We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A labyrinth of charming rooms and spaces” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ancient House River Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ancient House River Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Ancient House River Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Hamlet 2, Cam Thanh ward, Hoi An 84 510, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #68 of 95 Hotels in Hoi An
Montpellier, France
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A labyrinth of charming rooms and spaces”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The site is very cleverly organised fitting in a pool, a spa (very good massage), a restaurant and lots of charming rooms in a luxurious garden and with the feel or an rambling old house. We stayed in a suite on the top floor which was very large, well appointed and very comfortable and beautifully decorated. There were the full range of services (kimonos, slippers, fruit and welcome cakes, kettle, wifi). The room was beautifully decorated with paintings and sculptures and black wooden furniture.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    123
    26
    5
    3
See reviews for
51
165
19
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed for 9 nights at the ancient house river resort with two young children aged 3 and 15 months and had a wonderful time.
Positives: absolutely amazing staff. I cannot express enough how the staff went out of their way to accommodate us, make us comfortable and ensure our stay was the best it could be. We have stayed in many hotels of varying stars across the world and this place had the most sincere and lovely people working here that we can remember. Really what makes the resort what it is. Especially the three ladies who work in reception were wonderful.
Hotel is small but rooms are very large and comfortable and very clean. Pool was lovely as well. It is set in a quiet and rural setting which is a 20 mins leisurely bike ride or about 10 mins by taxi/free shuttle. We stayed in one of the suites with the adjoining living area, which with the kids was perfect.
Negatives: the food in the restaurant is not a patch on anything you can get in Hoi an. The breakfast was adequate but quite a few days we cycled in and grabbed breakfast at Cargo bakery. The restaurant needs to dramatically Improve the quality of the food. however the setting on the river is lovely.
The rooms are slightly unusual in its set up with the shower within the room and only separated by a curtain. However, again we did not find it too much of an issue.

Overall we had a wonderful stay. Everyone slept fantastically in the very comfortable beds and very peaceful set-up.
We were left with such a wonderful
Impression of hoi an, vietnam and the Vietnamese people and that was to a very large part due to the wonderful people at the hotel.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MissThuy, Giám đốc quan hệ khách hàng at Ancient House River Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Forster richard John, Ella, Kaila, Ewa, Natalie from HOI AN,

This is Thuy from Front Office, we really appreciate your opinion about our hotel, we love your kids named Ella and Kaila, they are pretty especial when your husband and your mother taught them in the swimming pool, they are good girls.

From your words we much understand you enjoyed the time at Ancient House River Resort we are taking every measure to sharpen our service. We are happy to know you totally enjoyed the surroundings, large rooms, pool and staff friendliness and helpful,and your words have added more motivation to this ongoing process.

Thank you for letting us know how much the stay and the service at Hoi An Ancient House River Resort and Spa contributed to the best build in the future

With warm wishes , and we look forward to welcoming you back to the River in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a delightful hotel with large bedrooms with open shower area and a very large bath simply covered by a curtain (not to everybody's taste perhaps) all set within lovely gardens. The staff were all absolutely delightful and could not have been more helpful. The food in the restaurant overlooking the river was good but not exceptional. The room was equipped with a computer for Internet access.

Room Tip: Ensure you have a room either overlooking the river or the swimming pool and gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MissThuy, Giám đốc quan hệ khách hàng at Ancient House River Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Hello dear Limassol from a cool Hoi An

Thank so much for your trust and love - all staff at Ancient House River Resort and Spa are very happy when be known your joy during your stay.

With an attention to details, we are taking every measure to create a cozy atmosphere for guests so they can feel the best like at home. Thank you for your lovely compliments for the room decor, the beautiful river views, and especially 'wonderful' staff.
All the best to you and your friends. We hope to see you in the near future!

With warm wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The facilities were excellent, rooms clean, the pool was nice. The riverside bar is a great place to watch life float by. The staff were friendly & attentive. Over all a very relaxing time in a Wonderfull little town. Definitely worth the time spent @ the resort & the town.

Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MissThuy, Giám đốc quan hệ khách hàng at Ancient House River Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Ted, xin chào (vietnamese)

From your experience about our hotel I understand you enjoyed the wonderful time at Ancient House River, you had been eaten at the romantic restaurant on the river side, room cleanliness, fresh water in the pool, best of all staff attentiveness and friendliness.

We always remember you and feel happy to know your group chose something very special for all of you. We wish you a great time together!

Thank for your sharing your opinions. Allow us an opportunity to serve you once again next time you return to Hoi An. Please send us an email and we will manage to our best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

I can't say enough about the staff at Ancient River. They are keen to please and be assured that everything about your stay is just perfect.

It's a serene little spot along the Thu Bon river, just outside of Hoi An. March of 2015 the road out front was being dug up and reconstructed which slows down your hotel shuttle or bicycle a bit but that was the only complaint and should be cured soon enough. I wish it could be mere steps from the tailor's for that evening fitting but seeing bits of the countryside on your way home each day does a bit to immerse you in culture of the country.

Lovely breakfast buffet with views of fishing nets and boats on the river make for a great start to your daily adventures and the pool in its centre is a great spot to wrap up the afternoons. Ana in the spa came well recommended as a masseuse, and the place is worth the stop for the bathtubs alone!

The family-run restaurant across the street is also a nice diversion when you just want something casual.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MissThuy, Giám đốc quan hệ công chúng at Ancient House River Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Pam S,

Thank so much for taking your time to write a comment to us. It is beyond our expectation that you love our service, the beautiful views on the river and the street from the hotel to town will be finished, you can ride bike travel and see the lovely paddy field views.
We also recognized that you highly value our spa, it is our strong emphasis on every staff doing his/her best to serve you.

For the next time’s best stay, please don’t hesitate to ask any of our staff what you need. I am sure our team will be very happy to serve you.

Again, thank you and all the best to you! We wish to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2015

Beautiful resort with excellent service. Excellent service, huge breakfast buffet, superior rooms with a wonderful bath. Peace and tranquillity. Short scenic cycle to town. What a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MissThuy, Giám đốc quan hệ công chúng at Ancient House River Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 17, 2015
Chào AllyRoseJack ,
We feel so much happy to receive your review – our staff from reservation, driver, reception, and all other departments thank you for your high grades and credit in our service.
Knowing that you love the superior rooms, we have tried to maintain its quality as high as you want and we appreciate your words.
All in-room facilities are for the best stay that could add another impression into your special trip to Viet Nam.
We wish you have you back next year, and we all will make it even more enjoyable and memorable.
Thank so much and best regard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2015

Excellent atmosphere, sweet staff (Especially Thuy), and great room!
200 character minimum, seriously, what are you joking....
The pool is very nice, but bring mosquito repellent as the beautiful river out back is a bit of a breeding ground.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MissThuy, Giám đốc quan hệ công chúng at Ancient House River Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 28, 2015
Good morning Dear Rob _maccracken

This is Thuy, I can't say thank enough because you remember my name and you choose our hotel during your trip to Hoi An. On behalf of staff and management, I would like to express my sincere thanks to you after you spent your time at Hoi An Ancient House River Resort and Spa.

Thank you for your compliments for the views, room, swimming pool and all our staff. However mosquito isn't big problem, we can solve next time you come, you won't see them.
Please send us an email next time you plan your trip to Viet Nam, as we would like to be your destination once more. We will do our best to provide the best service we can.

With warmest wishes to you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ancient House River Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ancient House River Resort & Spa

Address: Hamlet 2, Cam Thanh ward, Hoi An 84 510, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 95 Hotels in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ancient House River Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ancient House River Resort & Spa is an authentical 4 star hotel located in the quiet and peaceful Cam Thanh Village. We propose to our customer a large range of services, from transfer from/to airport, laundry service, to excursions. Join us for spending a sweet stay near the paisible Thu Bon River and discover Vietnamese way of living. We promess to make your stay special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ancient House River Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ancient House River Hotel Hoi An

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ancient House River Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.