We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top steak and king prawns” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Green Chili

Green Chili
122 Nguyen Thai Hoc, Hoi An, Vietnam
+84(0)510 3928199
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #140 of 432 Restaurants in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $22
Cuisines: Italian, Mexican, American, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine, Doing business, Bar scene, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Headcorn, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Top steak and king prawns”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

Brilliant atmosphere and great food too! Lots of interaction with the cooking staff, who were ever-ready to come and explain the dishes. Had a monster steak with dodgy mashed potato, but the king prawns were awesome! Reasonable price and a good choice of beers.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    72
    27
    16
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Glad we stopped to look at menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We have walked past this restaurant for the last week or so. Did not even bother to read the menu. Then tonight we wanted something different and saw on their menu ""Prawns cooked in special sauce".

We were greeted warmly by the waiter and seated where we could get a breeze. Drinks came almost immediately after we ordered along with the menu. Next minute the head chef came out with several plates showing us how fresh the extra large prawns were, the steak and some really fresh fish. We decided on the prawns and the gentleman helped us decide how we would like them cooked. My husband opted for Italian with fresh pasta and a lovely sauce while I had a more traditional Vietnamese meal of prawns served with morning glory and rice.

This was one of the best meals we have had over in Vietnam - service excellent, prices a little on the high side for Hoi An but worth every dong.

What made the service so good was the chef explaining all the ingredients to us. Made a memorable meal.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We visited on a quiet evening. The service was good and the food brilliant. Great big prawns and delicious beef with lemongrass and chilli. Loved it!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Pretty flawless - tasty food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

We got here early and it was a bit empty, the price is on the higher end for hoi an but it doesn't disappoint. The service is fantastic, enthusiastic & efficient ( army of waiters here). Most importantly the food was excellent and couldnt fault the enchiladas. All at the table were happy and satisfied. Towards the end of the meal this place buzzed up big time. Enjoy

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Excellent zervice food go high standard. Tried to book to morning glory but cant know



how h2 beat this restaurant

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green Chili also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Green Chili? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Chili, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.