We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunflower Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sunflower Hotel to your Saves list
Sunflower Hotel
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   397 Cua Dai | Cam Chau, Hoi An 84 510, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #89 of 122 Hoi An B&B and Inns
Dublin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Great hotel a few minutes from center of town.. staff were very friendly and helpful and rooms were pretty big. Food was lovely and great pool area. you can hire bikes outside the hotel for about $1 a day.. overall great stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    267
    136
    67
    36
See reviews for
26
169
145
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

We stayed there only one night. The room was very humid (the bed felt wet for instance), the fridge was leaking, it wasn't clean, but the worst part was that there were lizards in our bathroom. Throughout the whole room there were little insects crawling on the floor. We asked for another room, they said there was none available. About the lizards she said, don't worry, they don't bite.... We know, but we still don't want them in our room!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

Good breakfast included, nice fresh egg/ omelette bar. Pool clean and comfy rooms Staff very helpful and friendly. The shuttle to centre of town is free and they will come and pick you up when you call them. Short taxi ride or rent bicycle to ride to beach.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

This place is awesome! The staff are incredibly friendly and obliging - nothing is too much effort. I have a share room with my friend and it's huge. There are 2 double beds and a single bed, air conditioning, double doors that open onto a small balcony, small fridge, wardrobe, table and chairs, tea/coffee making facilities, huge bathroom with bath, rooms changed every day with fresh linen, and the place is spotless. The beds are comfortable and the pillows better than what I have at home!!
The buffet breakfast is unreal with a great variety of foods for all tastes. There's a huge entrance area with tables, chairs, computers, cold drinks and of course the ever friendly front desk staff. There's an amazing restaurant next door,a few across the road and lots of little shops dotted along the road from here to town. The tours are a bit cheaper through a travel agent but that may change so perhaps check out prices here and with the agents. Oh yeah I forgot to mention the pool - sooo clean and inviting.
It takes about 15-20 minutes to walk into town and the old town and about 45 minutes walk to the beach. If this is too much, then bicylcles and motor bikes are for rent next door and the hotel offers a shuttle bus on the half hour to town (not the beach). There are taxis everywhere and quite cheap.
All this for $18 a night - can't go wrong especially when sharing the costs :)

Room Tip: It's such a quiet spot at night that any room would be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We originally booked another hotel, but moved after one night to the Sunflower and did not regret it. We were greeted with chilled towels and orange juice. We were also offered a pickup service via email once we had booked but never took up the offer. The staff is super friendly, helpful and competent, all spoke English. You feel well cared for and looked after. The location is very convenient halfway to town and beach. Tours, buses and taxis were booked in the hotel, which was very convenient and inexpensive. We had a superior double room. It was large, bright, clean and had a nice balcony. Wlan worked fine. The bathroom was a good size with a bath. Sheets and towels were changed daily. Minibar restocked daily and the prices for them were not overpriced, The breakfast buffet was plentiful and varied, you could even have pancakes, fried or scrambled eggs and omelettes made fresh. Pool and pool bar were very nice. All in all, a nice, clean hotel. The money is well spent, if you check in there! Highly recommended!! Only negative comment I could make would be that they do NOT accept credit or debit card payments when check out so have your Cash ready for that day

Room Tip: Balcony rooms appeared to be the best and well worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

This hotel would be getting a very good / excellent rating if it weren't for the bad attitudes i encountered with the staff. I was hardly given any info about anything on arrival and when i asked basic questions such as what time breakfast was served, whether there was tea and coffee available etc the woman on reception seemed inconvenienced and actually began a conversation in vietnamese with someone else whilst i was talking. My room was lovely, big and clean and well furnished. The breakfast was decent although i could see the kitchen from where i sat and saw staff picking up food from the floor and continuing to use it. The noise level in my room coming from the street and the rest of the hotel was annoying. Overall i would try to find somewhere else in Hoi An that has time for its customers and understands basic hygiene.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

We just stayed 4 Nights in the sunflower Hotel and had a Good Time. The rooms are really Nice and clean an the people who work here a really friendly. It is a 20 min Walk away from the Centre and a 20 min bicycle Ride from the Beach. The best Thing is the Nice Pool and the area Around it gives you a really holiday Feeling. It is a Bit more expensive (20 USD Double room) but ist includes a Big Breakfast Buffet.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunflower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunflower Hotel

Address: 397 Cua Dai | Cam Chau, Hoi An 84 510, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 122 B&Bs / Inns in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunflower Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Sunflower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunflower Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.