We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cool spot for a drink - review on drinks only” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Al Fresco's Restaurant

Al Fresco's Restaurant
43 Nguyen Phuc Chu, Hoi An 0000, Vietnam
+84 0510 3929 707
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #165 of 407 Restaurants in Hoi An
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A cool spot for a drink - review on drinks only”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

Disclosure: Married couple passing along (hopefully) helpful reviews as we try to see the globe, rarely visiting a place twice. Appreciate quality and value, but don't allow resource conservation to overshadow opportunity and experience.

Executive summary: Review does not account for sampling menu. Western items a bit of a turn off, there are too many incredible traditional options in Hoi An. Again, review based on drinks only. Recommend stop for at least a drink....
Pro(s): Tiger on draft (no dark beers in Vietnam), ample, comfortable outside seating closed to shopping stalls for people watching, serve NON Delat white wine (healthy pours), great service (thank you Dung).
Con: none based on drinks only.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    40
    22
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A lovely break from local scran!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

Just fancied a break from se Asian cuisine.... Saw this place advertised on local map and popped in with family for lunch. Had some really good quality western type food in a child friendly environment! All the little condiments and dips home made! Great view of Japanese bridge! Throughly recommended!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“I did not want to like it but I did.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

My nose turned up when Husband decided that this is what he wanted for his dinner. Good Grief we are in Vietnam and you want to eat in a place that could be anywhere in Australia? However Husband had just been outraged by the aggressive restaurant touts along the river talking in a broad Australian accent and referring to me as a "Shelia" and calling me "darling" so they were being punished and we were eating here.

So the menu has Mexican on it. It has italian on it too. Boy was I rolling my eyes. And ribs. Further eye rolling.

And it was absolutely delicious. Yummy. Goes to show you never can tell as the old folks said. The cool of the airconditioning was wonderful in the heat.

Fan in the toilet. Civilised in the heat.

Staff were excellent. Had started to think that the levels of English in Vietnam were just poor but no that was just in our alleged 5 star resort. Of course the Australian manager should be able to speak English but I was really impressed that the wait staff and their English.

Sangria was made with cheap wine but was yummy.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danang
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great service, food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Had a great dinner here on the balcony overlooking the crowded street below. The manager, Michael, brought us to a nice table and started by getting our drink orders. We ordered some Mexican dishes and a couple pasta dishes and a pitcher of Margaritas. The waitress was always right there offering to top up the glasses and the food service was super fast which was great because we were starving! Overall, had a very nice dinner and will be back soon! Thanks guys

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great hospitality and food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Great decentand real western fare after 10 days of pho and pseudo pizzas. Try the ribs. Buffalo wings should really be listed as Buffalo wing (yes, singular) as there was only one. Great cheap Sangria ($11) for the pitcher.. Host/Manager Michael was great help and friendly!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Fresco's Restaurant also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Al Fresco's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Fresco's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.