We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Haven next to the river” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ancient House River Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ancient House River Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Ancient House River Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Hamlet 2, Cam Thanh ward, Hoi An 84 510, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free pick-up from Airport
Ranked #59 of 85 Hotels in Hoi An
South Australia, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Haven next to the river”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This place is a very quiet and relaxing place to stay right next to the river. The staff were very friendly and very helpful and made our stay quite comfortable. The rooms are pretty amazing too. While it is not situated right in the heart of Hoi An they do have a free shuttle bus that will drop you in and pick you up

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    109
    24
    4
    3
See reviews for
46
151
16
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel has it all - great location on the bank of the river, quiet and peaceful, great swimming pool and large rooms. It is easy to get to town or the beach using the free bikes or the free shuttle.

The breakfast was great - the only complaint from the whole stay was that sometimes it was a little cold.

The staff were great, very friendly. Cuong was our host and was very helpful! We did a cooking class and he took us over to a wee village and the local markets, then chef Chau expertly taught us how to make some delicious local dishes. Was a real highlight!

Would highly recommend to everyone!

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

This place is absolutely fantastic place to stay quiet and very relaxing especially after the hustle and bustle of Ho Chi Minh City. The staff were very friendly and made you feel very much at home. A little bit far out of town but didn't mind as you had free shuttle to and from although a bit more frequent would have been great. We really wish we could have stayed longer will stay here again

Room Tip: All rooms fantastic but higher floors have best veiws
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

Our stay at the Ancient House River Resort and Spa was amazing. We stayed in late September and it was very quiet, intimate and relaxing. The room was excellent and the pool was right outside our door, with night time swims after returning from dinner in Hoi An being a regular occurrence.

We'd like to make a special mention to Cuong and Linh at reception for their excellent service. No request was too much. They, along with the other staff went above and beyond to accommodate us. Examples of this include:
-organising the bus to take us into town outside the scheduled times
-organising an excellent trip to My Son
-taking us on our own boat/fishing trip and bike ride back (on short notice and later in the day than it would normally be run!)
-providing us with breakfast when we had to check out at an ungodly hour to catch our next plane--- not to mention greeting us with a smile at 4am for check out!

Our stay at Ancient House River Resort and Spa was an excellent start to our trip in Vietnam, and was our favourite place to stay. I hope we get a chance to go back one day!

Thanks guys! Best wishes,
Lauren

Room Tip: Room 114 was right by the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

The place is just gorgeous but too far out from the old town centre. It does have a shuttle service but trips aren't often enough. Rooms are lovely but someone thought it would be a great idea to divide the bathroom from the bedroom using a shower screen and have the sink on the other side of the screen so in the bedroom!!! I don't think so!!! Staff very warm and helpful.

Room Tip: Try and get a room near the river front but it'll then be a long walk to the restaurant if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014

After the hustle and bustle of Hanoi what a pleasure to arrive at Ancient House in a beautiful peaceful setting.
Very comfortable spacious rooms ,lovely dining room al fresco and great location with free shuttle bus .Special mention for the friendly staff especially at reception.Wished we could have spent a few more days there !!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014 via mobile

Ancient House has made my fiancé and my experience of Hoi An ever so pleasant. After a 4 hours of flight with a 7 hour layover in polluted Hanoi, we could not be happier with the room when we first stepped through the doors of our resort.

Truly the "Wow!" effect of the room surprised us, with the expectancy from the photos on TripAdvisor and Agoda. Nothing could come closer to replicating the beauty of the tasteful bespoke selection of furnishing and design than to experience it yourself. The layout works harmoniously with the design and should any of the elements be isolated, it just wouldn't seem right.

The open-concept bathroom was a new experience for us as well. Each room came with an ensuite bathtub and shower with rain shower and a separate cubicle for the toilet. This truly is a resort for couples and the layout of the room screams that out in its intricate beauty.

Location-wise, the resort is extremely private, located within a residential district, it is not exactly near the town center and traveling there by foot or bicycle would not be advised. Thankfully the resort offers free shuttle services between the resort to the town and Cua Dai beach which are really convenient considering the inaccessibility of the resort and the cut-throat rates by cab drivers.

That said, the frequency of shuttle timings could be more frequent and extended. We had to plan our day according to the schedule of the shuttle service and we lost the flexibility of coming and going as we pleased - constantly rushing to get to the pick-up point to ensure that we do not get left behind.

The resort offers airport transfer from DaNang international airport at USD 20. However should you be willing to risk transfer drivers getting lost you could hire for transfer from town at USD 7-14.

The breakfast that came bundled with the room was to say the least edible. However variety isn't their strong point and day-to-day dishes don't change very much. Given a choice I would recommend taking the shuttle to town - marketplace where you could get a hearty and delicious breakfast for VND 20,000 (>USD 1).

Overall, it is a good resort with a lot of really good and friendly people like Ngyuen who helped us book our cooking class and airport transfer. I'd highly recommend this place to couples and young travelers for the value and experience.

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NhungHuynh, Front Office Manager at Ancient House River Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 13, 2014
Good morning Bernard S!!!

First of all, a sincere thank you for writing this detailed review. We are glad to learn you had an enjoyable stay at Ancient House River.
We appreciate your observations about our team, their attention to detail, and personalizing the stay. We will share your compliments on to staff, and we are sure they will be thrilled hear about them.
Thank you so much for your staying with us again and we are looking for welcoming you back.
Have a nice day!

Nhung.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ancient House River Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ancient House River Resort & Spa

Address: Hamlet 2, Cam Thanh ward, Hoi An 84 510, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 85 Hotels in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ancient House River Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ancient House River Resort & Spa is an authentical 4 star hotel located in the quiet and peaceful Cam Thanh Village. We propose to our customer a large range of services, from transfer from/to airport, laundry service, to excursions. Join us for spending a sweet stay near the paisible Thu Bon River and discover Vietnamese way of living. We promess to make your stay special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ancient House River Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ancient House River Hotel Hoi An

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ancient House River Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.