We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury just out of the town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ancient House River Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ancient House River Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Ancient House River Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Hamlet 2, Cam Thanh ward, Hoi An 84 510, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Airport pick-up
Ranked #63 of 90 Hotels in Hoi An
1 review
“Luxury just out of the town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Ancient House River is a great luxury resort about 10 mins drive from the main town area. It takes a bit longer on bike but the resort has a convenient shuttle bus that runs a few times a day.

Thuy and all the staff were very accommodating, especially given the large group I was with. She masterfully handled everything whilst being a great person to chat to. She even remembered all our names.

Rooms were spacious. Outdoor shower was pretty cool (there is an indoor one too). We were lucky enough to have a private one!

Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: 106 on the ground level has a private outdoor shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    118
    25
    5
    3
See reviews for
50
158
17
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This hotel was very comfortable and had a great pool and breakfast buffet (very Chinese in style). The rooms are spacious and the outdoor showers are a nice addition if you get a private one. However, the rooms are a little dark, and the bathrooms are not very private. This is fine if you're on honeymoon or the like, but for friends traveling together it was a bit intimate.
The best part of this hotel were the staff. They were warm, friendly and helpful. Can certainly recommend the cooking classes offered, which include a market tour across the river by Thuy, a standout staff member who was always willing to help. We got to make Vietnamese spring rolls, ban xeo and a delicious Vietnamese salad. The market tour was an informative and authentic experience.
A bit far out from the city, meaning that it is quiet, but the commute in for dinner/lunch every day might get a little tiresome, and the restaurant across the road is average and the hotel food is quite expensive.
I would recommend this hotel to those who want a little bit of luxury, peace and quiet (except when the ferry goes past) and hospitable hosts.

Room Tip: 112 had a good private outdoor shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muckleford, Victoria, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Everything was good but not enough hot water, the staff worked very hard to make our stay special.
There English was very good and the boat trip out to the coconut groves was really something special. We enjoyed the peace and quite of the location and found it easy to take the shuttle bus into Ho An. Weather was not great for us but it was January so winter. Not great for internet.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
detroit,michigan
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had to move from the Ancient House Village (loved it) to this hotel because of the unavailability of rooms and we were assured it met the same standards as the Village Resort. Wrong. This resort would be rated a level below the Village Resort for the following reasons: Beds - hard as a rock, may as well as slept on the floor; Shower - Right in the room as a traveler photo shows - just pull a curtain across. At first we were given a room with an outdoor shower only. Upon complaining, we were quickly moved to a room with an indoor shower. Management was very friendly and helpful in the move to a different room. The restaurant area feels quite rustic, but has a wonderful view of the river. Breakfast did not seem as extensive as at the Village Resort, but was adequate. Would recommend for the friendly staff, but I would look for a hotel with more comfortable beds and better bathroom setup.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Luxurious accommodation away from the noise and pressures of Hoi An proper. About 4-5 km from the centre of Hoi An, with free bicycles it's less than 15 minutes in to town, less if you take the free shuttle bus or a taxi.

Loved my spacious room overlooking the pool which I moved to from a ground level room that was close to the pool filter. The ground level room was bigger and had a quaint outdoor shower as well as the enormous internal bath... in Hoi An's climate stepping out into the secluded back yard wasn't a problem.

The staff were exemplary, very helpful and friendly and eager to please. The breakfast buffet offered a good choice of local and western food.

I recommend this hotel as a very good choice for a quiet stay (other than the river boat with its single cylinder banger engine that goes past every now and then) away from the centre of Hoi An. If walking out the front door and into the hustle and bustle of the tourist streets is more your thing it might not be the best choice, but I loved the location and the hotel.

Finally... great pool!

John Dow
Canberra

Room Tip: All rooms appear to be excellent, if the background sound of the pool filter disturbs you you can me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Ancient House River Resort, it was absolutely beautiful. It is a little bit out of town, but the free shuttle service was so convenient! And the bike ride into town is actually quite enjoyable. If you can request a room, ask for 110 - As it seemed to be the only one with a really private outdoor shower. The food was great, we got to experience a cooking class, which was just fantastic. Overall, it was such a great experience, and I would definitely stay there again!
Thankyou to the staff at Ancient House River!!! Especially to Thuy, who took great care of me when i was feeling unwell, she was very kind to me!

Room Tip: If you can request a room, ask for 110 - As it seemed to be the only one with a really private outdo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It is located about a 10 minute drive from the Ancient City on the river. A regular bus provided by the hotel takes you to the Ancient city which is an amazing place. Great shopping, no hassle, fabulous restaurants, cafes and bars, beautiful old buildings and bridges with the river adjacent. The rooms were comfy with everything you could need with views of the pool and river. We had our Christmas dinner in the hotel restaurant by the river and Santa arrived on a boat with gifts for everyone. We had been asked to provide small gifts and the hotel provided packaging for the gifts. The staff sang and generally entertained us along with the musicians. The food was excellent and the staff were always smiling and willing to help. Breakfast was also served in this restaurant and it was lovely looking out at the commuters in boats going from the small islands to the mainland, with their motor cycles on the boats as well. We had massages and pedicures in the spa by the pool. We had a lovely time here and would like to return.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ancient House River Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ancient House River Resort & Spa

Address: Hamlet 2, Cam Thanh ward, Hoi An 84 510, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 90 Hotels in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ancient House River Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ancient House River Resort & Spa is an authentical 4 star hotel located in the quiet and peaceful Cam Thanh Village. We propose to our customer a large range of services, from transfer from/to airport, laundry service, to excursions. Join us for spending a sweet stay near the paisible Thu Bon River and discover Vietnamese way of living. We promess to make your stay special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ancient House River Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ancient House River Hotel Hoi An

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ancient House River Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.