We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food, nice people” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Family Restaurant

Family Restaurant
108 Nguyen Thai Hoc | Ancient City, Hoi An 590000, Vietnam
+84-510-3862279
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #173 of 407 Restaurants in Hoi An
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Family Restaurant is located on the popular eat street of Nguyen Thai Hoc Street in the ancient house of Gia Dinh.Gia Dinh means “Family” and as such we respect and serve our guests as part of our extended family. We offer a wide range of cuisine - from the traditional Viet Nam to vegetarian and wide range of international dishes all prepared by our experienced chefs and served by our attentive staff.The Family Restaurant is a unique dining experience in the heart of Hoi An Ancient Town. We welcome you to our restaurant with the promise of special Viet style and tradition.
Fernhurst, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Nice food, nice people”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We ate at this place twice. the first time was our first meal in Hoi An and we found the menu had good explanations of the food for complete newcomers.and we were not disappointed with our first attempt at ordering a meal (with lots of help from a very patient staff), so much so we had our last lunch there before leaving Hoi An.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    28
    10
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Not Good At All”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

The place it's self looks nice but the food was terrible.
My girlfriend asked for a ham salad expecting the usual and I ordered a pizza. 2 simple dishes that can't really go wrong.
My pizza wasn't even warm and and was sick. The salad was just a load of meat on a plate it looked terrible and tasted worse.
Would not go here!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A warm welcome from The Family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

The Family Restaurant is in the centre of the Old Quarter in Hoi An. It is right next door to Morning Glory. You can spot Morning Glory by the queue outside.

The staff are very welcoming and the service excellent. The food is delicious and extremely reasonably priced.

I would strongly recommend that you try this restaurant during your next visit to Ho An

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A very good restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We ate at this restaurant several times and found the food to be very good and the service to be very friendly and efficient. It was also very good value for money. There is no need to queue outside Morning Glory, try this place instead.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Food was fine but service was lacking.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Family is located right next door to Morning Glory, and just up and across the street from Cargo. It's in a great location and offers a wonderful view of the Old Quarter streets from the second floor balcony. The food was good, although not the best we experienced during our two week stay in Hoi An. Service, however, was lacking. As soon as were were seated and before we had even looked at the menu, the waitress apologized for the anticipated slow service as there was a tour arriving later that evening. At that point we had the entire upper floor to ourselves so didn't appreciate there would be a problem. Well she was right, there was a problem. The food was slow in arriving, the waitress was consumed by the tour of 16 which eventually joined us up stairs, and besides taking our initial order and delivering our meals, we saw little if any of our waitress for the rest of the night.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Family Restaurant also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Family Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.