We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Haven of peace and beauty my favourite hotel in Vietnam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ancient House River Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Ancient House River Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ancient House River Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Hamlet 2, Cam Thanh ward, Hoi An 84 510, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 79 hotels in Hoi An
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Haven of peace and beauty my favourite hotel in Vietnam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This was my most favourite hotel in Vietnam. After all the noise and bustle it is so relaxing. There are two ancient house and we chose the one by the river it is 4 km from Hoi An but there is a free shuttle bus and you can borrow bikes for free from the hotel and cycle to Hoi An along the river which is a prettier and a much shorter route. You can cycle in the other direction to the palm area from the hotel which is very pretty. It has the most beautiful garden full of flowers and tropical plants. Great swimming pool. Breakfast is delicious and you sit overlooking the river. Rooms are top of the range inside we had one up from the standard. They are large and very well decorated. This is an oasis of peace and tranquility.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very good. We took the middle range room which are on the upper floor which means...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ahr1, Manager at Ancient House River Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Good Morning,

All staffs and the Management would like to thank you for your choosing in Ancient House River resort and spa, and thank you so much for your kind comments about our resort.
We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us...
All of us, look forward to welcoming you back very soonest to our peaceful region!
With our best wishes & regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    158
    100
    24
    4
    3
See reviews for
41
139
15
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We enjoyed a lovely four nights stay in Ancient House River. The location is a short bike ride from the beach and the old town of Hoi An, the hotel provides free bikes and free shuttle services to town. Rooms are nicely designed, good beds. Good, freshly brewed coffee at breakfast and ample choice at the breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ahr1, Manager at Ancient House River Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Good Morning,

It have been a great pleasure to have you as our guest and thank you very much for your choosing Ancient House River Resort.

Look forward to welcoming you back soonest.
Wish you and your family to be happy, healthy & lucky.
Once again, thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We have just finished a 7 night stay at the resort, initial impressions were good but the faults soon began to show. Firstly the taxi at De Nang got very lost and had to knock on several doors on route, there is also another resort with a similar name which causes some confusion not just with taxi but with tourists as well.
The staff were very welcoming when we arrived, we were given information on local sights and a map.
The shuttle bus does not run frequently enough, the resort was busy during our stay and once an hour would have been preferable to the two - three hour which they currently offer. A taxi is 10,000 VMD=$5
From our room I could hear the boats all night going up the river, and the rooster at about 4 am, but this did not bother us to much.
Some of the food at breakfast was not replenished, first come first served
Room service became very slack, we returned at 3 pm and no one had been, fruit had been left in the room for 1 week !!!
We stopped getting mixed drinks at the bar because we were convinced there was no alcohol in them and they were expensive compared to town.
When we returned at night we would have to knock the staff up, they were sleeping on the floor!!
Nice resort for a few days, would prefer to stay closer to the town if we return. We arranged all our trip in town as this was a cheaper option. We found that there were a lot if children at the resort, and there is little space other than by the pool, which is very close to the rooms so it could be noisy during the day and early evening.
This resort is fine if it is what you are looking for, review the area and consider what you want our if your holiday

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceaneBataillon, General Manager at Ancient House River Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback, it really helps us to move forward and to increase our quality of service.

For taxi driver, sometimes they are confusedc because they are 3 Ancient House, one in town, one other called Village and my estalishement Ancient House RIVER Resort. To avoir any confusion we recommend to precise well to the driver that you booked in Ancient house RIVER, which is in Cam Thanh Village. Normally there is no problem then.

Breakfast has been totally review by me, now quantities and choices are large. I personally make sure that breakfast is replenished and irreprochable for offering guests the best quality one. So I am really sorry if it was not the case when you stayed here.

For the time I took my functions of GM, I also implemented a full training program for my staff both Restaurant and Reception (English lessons, Hospitality, Service...), to make them offer the best service and be efficient.

Prices policy at restaurant has also been reajusted by myself, indeed prices are a bit higher than in town as is every 4 star hotel now.

I hope you could come back to our resort to note all progress made by my team.
Again, thank you very much for your helpful comment.

Have a nice day.

BATAILLON Oceane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We had four brilliant nights here. The hotel is a gem.

The hotel itself is in a great location in the middle of local houses along an unassuming road. It is peaceful and safe, and only a short and very pleasant 25minute bicycle ride or $5 journey into the main touristy bit. The bikes are free to use from the hotel. The location really comes to life every morning when breakfast is served al fresco on a pontoon over looking the river, the amazing view sets even the grumpiest folk for a good day.

The rooms are set around a wonderful garden setting with the centre piece being the swimming pool and jacuzzi. The aim is obviously to give residence a sense of peace and harmony, and it succeeded in doing this for us after a a very long and delayed train ride. Inside the rooms we found a spacious setting, with a large bath and a nice rain shower outside.

The service is impeccable. Really they could not have done more for us. All the staff were very helpful and the manager, Ming, is a character and ensured we got everything we wanted and more. He was very hands-on with some serious travel problems we had, which could easily have ruined our stay. This kind of personalised service is difficult to find in large characterless hotels. His phrase is 'no problem' and it seems nothing is! We had a surprise birthday party for 18 family members on the pontoon restaurant. Ming arranged for a seafood BBQ, which was great and plentiful. There were little surprises thrown in for us too. A great place to have a party.

We really could not fault anything, but if we were to be really really picky the breakfast could be more varied and more rapidly replenished. But this is really very minor and didn't bother us. We'd definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceaneBataillon, General Manager at Ancient House River Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear guest,

Thanks a lot for your nice comment about our Resort, I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Ancient House River Resort. It is always a pleasure for us to make our guest stay exceptionnal. That is why we organize Birthday parties and always do our maximum to answer customers'needs and requirements.

We choose our staff according to their professionalism but also their personnality because for us, it is a priority to have nicea and friendly staff to take care of our guests.

We sincerely hope to see you again at Ancient House River Resort for another relaxing vacation.

Have an excellent day.

BATAILLON Oceane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We spent three nights at this hotel and voted it our favourite hotel in Vietnam. We were staying in three star hotels so our expectations may not have been as high as others. The rooms were large and the garden setting beautiful. Breakfast was fabulous with the most delicious made to order pancakes. Bike hire was free and we had no trouble booking bikes the night before for an early morning ride to the beach. The cold cloths every time we entered the hotel were greatly appreciated as the temperatures were around 40C. The bus into town could be a bit more regular but we liked the location halfway between town and beach, we had no trouble getting taxis and they were less than $3. Lots of restaurants within easy walking distance either on the main road or n the river.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceaneBataillon, General Manager at Ancient House River Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Joanna B,

It is a pleasure to read that your stay at Ancient House River Resort was a success and that you appreciated our services. We do our maximum to make our guest stay a wonder. As you precised, our location between town and beach is an advantage as where do not have the noise of the busy town and, in another hand, it is easy to go there thanks to our free shuttle bus or bikes.

We hope to see you soon at Ancient House River Resort to offer you a relaxing and confortable stay near the Thu Bon River.

Have a nice day.

BATAILLON Oceane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

After our taxi driver was lost for 15-20 minutes having to stop for directions 3 times we found the resort.

On arrival the staff were very friendly and helpful, but during our stay we found one staff member hot and cold, he would be friendly and polite at times then quite rude and arrogant at other times.

We found our rooms very nice, but the bed was very hard and the sleep we did manage was further interrupted by a rooster being our alarm clock from about 5am onwards.

The location was deceiving to us also, the resort is not ideally located. The pool was nice and the restaurant was well located. Bicylces were hot property and were often all in use.

All up our stay was average.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceaneBataillon, General Manager at Ancient House River Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Bodge20,

Thank you for your feedbakc, it is really helpful for my team and I to make our service better.
I am taking it in consideration and I will do all I can to avoid than kind of problems.

The staff has been totally changed for the time you have been here, the selection process has been reviewed by myself and you can be sure that now my staff is professional, polite and smiling.

We hope that you can come back to see progress done.
I wish you an esxcellent day from all team of Ancient House River Resort.

BATAILLON Oceane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoi An, Vietnam
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We booked at this hotel thinking it would be a good spot to be in between town and the beach. The free bus runs every 2 hours, and a taxi is 100,000 dong each way ($5). No taxis go past the hotel though and it is a long hot 4km to walk/cycle. The hotel has very limited bicycles so I suggest reserving them.

Taxi from the airport cost $30USD, be careful they dont get lost on the way there! Dont ask to change money at the hotel as they will rip you off. Breakfast is average, coffee is terrible. Beds and ROCK HARD and there is NO water pressure, it comes in waves - impossible to wash your hair!

The river view suite had no view of the river and is 50% wasted space with the bed and bathroom in the one room - although the extra toilet was convenient when we got food poisoning! Staff speak limited English and the tours are very over priced

Plus side - air con in rooms is very nice, not many places in Hoi An have air con.

Unless you want the seclusion this hotel offers, I would suggest looking toward the beach area or more in town.

Room Tip: River view suite are overrated, choose a 2nd floor room near the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceaneBataillon, General Manager at Ancient House River Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear ZolTravels89,

Thank you for your comment and sharing your experience at Ancient House River River with other travellers. I am really sad to read that you didn't appreciate your stay here and that things didn't happened has you were expecting it to do.

For information, we invested in others bikes, so now we have 16 in total.

Then concerning currency exchange rate, I am really suprised by what you say, we always apply the rate 21 080 VND = USD 1 in our place, when in town it is 20 000 VND = 1 USD right now. So sorry to inform you that, except if a mistake occured, you have not been "rip off".

My staff is now following an English program to offer a better service to our customers.
Shower and bath systems toally fixed, so we did not receive any other complains for more than one year about it.

So, I would like to apologize for troubles you have had staying here and inssure you that things have changed a lot since last year.

I hope you could be back to check it by yourself.

Have a nice day.

BATAILLON Oceane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ancient House River Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ancient House River Resort & Spa

Address: Hamlet 2, Cam Thanh ward, Hoi An 84 510, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 79 hotels in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ancient House River Resort & Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ancient House River Resort & Spa is an authentical 4 star hotel located in the quiet and peaceful Cam Thanh Village. We propose to our customer a large range of services, from transfer from/to airport, laundry service, to excursions. Join us for spending a sweet stay near the paisible Thu Bon River and discover Vietnamese way of living. We promess to make your stay special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Ancient House River Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ancient House River Hotel Hoi An

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ancient House River Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.