We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boutique Hoi An Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Boutique Hoi An Resort to your Saves list
Boutique Hoi An Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Group 6 | Block Tan Thinh Ward Cam An, Hoi An, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 82 Hotels in Hoi An
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Great value for money !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

My partner and I stayed at this hotel for a week in Jan this year and we enjoyed our stay very much. It was quite new back then. Only opened a few months and some of the hotel staff were still under training. Yes, occasionaly they make mistakes, mess up your orders or speak poor english. But everything was made up with their big smile and genuine attitude . We had no problem at all. Because the hotel was brandnew there were not many people yet all along ( around 10 maybe). We ended up seeing the same people over and over again at breakfast, at the pool and at the beach. And nobody around the rest of the time. LOL. It was awesome ! It's almost like you have the entire resort for yourself. The food at this resort is beautiful. Cocktails are surprisedly cheap. I guess overall, Vietnam is cheap. We stayed at a beach front villa with ocean at our door step. Loved the outdoor shower on the beach and listening to the wave at night with the front door open ... HEAVEN ! The room is simple, elegant and stunning. The spa is very very good apart from people at the spa don't speak much english. The hotel shuttle is super. Take you to busy downtown anytime you want and pick you up and take you back to the hotel after. We were so glad that we didn't stay at any hotel near the Hoi An Ancient Town. The shops there are cool, shopping is fun and restaurants are amazing. But we would prefer to stay on the quiet beach area and only get into chaos downtown whenever we feel like to. It's a vacation after all . I look forward to returning to this hotel in the future and I believe this hidden gem will shine and just fine. (P.S. do grab the little guidebook at the airport when you arrive. It is written by an American lady and we found it's so useful and we called it the "Hoi An Bible" ! Enjoy ! )

Room Tip: Beach Front !
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    233
    62
    8
    4
See reviews for
131
404
18
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

Upon arrival the foyer and outlook to the pool and ocean is exactly as you see on the website, in fact it is probably more impressive when you are in the moment! We were offered refresher towels & a lovely welcome drink upon arrival, customary in Asia. We booked one of the 2 bed family villa's located directly on the beach, only a strip of grass and the sand separates you from the ocean. The bedrooms are spacious, each with their own bathroom (main bedroom has a shower which is over the bath so not used), the main living area has a dining table, armchair & sofa which unfortunately we never really used as the furnishings are not designed to "lounge",however still lovely and tasteful. Additionally (as stated in other reviews) the TV's are in the bedrooms so typically on a holiday, watching TV and "hanging-out" in the lounge area would be the norm for a family, we were limited to the bedrooms. An outdoor balcony area off the main bedroom and living area was also great with doors opening directly onto the grass just metres from the ocean. Of course, typically we would have been at the pool enjoying the beautiful outdoor space this resort has to offer, however we unfortunately experienced inclement weather associated with 2 typhoons so were limited to in-room activity and a bit of swimming (it was still quite hot). The channel choices were limiting and there was no DVD player so tricky with young children if you haven't brought your own portable DVD player. The staff were very helpful and the resort grounds were clean and secure. The staff also ensured that we were updated on the typhoon / weather details assuring us that our safety was of the utmost priority which was reassuring (we experienced an intense storm on our first night which was frightening). The menu options for lunch & dinner were adequate with the standard choices of burgers / club sandwich / child menu's available to those who preferred Western to the delicious Vietnamese choices on offer, however prices are far higher than that of the great restaurants in Hoi An Town. Breakfast was limiting and the menu should be reviewed to bring this resort up to the standard it could be. Location wise this resort is only a short taxi ride (AUD5) from Hoi An Ancient town. Although the resort is a year old, there are a few things that need to be done to bring it up to 5* which it could easily be, as they say the "devil is in the detail" and there is some detail lacking. Overall though, should we go back to Hoi An, we would not be opposed to staying at the Boutique Hoi An resort only if rates reflected its 3* standard (we paid a total of USD50 more for 2 adjoining rooms at the Intercontinental in Saigon and this was definitely a 5 star experience). I would rate the Boutique Hoi An a 3star by normal hotel standards but benchmarking it against other properties in this area, it is by far the most superior property other than the very luxe Nam Hai down the road. There is definitely a short-fall of great accommodation choices along the beachfront in this region, the larger hotel chains are quickly moving in to close that gap between the 6* Nam Hai and the rest this region has to offer. Would recommend a Hoi An stay for 3-4 days which is more than enough to cover this lovely area. BTW, visit nearby Marble Mountain, the Buddha cave was a lovely and unexpected find. For a family, the Boutique Hoi An is okay, there is no other activity for children apart from the pool or beach. I imagine with sunshine and good weather this resort would offer a charming holiday to anyone. Although I have rated this average, please note for the region this resort would be above average, however once the Hyatt etc opens, I anticipate they will have to raise their standard considerably to survive in this area.

Room Tip: Recommend families book early to secure the limited 2 bed villas. For couples book higher floors in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

We stayed at Boutique for 4 nights. 2 nights in the Boutique Delux room (1/2 a villa). It really wasn't big enough for 2 adults, a child & a baby. So we swapped to a beach villa which was huge! 2 bedrooms, living/dining & 2 bathrooms. I think they’d do better to have more beach villas as they seemed to be the rooms in demand while the others weren't full. Beds are firm & sleep quality is very high!
Location, as their www states, is on the beach just 5km's to Hoi An. I'm so glad we were on the beach & away from the over zealous shop keepers in town. One needs a refuge after being in town.
Housekeeping. We continually had to ask for bath towels as we were given 3 for 4 people. As a rule of thumb if there are 2 adults staying in a room 3 towels should be available. Women mostly need an extra one for their hair. Children definitely need one each no matter their age! The rooms could have been cleaner, sheets were just smoothed rather than changed, under the bed was not cleaned in awhile (I was checking for lost toys not dirt!).
My spa treatment, foot reflexology & a Vietnamese massage was very very good. The staff here were all very good. However halfway through my reflexology, which was held outside, some of the male grounds staff decided to have a break lying on the massage bed opposite & chatted away. I thought this was completely inappropriate & unprofessional.
The pool was lovely & cool in temperature. However they allow no diving & no jumping. Not everyone likes to slip quietly into a pool or walk in from the shallow end. So the no jumping was largely ignored by most. Especially the kids! While it looks great the edge is dangerous as you have to step over pebbles & onto the tiled edge to get in and out, be careful of the tiled edge as it’s very sharp!! A man cut himself quite badly & the kids had loads of bruises. No complimentary water was served at the pool (very unusual in Asia).
There is nothing for kids to do at Boutique except swim (not jump) in the pool & at the beach. Be careful of rubbish on the beach, I picked up a razor blade one day!
Dining was a chore. The English of the staff was lacking so whatever we asked for that was in slight variation to the menu was too much to handle. EG the toddler wanted a plain pasta one night, no meat just cheese, this wasn’t a problem according to the waitress who took the order & repeated it to us. Then she delivered precisely what we hadn’t ordered. Frustrating Every Time! At breakfast (& at the pool lunchtime dining area) was a waitress who was so over bearing in her manner that she virtually sat with us. She would admire the toddler & try to cuddle her etc which is very nice but she didn’t learn that it became too much! Even when the toddler was clinging to me telling the lady to go away, she still kept touching her & even taunting her & following her until she cried!! It was so uncomfortable for us & especially the child. She really needs a lesson in social awareness.
Also the kids under 12 eat free is a bit hmmm. The kids menu is pretty much western & deep fried. Our child would rather a Pho than anything like that so we ended up paying for him anyway. They should have child size Vietnames dishes & a range of western. Happy balance.
No newspapers delivered to the room.
Overall it was a nice stay but definitely not 5 star. I think the well seasoned traveller will see that.
I would perhaps stay again but not with kids under, say, 13. They're a young hotel I hope they can improve quickly!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

We stayed at the Boutique Hoi An Resort for four nights last week. From the moment we arrived and were greeted warmly, given hot towels and a lovely cool drink, we knew we had chosen the best place to stay in Hoi An.

We booked this hotel back in January and because our booking was early we were upgraded at that time to a Boutique Deluxe Room. These rooms are in villas set in the grounds with one other room next door. They are very spacious with a king size bed, sofa, writing table and chair and a large bathroom. There is an outside terrace with 2 chairs and a table.

The bed is comfortable though hard which seems to be the style in all good Vietnamese hotels. The air conditioning is quiet and the bathroom is divided into a shower, toilet and the vanity has two wash basins. The only thing missing from the room was an iron and ironing board. There are two great golf umbrellas which we used every day.

Unfortunately, we struck the rain from 2 typhoons so it was wet each day we were there. The only day we awoke to a clear sky, was the day we were leaving. We did manage to go for a walk along the beach that morning. The sand is soft and and there are umbrellas and chairs to sit under if you prefer the beach to the pool. From our walk, we found that the Boutique Resort was the nicest of the 4 or 5 other resorts we saw.

The shuttle is great and takes about 10 minutes into the centre of Hoi An. It is free and runs about 5 or 6 times a day. If you miss the shuttle at either end, the taxi fare is only $4. Hoi An is great for buying and having clothes made as well as leather jackets and shoes. It also has good restaurants at around $30 for two or even less depending on where you eat.

We ate out at Morning Glory and Cargo which are owned by the same owner. Both times we were given great tables upstairs on the balcony. We also had two dinners at the hotel and of course breakfast each morning. The dinners were fine but we preferred to eat out in the town for more variety and of course half the price. Also the wine list at the hotel was quite sparse. Due to the wet weather this was the reason we ate at the hotel on two nights.

The staff are wonderful and cannot do too much for you. The hotel is only a year old and everything is in pristine condition. We saw the resort at its worst, with rain coming down in buckets and huge winds and yet we loved our time there. I can only imagine how perfect it would be in good weather. If ever we plan another trip to Vietnam, we will put the Boutique Hoi An Resort on our must see again list.

Room Tip: I would definitely book a Boutique Deluxe Room for the size and privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

We stayed at Boutique for 4 nights at the end of our Vietnam trip. We were blown away when we entered the foyer, beautifully decorated and lovely helpful staff. Our room was clean and the bed was enormous. We only stayed in the main block, so the smaller more expensive rooms must have been even better! The hotel has free bicycles that we rode in to the outskirts of town easily, however any further and you must get a taxi or use the shuttle. Even when there were too many people on the shuttle the hotel paid for our taxi to get us in to town. When our transfer to the airport didn't show up on time, they were too happy to help. The pool was beautiful and clean and the lifeguard brought you towels and was always so friendly. The beach was pristine and the grounds of the hotel are immaculate. The breakfast is plentiful and varied with plenty of room to sit no matter what time you showed up - although depending on the staff will depend on whether you have to beg for a coffee or not! The only criticism would be that being in the main block, the doors are not all that sound proof and you could clearly hear noise (not that it is that frequent so far out of town) coming from nearby (music and voices), but it certainly wasn't that awful. The hotel does lack some atmosphere in its restaurants and bars and you would most likely prefer to go in to town for your main meals and stick to the hotel mainly for breakfast. We would easily recommend this picturesque hotel that would suit both couples, groups and families.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Badhoevedorp, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights. The rooms are very nice and kept very clean.
The hotel has a nice pool and you walk straight up to the beach to make a nice evening walk.
It is a bit far from Hoi An itself, but the hotel offers a great shuttle service (every 2 hours) and on very convenient times. It is a very god place to stay when going to Hoi An.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

This hotel is around 40mins out of Da Nang airport but just a short distance from Ho An. The welcome we received at the Hotel was fantastic, after a cool drink and refresher towel and a very organised reception we were taken to our rooms. The rooms are very clean and are a good size. While the beds were a little hard on the back we did find this in most of the hotels we travelled to in Vietnam. We stayed in Boutique Deluxe Rooms and also the two bedroom villa for a couple of nights. The villa had a bath but this was built high up and was difficult to not only get into but extremely difficult to get out of as it doesn't have a step. If you have problems with mobility this is not the room for you. The shower came out of the wall over the bath but the water had nowhere to go so seeped off the edge of the bath and into the bedroom from the floor so be aware of this. The position of the hotel is fantastic a quick couple of kilometres to the centre of town - taxis are always available as is a free hotel shuttle at different times of the day. The pool is fantastic and crystal clear and there is a little pool for smaller children. The beach is accessed via the back of the hotel and you have your own little beach area right out the back. The day spa provides a good relaxation massage and you can get some good priced packages. The hotel staff are really helpful especially Van who went above and beyond to find things we were having difficulty getting hold of. He was the one that said yes when other staff said no they couldn't do it. The only downfall would be that the buffet breakfast was not as good as other hotels we went to but all in all would definately recommend this hotel. We were on a family trip and everyone enjoyed themselves and liked the accommodation.

Room Tip: If you are less mobile do not take a villa room as the bath/shower is not easily accessible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boutique Hoi An Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hoi An Resort

Address: Group 6 | Block Tan Thinh Ward Cam An, Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Hoi An
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Hoi An
#10 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
#13 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#14 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Boutique Hoi An Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is set on the renowned ‘Cua Dai Beach’ Hoi An. With its central location, the resort is only 35 minutes from Da Nang airport and 5 minutes to explore the old heritage town of Hoi An. The ancient town of Hoi An, 30 km south of Da Nang, lies on the banks of the Thu Bon River. Occupied by early western traders, Hoi An was one of the major trading centers of Southeast Asia in the 16th century.Hoi An has a distinct Vietnamese atmosphere with low, tile-roofed houses and narrow streets; the original structure of some of these streets still remains almost intact. All the houses were made of wood, decorated with lacquered boards and panels engraved with old ancient characters. Pillars were also carved with ornamental designs. Hoi An have earned the town status as a heritage site by the UNESCO and has become a very popular tourist destination in Vietnam.All rooms are facing the sea with private balconies and some have direct access to the beach from private terraces. Room facilities featured single and double vanity, bathtub or shower, air-conditioning, television, IDD telephone, mini bar, safety box, hairdryer, wireless internet, coffee and tea making facilities. A large swimming pool is in the center of the resort surrounded by a tropical garden. A spa, located next to the pool, is a haven for pure relaxation and rejuvenation. Our spa facilities include three treatment rooms, five massage pavilions and two steam rooms. Pedicure and manicure services are also available at our resort’s spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Boutique Hoi An Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boutique Hoi An Hotel Hoi An

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boutique Hoi An Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.