We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Resort service for backpacker prices” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunflower Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sunflower Hotel to your Saves list
Sunflower Hotel
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   397 Cua Dai | Cam Chau, Hoi An 84 510, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 111 Hoi An B&B and Inns
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Resort service for backpacker prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

Fantastic hotel. Nice and clean rooms, which are cleaned everyday. The buffet breakfast is the best we had in Asia. Staff is very helpful, although one lady was a bit pushy with an overpriced open tour bus to Nha Trang. Wifi did not work in the room. That said, the hotel is an absolute bargain for what you get: buffet breakfast, great rooms, a swimming pool (!) and a free shuttle service for 16$ for a double room. Shuttle buses go once every hour, but if you ask urgently they might make an exception (because it would not be sensible to wait an hour for a distance that could be walked in 15 mins). Highly recommended if you are travelling on a budget and want to splurge cheaply for a change.

Room Tip: We had a double room for 16$ booked through hostelworld. Included a free pick up from the open tour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    252
    121
    57
    25
See reviews for
26
160
133
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sussex
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

First class staff. We had a lovely few days at the hotel - lovely buffet breakfast plenty of fresh fruit seating with open doors to patio. There is a grand staircase up to the rooms which are simple but comfortable with cable TV & HBO. A free shuttle bus runs you to town and will collect - the walk isnt too far and taxis are quite cheap - but always agree the price first.

Room Tip: ask for a room at the back of the hotel as the road in front can be busy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

What a delightful hotel. My room was large & spacious. Upstairs had its own french style balcony. They say you get what you pay for - well I believe I got a lot more than I paid for. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Lovely pool & the breakfast has great variety. Free shuttle service available. Price is very reasonable. Clean & spotless. Save Room 104 for me I shall be back in 2012. Thank you all.

Room Tip: Downstairs if like me you have leg problems otherwise upstairs where the french balcony & a risi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

friendly, helpfull staffe, an excellent breakfast, clean rooms.
after the bustrip from Nha Trang to Hoi An we arrived at 6 o'clock am in this hotel, we could use our room immediately, enjoyed breakfast and swimming pool! great service

Room Tip: rooms at the fourth floor are cheaper but much smaller, best rooms at the first and second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

Never seen such quick checkin. They asked to go to our rooms & come down later to complete check in procedure...a great boon for tired travellers. Rooms are quite big with a balcony too. Excellent staff who spoke good english and made very useful suggestions. Swimming pool was an added advantage.
Free shuttle service to ancient town. Bicycle hire is just outside the hotel and it is a nice ride to the beach. Though we found it hard on the first day (we are people with very little exercise), we ended up cycling everywhere later, even forsaking the shuttle service. Bicycles are the best way to get around in Hoi An.
The staff also arranged cheap & efficient car for us to go to Hue & then drop to Danang. The conversion rates they applied were also reasonable. Service seemed to be of utmost importance to them. Really enjoyed our stay there.

Room Tip: Opt for pool side rooms & use their transport as it is way cheaper than what you'll get outs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

No lifts but have ground floor rooms, staff very helpful. Fabulous pool.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Da Nang, Vietnam
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

We needed to stay in the area for 3 weeks and we spent those weeks at the Sunflower. We looked around at about 10 other hotels and couldn't find anything that matched or was better than the Sunflower. The staff were always pleasant and helpful and there was always someone on the desk who spoke English. The brekkie was great, plenty of choice, and saved us money eating at a restaurant. We had a bigger room on the 2nd floor, plenty of room and no problems with the internet at all. Rooms were comfortable and clean, and we had a balcony. The shuttle into Hoi An was always available, just need to ring them to pick you up, but it is an easy walk. All good. Would stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunflower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunflower Hotel

Address: 397 Cua Dai | Cam Chau, Hoi An 84 510, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunflower Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Agoda, HostelBookers, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Sunflower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunflower Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.