We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous meals and service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Dragon Restaurant

Red Dragon Restaurant
332 Cua Dai, Hoi An, Vietnam
+84 91 687 75 06
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 433 Restaurants in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $1 - $10
Cuisines: Contemporary, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Bairnsdale, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Fabulous meals and service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We found this restaurant quite by accident as we wandered around the neighbourhood where we were staying. Four of us had an amazingly good lunch and the host went out of his way to make our meal enjoyable. The meals and service were so good we went back two days later with all six of our family. Definitely recommended.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    42
    10
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Put on the to do list”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Our family found the red dragon an excellent place to dine. There were many options for western and Vietnamese cuisine. Prices were on the cheaper end but the food was some of the best we have eaten in Vietnam. Their fresh chicken spring rolls are fantastic. We ate there four times in the end, trying many dishes, all of which were great. The owner speaks a little English but is friendly, gives you bottles of water when you leave and has a friendly smile. Highly recommend.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoi An
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Don't Miss the Red Dragon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

It is well worth the little taxi or bike ride to leave the old city and dine here. The food here is delicious. The service is excellent. The family that run the restaurant are lovely. The prices are very reasonable. It was our favorite restaurant in Hoi An. You will want to return so don't leave it for your last night in Hoi An.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great service, great food, handy location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Very kind family and a lot of effort went into the food and (rarely for Vietnam) it was presented well too. Well decorated, elegant indoor-outdoor feel. The waiter (who I assume is the dad!) even gave us complimentary bottles of water to take away as he saw we were on push bikes!

This place is on the way to one of Hoi An's top beaches and I would urge you to stop here for a meal, you wont regret it.

Meals about 35-90k for Vietnamese food. More if you miss your crappy Western food.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinokawa, Japan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great food away from the crowds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

I've been living in Hoi An for a few months now, and the meals that I have had at Red Dragon have been consistently good, as what I would consider as one of the best restaurants in Hoi An in the mid-price range. Their banh xeo is a must try, with the simple yet effective inclusion of mango to make for an amazing taste experience. If you're craving western food, try the carbonara - big creamy cheesy serves with real bacon.

And just today I went there for lunch, and had the Cao Lau - a dish that I almost only ever have from street stalls. It wasn't as instantaneous as a street stall, but what emerged was a huge bowl, with perfectly cooked noodles, juicy pork slices, fresh herbs and chilli, and real crispy pork rind. One of the best cao laus that I've had in Hoi An!

The service has always been with a smile, the decor comfortable, and a great place to chill out with a nice meal away from the crowds and touters. Free wifi is just a bonus!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Dragon Restaurant also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Red Dragon Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Dragon Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.