We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ancient House River Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Ancient House River Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ancient House River Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Hamlet 2, Cam Thanh ward, Hoi An 84 510, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 81 Hotels in Hoi An
Paris
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This is my second visit to Ancient House River Resort, and my stay was just as enjoyable, fantastic, relaxing, if not more, than the first time I discovered this small home away from home. The resort is set in a small village environment, and what makes this place that extra bit special is the wonderful staff, that always look after us so well. Always a ready smile, with nothing being too much trouble. There are too many wonderful people to mention, but they know who they are. They helped make our stay all the more special. All I can say is, if you want to experience first rate service, generosity and warmth, in a lovely riverside setting, with amazing food, and lovely spacious rooms, great and original décor, and a really nice pool, stay here. Easy access to town by complimentary shuttle, or take the river boat into old Hoi An. I can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: It's worth paying that little bit extra for the deluxe room, as they come with a private balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NhungHuynh, Front Office Manager at Ancient House River Resort & Spa, responded to this review, yesterday
Hi Mel and Sam!

It's so sweet to read your review...Hope you have wonderful trip next.
We can't wait to see you in 2016 .U_U.
Take care much!!!

Nhung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    104
    24
    4
    3
See reviews for
45
143
15
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, null, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Lots of reviewers have commented on the beautiful surroundings, lovely rooms, excellent food, charming staff and amazing value of this hotel - we agree with all of that and want to add more! We travelled as a family with two young children and the team at the hotel did everything to make our time there happy and relaxed. We had interconnecting rooms on the ground floor, steps away from the garden and the pool. Two bikes with kids seats were ready for us on our arrival so we could ride to town, to the beach and around the fields. Cuong and Tam joined us on a river boat trip and made it even more special for the kids by fishing with them and making toys and bracelets for them from the water palms. We very much want to go back and only hope it doesn't change.
Dua at Lang Que, the little restaurant opposite, makes a superb pho. Try it! She and her family will give you a wonderful warm welcome.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My sister and I stayed here for only 2 nights but we had the best time. We felt like we were the only people in the place and the service was terrific. The breakfast buffet was delicious overlooking the river and the courtesy but into town was great. They even picked us up from the train station and drove us back to the airport (for a small charge). I'd highly recommend this place for anyone who wants to be out of town a bit with peace and quiet.
Ann

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NhungHuynh, Front Office Manager at Ancient House River Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Good morning beautiful to Ann H from Ancient House River Resort!

We are so happy to hear that you and your sister had a great time here. It seems so good when you start your work with a good review.
We hope you can give us a chance to welcome you again.
Thank you so much...See you guys!

Nhung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The resort is on the river, a bit difficult to find and away (3/4 km) both from Hoi An and the sea. This disadvantage can be taken as a virtue, too: once you orientate yourself in the Hoi An geography (how to reach the most important spots) you can enjoy a ride a bike in the beautiful surroundings of the resort and discover small restaturants that are clearly outside the tourists' common paths. In front of the resort you can rent a motorbike to solve all the transportation issues.
Inside, the resort is beautiful with spacious rooms, a good restaurant, a clean and lovely swimming pool and a small spa to enjoy.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NhungHuynh, Front Office Manager at Ancient House River Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear David,

It is great to know that you were amazed by our resort. A little bit far away from old town and beach, but very good mix of cycling and sight seeing, right?. Thank you for staying with us and your recommendation. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Best regards,
Nhung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This resort makes my trip memorable and joyful. I had a wonderful staying here. The room is neat, clean, beautiful setting. love the bath things. This resort makes you feel like ur totally immersed in nature: the river, the garden, the pool, the field out side.. The staffs are very friendly and helpful. The location may a bit far from town but the shuttle bus and bicycle rent (for free) handled it well. One more thing, the private beach didnt met my expectation, a little minus.
But overall, if u'r looking for a transquil place, stay out of the noisy city where you can 100% enjoy your vacation, this is it!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NhungHuynh, Front Office Manager at Ancient House River Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Good morning Thaodp !!!
Thank you for having taken your precious time to write such a wonderful review!
We are always focusing on personal service to each of our guests in order to be able to adopt to their needs and trying to exceed those as much as possible with professional, clean and pleasant experiences. And about the private beach, we will try for next time you say "plus" .^^.
Thank you again for your great review and we hope that you will have another chance to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What a find ! We decided to upgrade to a villa room what a treat we were left speechless at its perfection, the only sound was birds in the treetops.
Staff were unobtrusive but always available.
Room and poolside service reasonably priced and swift.
True this hotel is a little way out of Hoi An but that's it's strength. Free Shuttles to beach and town,complimentary bicycles and ever available taxis costing next to nothing really make this no problem.
We did the My Son trip and found this really interesting and very good value
I will definitely be returning !

Room Tip: Upgrade to a villa room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NhungHuynh, Front Office Manager at Ancient House River Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Good morning Mrs. Jayne h !
Thank you so much for making Ancient House River Resort & Spa as your address of choice. We are so glad to hear that you had good time here.
Your comments are extremely important to us, as they motivate us to continue to improve our service.
Thank you again for your time, hope you enjoy your next trip. We warmly welcome you come back again.
Nice day. ^^ .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Cannot recommend this hotel highly enough if you are visiting Hoi An. Yes it's 3-4 Kms from the centre of town but therein lies the beauty of this place. Plus the hotel offers free shuttle buses and bicycles to get around. Room was very spacious, clean and tastefully decked out. Fantastic pool amid a lush tropical garden (tended to 24/7 by an army of gardeners). Beautiful bar/restaurant overlooking the river....evening menu nothing special but reasonably priced and (free) breakfast is varied and plentiful. Staff very helpful and friendly. If you can find a better place to stay in the area I'd be staggered.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceaneBataillon, General Manager at Ancient House River Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Tom A,

My team and I would like to thank you for your nice review about Ancient House River Resort. We are happy to hear that you loved it, room as well as our services. It is a pleasure to offer our guest the most beautiful area for spending a relaxing holiday for example on our floating restaurant or in the lush garden. We hope that you could come back again for other vacations in central Vietnam.

We wish you all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ancient House River Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ancient House River Resort & Spa

Address: Hamlet 2, Cam Thanh ward, Hoi An 84 510, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 81 Hotels in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ancient House River Resort & Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ancient House River Resort & Spa is an authentical 4 star hotel located in the quiet and peaceful Cam Thanh Village. We propose to our customer a large range of services, from transfer from/to airport, laundry service, to excursions. Join us for spending a sweet stay near the paisible Thu Bon River and discover Vietnamese way of living. We promess to make your stay special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Agoda, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Ancient House River Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ancient House River Hotel Hoi An

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ancient House River Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.