We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Boutique Hoi An Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Boutique Hoi An Resort to your Saves list
Boutique Hoi An Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lac Long Quan St, Cua Dai Beach | Block Tan Thinh Ward Cam An, Hoi An, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 95 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mountain View, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

First time we came in this hotel in November 2011, it was great so I decide to come back for a longer stay with my family. What a disppointment ! All our 3 rooms had issues, sink clogged, plugs coming out of their fixtures, air condition broke down. The personel told us they made us a "favor" upgrading one of our rooms because of the sink. This was quite surprising for a new hotel and such a difference when I came with my Westerners friends. Don't try to come there with people with less mobility, you'll be surprised where the elevator to the dining room leads ... a "staff only" corridor with laundry.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    503
    287
    74
    8
    4
See reviews for
160
508
22
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antalya, Turkey
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Me and my partner stayed in this resort last May 24-27, 2012. With both of us working in the hotel industry, I could say that we are very hard to please. But Boutique Hoi An Resort did not disappoint.

Check-in: fast and hassle free

Rooms: Decent size, with a very nice comfortable bed. Verandah was overlooking the pool and a bit of the beach could be seen from there too. it would be a great idea to add an ashtray and an inconspicuous clothesline for the drying our wet bathing suits. Bathroom's rainshower head is lovely. I would suggest to put the complimentary jars of shampoo and conditioner inside the shower cubicle and not beside the toilet sink so that it's accessible.

In-room dining: Menu was good, quality of food is good too. Gets delivered to our room fast enough.

Breakfast buffet: Not the best breakfast buffet I've ever experienced, but still quite satisfying. Essentials are available such as bread, omelettes, fresh fruit juices, cheeses. They also serve pho for breakfast.

Pool: This I think is the highlight of the hotel. Huge pool. Poolside bar. Plenty of lounge chairs available.

Spa: I'm a spa addict. I am quite disappointed with their spa. I had a full body massage, and my therapist has inexperienced hands. I spent a lot of time wincing. The resort gave a free voucher for a foot massage during check-in. When I was trying to set appointment for it, the lady in the reception said: not possible tonight, full. not possible tomorrow morning, full. Oh well, maybe because it's complimentary.

Shuttle: the receptionist upon check-in will give you a paper with the shuttle's schedule to and from the old town of Hoi An. Don't lose it. It is very useful.

Service: except for the staff in the Spa, our overall opinion of the staff's service is excellent. Requests are done immediately, staff are very courteous and professional. They are there when you need them, but they automatically disappear when you need privacy.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

My Wife and I stayed here 27 May to 3 June 2012. We had a great stay. The Hotel is very modern and only a year or so old. Check in was smooth and we were made welcome with the obligatory welcome drink. We were upgraded to the Deluxe poolside room which was very nice indeed, ultra modern but could have been better had little things like international plug sockets been used. the bathroom was very nice with some nice toiletries including body lotion, toothbrush & paste, sewing kit etc. Tea and Coffee making facilities in the room were good. The bed was a king bed and very comfortable. The room was spotless clean and the wardrobe was adequate if not small and could have done with some form of a drawer.

There is free Wi-Fi throughout the resort.

Breakfast was good, plenty of choice centred around the egg bar, where eggs any style are prepared to order, some great Asian food like Pomelo salad were on offer as well as rice and noodles and all the standard European fare.

The pool is great; there is also a small kiddie’s pool although there is no shade to the kiddie’s pool which would have been nice given the strong sun. The staff around the pool are very helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them. There is a nice pool bar with happy hour wine starting at 5pm. It seems the hotel have this a little wrong as most "happy hours" around pools begin a little earlier around 4pm which would have suited most people returning from trips out etc. instead they had an hour by the pool and then went to their rooms to change ready for the 6pm shuttle so happy hour never really got going. The food by the pool was okay given its a hotel and expected to be a little more expensive than the food in Hoi An itself. It worked out at £3 for Pho and around £6 for a burger ++ (plus VAT & Service charge). A draft beer was £1.40, and a bottle/can £1.90, a Coke was also around £1.80 all ++.

The beach is beautiful, 25 mile of white sand, the famous China Beach stretches from Da Nang down to Hoi An, there was odd fisherman on the beach who were happy to show you their catch. There are a couple of disused coracles which look quite nice. Looking out to sea you can see Cham islands on the horizon. The hotel has a life guard on the beach along with sun beds and plenty of much needed shade.

There is a Spa which my wife used and enjoyed which is reasonable priced.

We ate in the hotel one night and were the only people in the restaurant, we had a Vietnamese set menu and it was nice food well presented.

Across the road from the hotel are a number of local restaurants who make great food and can't do enough for you, the food and drinks are a third of the price in the hotel. You can have laundry done at these places for 30,000VND a Kilo (£1) with a 24 hour turnaround. Next to the Hotel (on the left) you can buy beer and soft drinks for 50p and 30p respectively. Handy to have in the fridge in the room.

The shuttle bus works really well going into Hoi An and back during the day for free. The last returning at 9.30pm and often more than one shuttle bus would turn up to ferry everyone back. Its a 10 to 15 minute drive and although you can get a taxi we didn't need to.

All in all a great stay and would recommend to all.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for a week in the resort for a friends wedding and was upgraded to one of the poolside rooms. Was sharing with a friend and the bathroom doors didn't offer much privacy

Other than that it was lovely, we spent a lot of time lying by the pool getting drinks delivered. The shuttle to the town was very convenient and if there wasn't one it was only about $US5 for a taxi.

Had a a massage as well which was amazing.

Only ate there a couple of times but the food was good, drinks were a little over priced but to be expected in a resorts and they were still cheap compared to home.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012 via mobile

We booked the 2 night summer package. The room was well appointed and the resort facilities excellent. The evening meal was very disappointing when compared with much cheaper meals we had in Hoi An. It lacked flavour and made very little use of fresh herbs and vegetables. The food and drink prices are so high that virtually no one stays in the hotel in the evening, hence the restaurant has no turnover or atmosphere. Beware the ++ on the bill. It is actually an additional 15.5% on all advertised prices.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

The Boutique Hoi An Resort is about 10mins from the Hoi An town, located on a very nice stretch of beach. We were upgraded to a bungalow room just off the infinity pool. The room and overall property were all very clean. Our room had a rain shower which was very nice. However, the shower had no door so water tended to leak out onto the bathroom floor. Other than that, the room was excellent and comfortable.

During our trip, 4 out of 5 days were filled with blue skies, so lounging on the beach under a grass shade was extremely tranquil and relaxing. The pool is very well maintained and offered a refreshing break from the afternoon sun. Plus, the free shuttle to the town was very convenient. The breakfast buffet was very good also.

The staff were all very attentive and friendly. Upon arrival, the front desk staff offered a welcome drink and explained the resort facilities.

Not having any expectations before arrival, we were very impressed with the property and the value for the price we paid. Excellent stay!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Great Customer Service, Fantastic Pools and good spa facilities. All in all an excellent value for money. Definitely recommend to stay here. If I ever visited Hoi An again, I would come back.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boutique Hoi An Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hoi An Resort

Address: Lac Long Quan St, Cua Dai Beach | Block Tan Thinh Ward Cam An, Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Hoi An
#11 Luxury Hotel in Hoi An
#15 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Boutique Hoi An Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is set on the renowned ‘Cua Dai Beach’ Hoi An. With its central location, the resort is only 35 minutes from Da Nang airport and 5 minutes to explore the old heritage town of Hoi An. The ancient town of Hoi An, 30 km south of Da Nang, lies on the banks of the Thu Bon River. Occupied by early western traders, Hoi An was one of the major trading centers of Southeast Asia in the 16th century.Hoi An has a distinct Vietnamese atmosphere with low, tile-roofed houses and narrow streets; the original structure of some of these streets still remains almost intact. All the houses were made of wood, decorated with lacquered boards and panels engraved with old ancient characters. Pillars were also carved with ornamental designs. Hoi An have earned the town status as a heritage site by the UNESCO and has become a very popular tourist destination in Vietnam.All rooms are facing the sea with private balconies and some have direct access to the beach from private terraces. Room facilities featured single and double vanity, bathtub or shower, air-conditioning, television, IDD telephone, mini bar, safety box, hairdryer, wireless internet, coffee and tea making facilities. A large swimming pool is in the center of the resort surrounded by a tropical garden. A spa, located next to the pool, is a haven for pure relaxation and rejuvenation. Our spa facilities include three treatment rooms, five massage pavilions and two steam rooms. Pedicure and manicure services are also available at our resort’s spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Boutique Hoi An Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boutique Hoi An Hotel Hoi An

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boutique Hoi An Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.