some amazing dishes. (See photos of _our_ results!)

We ended up preparing and consuming four dishes each, for a latish lunch (plus pineapple dessert), before experiencing a phenomenon I'm still unable to fathom, involving half the class... and a circular table!~ Won't spoil it for you... .

Thanks, Thai and helpers, for what has undoubtedly been our best day in South Vietnam. Not only do we better understand your culture and appreciate how several of the dishes we enjoy are prepared, but you've given us the confidence to prepare them ourselves, at home.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thuan Tinh Island Cooking Tour also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Thuan Tinh Island Cooking Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thuan Tinh Island Cooking Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Thuan Tinh Island Cooking Tour to your Saves list