We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad if you've had enough local food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Green Chili

Green Chili
122 Nguyen Thai Hoc, Hoi An, Vietnam
+84(0)510 3928199
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #140 of 432 Restaurants in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $22
Cuisines: Italian, Mexican, American, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Entertaining clients, Romantic, Families with children, Doing business, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Not bad if you've had enough local food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We visited Green Chilli as my young daughter had been looking for a break from the traditional local (I have no idea why, as we had been eating very well at places like the Secret Garden). Apparently you need to book, although they did manage to find us a table (interesting as when we arrived, there was almost no one there). The pasta was nice, but it wasn't anything particularly special. I guess that's one of the issues when you are trying to cook Western food in Vietnam, as it is very difficult to produce really fantastic dishes given you are working with produce that is not local - and they charge a little more as well for the privilege. If you are looking for Western food, then this is the place, but there's better traditional food options around the old quarter. The service was a little slow as well, again a surprise given no one was there.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    72
    27
    16
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“overrated, long wait and cold food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Went as part of a group to this restaurant as had been recommended by our tour leader. The pasta dishes looked nice and the chef was lovely making an effort to come round to all the tables... But from getting there we had hour and half wait for food and any food that wasn't pasta came cold. Because we waited so long we didn't want to send it back, but were disappointed, for as well as cold the meals were bland and dry. Not worth the higher prices!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Cook Nando took care our group as being his family! His Tex Mex food is excellent. We ate here 2 dinner meals. Delicious. Recommendation: try the soft tacos.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Highly recommend a cooking class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We heard that Hoi An was the place to do a cooking class. On walking around the streets investigating this we found Green Chili. It was moderately priced (from memory $25-30/person), and it was just the two of us and the chef. We got our own aprons, chef hat and away we went.
We cooked - traditional vietnamese spring rolls, vietnamese pancakes and fish cooked in banana leaf.

Absolutely delightful, and we were allowed to take away the recipes.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Ireland
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
“Not as good as hoped”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Nice reception from Nando - trying perhaps a little too hard.

We were looking for a break from Vietnamese cuisine after 10 days and decided to try Mexican food. Overall tastes were bland and food quite expensive compared to other options. Preferred Gamesh Indian restaurant ...

My daughter ate her usual noodles & chicken which was the tastiest food on our table - but then you don't come here for local food...

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green Chili also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Green Chili? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Chili, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.