We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot to unwind” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boutique Hoi An Resort

Save Saved
You added Boutique Hoi An Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Boutique Hoi An Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Group 6 | Block Tan Thinh Ward Cam An, Hoi An, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 80 hotels in Hoi An
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Great spot to unwind”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I am so impressed by this property and it's location that I hardly know where to start to sing it's praises. It is located right on the beach about a 10 minute drive from down town Han Oi. Free shuttle buses are provided at certain times however a taxi (metered) ride is only about $6 Aus.
When you arrive you enter a spacious reception area with lovely english speaking staff and check was efficient swift and welcoming. Downstairs from the reception is the restaurant which opens up onto an out door area overlooking the spacious manicured gardens and the swimming pool. Prices in the restaurant are quite cheap for restaurant prices but obviously not as cheap as the restaurants across the road (three of them)
Above and adjacent to reception are three stories or rooms and these would be the cheaper ones. They looked quite nice from the outside but were smaller than the more expensive rooms.
Then there are clusters of four rooms, two on the bottom and two on the top shaped around the gardens facing the pool (suggest ground floor if you can get one). Further towards the beach there are single storey top of the range rooms which are apparently very roomy and worth the price.
All buildings are well spaced and not crowded like some hotels.
The pool is large with many sun chairs, a small bar and food is available there at lunch time.
The beach is lovely with long stretches of sand, FREE lounges, with bamboo shade structures. It is patrolled by security and life guard so you do not get any hawkers. Each bed is well spaced so you are not on top of each other (eg Patong beach). There is a guy selling cold drinks. Icy cold beer was $1 Aus-- cannot complain about that. The area tends to get cooling breezes coming in over the water in the afternoon which was marvelous as it was pretty hot
The rooms are very modern with all the conveniences you could want. Huge King size bed - very comfortable with lovely pillows. Lovely toilet/shower with all toiletries supplied. Towels are changed twice a day. The room has a small writing table, central table with lounge chairs and flat screen TV-- TV has wide range of english speaking chanels. Free wifi
All staff were lovely friendly and could not do enough for us -- they are a credit to their management. Most, including front office, waiters/waitresses, life guards, pool attendants spoke and understood english.
At the front entrance to the hotel there is a small shop that sells drinks, does laundry and can organise massage pedicure manicure. Beer can = .50c Aus, four items laundered -$4 Aus, Pedicure and manicure (the best I have had anywhere including Australia,Bali Thailand) $4 each.
The only down side to this property and this is a really minor one and that is that there is no ATM or bank in the vicinity. You either have to change money at the hotel or go into downtown Hoi An to get money.
In one way I would like to keep this area a secret so that it does not get ruined by us tourists. It is nice and quiet and very little traffic outside so the horn honking is kept to a minimum. Would not suit the night clubbers or the party animals but if you want a pleasant retreat from the big city hustle/bustle and mayhem this is the place.
Breakfast has a huge selection of western and asian foods (tip try the spring rolls they are to die for)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    377
    229
    58
    8
    4
See reviews for
126
387
18
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wakefield
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is good not a boutique but smaller than a lot of hotels. Breakfast is usual Asian fare. There are additional sun beds if you ask. Please use the restaurants and ships outside significantly cheaper than hotel. Hoian is wonderful and if you miss last shuttle back is circa USD5-7 for a taxi

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

This place is truly amazing and I have lots yet to say about it !! Only been here a night but wanted to review the restaurant but cant seem to, anyway it was the most amazing meal we had tonight, we booked a table for our family of 14 and wow did these guys deliver !!!!! We stayed the last 3 nights at Fusion Mia, and had to wait 30 minutes for a drink yet when we dined here these guys had drinks on our tables straight away ! The food was also truly 5 star !!
This place is amazing value for money and we know its fully booked and even though we could not get a lounge chair around the pool or the beach its is not the the resorts fault, the staff tried so hard to find us a seat. Fantastic place and we highly recommend !!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, Cheshire, UK
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We spent 4 nights here in April 2013 and it was just what we needed during our Vietnam tour, it offers a real oasis of calm. The hotel is in the colonial style, with buildings around a lovely pool, ideal for a cooling dip after a hot humid day in Hoi An.

We had a deluxe room, which was in one of the 4 room bungalows around the pool, with our patio door about 15 metres from the pool. This was great in so many ways, but as other reviewers have mentioned, the lack of blinds or curtains meant you were either totally on display to those around the pool or you have to have the curtains shut for privacy.

While we're on curtains....I need a room to be dark to sleep well, and the hotel has blackout curtains on the main patio windows in the bedroom, which is great. Less great is that the door to the bathroom is a glass saloon door, and in the bathroom there is a floor to ceiling window with no blind. End result is that when the sun was up, so was I!

Breakfast was good, with plenty of choice. Staff were friendly and helpful, and the shuttle bus to town is well run. We ate dinner at the hotel one night, but it was frankly a bit bland and at twice the price you'll pay for genuinely great food in town, I wouldn't bother unless you really can't do otherwise.

Overall, it was a good experience and I would recommend. It is a haven of serenity in what can be quite a frantic country.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This hotel is ideal for couples looking for some R&R while touring Indochina. We thought the best accommodation was the single story rooms set in the gardens away from the main building. These give immediate access to a patio with chairs and table and the pool while the beach is just a 2 minute stroll away. As often the case, not enough sun loungers for all who want one but the staff did their best, carrying some onto the beach from beside the pool.
We only eat breakfast at the hotel which was extensive and well presented.
We found the staff helpful and the shuttle bus to town meant we could easily visit the restaurants and shops in Hoi An, a charming town. Outside shuttle bus times an inexpensive taxi ride is the other option.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, UK
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

the staff will be their in a minute if you need help , but dont crowd you.....great
You must take advantage of the free bike hire, remember some water and dont go out when the mad dogs are all out noon till 2 at least...you will melt.
The mini bus drop off is also free makes a big difference.
My wife and i loved it. Magic staff my light in my room would not work 5 minutes latter repaired no hassels

Room Tip: high up to watch the sea through the palm trees...Large 4x 3 meter ballconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

The word Boutique conjures up images of a small, beautifully designed hotel with a unique and individual feel. This hotel has none of that. It's a large hotel that caters for coach trips and feels like any other similar hotel around the world. That's not necessary a problem but people should be aware of this.

The hotel is exceptionally clean, the rooms are big, the grounds are lovely and the pool is nice and big. It's also right on the beach with loungers available for hotel guests. We ate a few times at the pool bar and the food was exceptional. Breakfast was extensive with a large choice.

It is out of town but they have a free shuttle bus which runs every couple of hours. If you want to go into town outside of these times they also offer a taxi service (although you will need to pay for this).

The only negatives would be the low standard of English amongst the staff (they simply didn't understand the most basic of questions). Considering the vast majority of guests were English or Australian this needs to be improved. Also as many other people have pointed out if you get a room on the ground floor it has large, floor to ceiling windows with no net curtains. Our room was a few meters away from the pool so we ended up having to keep the curtains closed the whole time as people could see straight in. My advice would be to request an upper floor room.

One final point would be about the spa. I went to have nail polish reapplied and the girl who did this, although lovely, clearly wasn't trained and I could have done this better myself. There was no undercoat or topcoat and the polish was full of air bubbles and was smudged.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor room as there is no privacy on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boutique Hoi An Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hoi An Resort

Address: Group 6 | Block Tan Thinh Ward Cam An, Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Hoi An
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Hoi An
#9 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
#12 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#14 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Boutique Hoi An Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is set on the renowned ‘Cua Dai Beach’ Hoi An. With its central location, the resort is only 35 minutes from Da Nang airport and 5 minutes to explore the old heritage town of Hoi An. The ancient town of Hoi An, 30 km south of Da Nang, lies on the banks of the Thu Bon River. Occupied by early western traders, Hoi An was one of the major trading centers of Southeast Asia in the 16th century.Hoi An has a distinct Vietnamese atmosphere with low, tile-roofed houses and narrow streets; the original structure of some of these streets still remains almost intact. All the houses were made of wood, decorated with lacquered boards and panels engraved with old ancient characters. Pillars were also carved with ornamental designs. Hoi An have earned the town status as a heritage site by the UNESCO and has become a very popular tourist destination in Vietnam.All rooms are facing the sea with private balconies and some have direct access to the beach from private terraces. Room facilities featured single and double vanity, bathtub or shower, air-conditioning, television, IDD telephone, mini bar, safety box, hairdryer, wireless internet, coffee and tea making facilities. A large swimming pool is in the center of the resort surrounded by a tropical garden. A spa, located next to the pool, is a haven for pure relaxation and rejuvenation. Our spa facilities include three treatment rooms, five massage pavilions and two steam rooms. Pedicure and manicure services are also available at our resort’s spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Boutique Hoi An Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boutique Hoi An Hotel Hoi An

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boutique Hoi An Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.