We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing tour, great guide, tour, food and scenery - a must for Hoi An” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thuan Tinh Island Cooking Tour

Thuan Tinh Island Cooking Tour
Thon 1, Cam Thanh Village, Hoi An, Vietnam
+84 90 647 77 70
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 113 activities in Hoi An
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Hands on cooking class and small class size. The 4 dishes are classics and practical to replicate at home. Enjoy a boat cruise and scenes of river life while fresh ingredients you bought at the market are cleaned and prepped. Please visit our Facebook page "Thuan Tinh Island cooking tour", and TA's Hoi An Attractions "Thuan Tinh Island".
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“An amazing tour, great guide, tour, food and scenery - a must for Hoi An”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012 via mobile

I have done a few cooking classes in various countries and this was by far the best. I was nervous that the menu may be too simple, but it was not at all. Fresh spring rolls, beef noodle salad, shrimp and pork rice flour crepe and Hoi An style beef Pho. There was an endless supply of passion fruit juice too! The staff were so friendly and the guide was fantastic. It was not just a cooking class it was a cultural experience too. I would have no hesitation recommending it to men as well. This is a must do!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    21
    3
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Memorable day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

A great mix of culture, food and fun! The whole day was superb, from the trip to the fresh food market, the boat ride to the island, seeing the traditional method of separating the husk from the rice grain to rolling fresh spring rolls, tossing sizzling vietnamese crepes and preparing a fresh beef salad. A wonderful experience whether you enjoy cooking or not. And how does the spinning table work - it's magic!!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic day spent cooking and eating!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

We had a lovely half day tour with our guide Hue and the Thuan Tinh Island Cooking School team of chefs. First stop was the local market where we moved to each stall purchasing what we needed for our recipes. Next stop a boat ride to Thuan Tinh Island which was a lovely element that differientiated this tour from the rest. We then took a smaller Sampan ride to a local village and watched rice milk being made.
Back at the cooking area, we made 4 delicious dishes with nice clear instructions and chefs dedicated to all of us. We had lots of laughs and SO much food. Great value for money and fun for all ages! Highly recommended!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“First Class Cooking School”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

We booked the An Bang Beach Cooking Class at late notice for a group of 16 people and the staff at the Cooking School could not have been more accommodating, welcoming or friendly.
Every dish we cooked was demonstrated before hand with lots of information and detail so we could then cook it ourselves and every dish tasted delicious - as good as if we were in a restaurant!
The facilites by the beach were beautiful with ocean views, comfortable seating and refreshments provided as needed.
I would recommend this class to anyone - it is a wonderful way to escape the hustle and bustle of Hoi An and take some time out to indulge your appetite.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent half day outing...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

We decided to book this cooking tour at the last minute and the event was exceptional. There are many cooking classes in Hoi An, but this one was unique with a trip to the market, a boat ride to Thuan Tinh, making rice milk and cooking a four course meal outdoors.

We made traditional rice paper spring rolls, Vietnamese pancakes, beef salad and beef noodles. All were really great with ingredients we picked up from the marketplace with the chef and guide.

Our two families of four adults, five teenagers and four young kids between 7 and 10 all had a blast.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thuan Tinh Island Cooking Tour also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Thuan Tinh Island Cooking Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thuan Tinh Island Cooking Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Thuan Tinh Island Cooking Tour to your Saves list