We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and Relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ancient House River Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ancient House River Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Ancient House River Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Hamlet 2, Cam Thanh ward, Hoi An 84 510, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #69 of 95 Hotels in Hoi An
Southam, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Today is our final day here having spent a week at this most peaceful hotel. Our room is beautiful with a lovely river view. The photos of the rooms do not do them justice. They are quite stunning. The bath area is fully tiled with a separate room housing the toilet. We particulatly liked the wet room style shower with a choice of shower heads and the king size stone bath with steps leading up to it was a very attrative feature.

The hotel is located in a small typically Vietnamese community, with a small school, a collection of shack type shops and even a Bar.

The breakfasts are delicious, serving both eastern and western style food., served in their floating restaurants right on the bank of the river.

While we were there we went on the cookery class they arrange. This was much more authentic than the commercially ones arranged in Hoi An and gave us a better insight on how the locals shop. We certainly recommeded this.

Bicycles are available for the guests so on Sunday morning, we cycled up to the road to see cattle grazing or being used to pull ploughs. Cycling is easy as the roads are flat and there are hardly any cars on the roads.

Relaxing by the pool has been compulsory for us, the water is really warm and the pool staff automatically place towels on the loungers each morning.

The shuttle bus they operate is very efficient and prompt and the timetable gives guest ample time both at the beach and in Hoi An.

Guests normally stay here for a couple of days before continuing their journey wither north to Hanoi or south to Ho Chi Minh. Every one we spoke to envied us because a couple of days is too short and a lot of them wished they had booked more time here.

With temperatures in the mid 30s and being low season, the hotel is very quiet and an ideal time to come.

Minh and the rest of the team will make you feel at home in this beautiful, quiet oasis of an hotel.

Room Tip: We opted for the Deluxe River view which are slightly bigger. Ask for a room at the top for views o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ahr1, Manager at Ancient House River Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Good morning,

We would like to take this opportunity to express our sincere thanks for your choosing Ancient House River. Thank you for your enjoyed staying with us.

Hope to welcome you back soon,
Have a nice day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    125
    26
    5
    3
See reviews for
52
167
19
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

This hotel was a joy to stay in. Our room was so comfortable and the housekeeping staff were very diligent in keeping is spick and span. The reception staff were really helpful and friendly. We had occasion to call a doctor, which they did promptly and he was there in 20 minutes. The staff helped us get medication prescribed and they were always keen to know how the patient was getting along! The swimming pool and area was a god-send. So clean and relaxing. Couldn't recommend this hotel more highly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ahr1, Manager at Ancient House River Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Good Morning,

We would like to thank you for your choosing in Ancient House River, and thank you so much for your nice comment.

We look forward to welcoming you back, so we will have another chance to serving you!!!

Have a nice day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

Our first impression of Ancient House River Resort was quite scary. We had flew into Da Nang at 9pm and by the time our bus took us to the hotel it was 10 pm. We had passed all the big name resorts and ended up going off on some unkept roads (very bumpy) and through some farmlands, and then through a really sketchy looking residential area. The lobby was practically empty and across the street was a small snip set up with some locals. Needless to say, we thought that maybe we were at the wrong resort - I had heard there were two "Ancient House" resorts (this one had "river" in the name), but we weren't. The hotel itself is a bit isolated. It is not handicap friendly as there are a bunch of steps at the entrance and going to the rooms. We checked in, and I was given a numberless key - which I then has to ask what our room number was, and they used a price tag sticker to write the room number. Since we had gotten in late, we didn't each dinner so when the staff said the restaurant was still open we eagerly decided to try it. however, it was weird cause when we asked where it was, they led us through past the pool to an unlit area. The restaurant was closed and all the lights were turned off! They turned on the lights and basically opened the restaurant back up for us, which we felt weird about. We were the only dining patrons there. I guess it was a good thing, but we felt awkward about it,
After checking in, the rooms were actually quite nice. but it is also not family friendly as there is not much privacy for the shower, bath tub, or bathroom. The separation is basically a big curtain that gets blown by the AC machine located above the shows - a little weird positioning there so you can get real cold at night if you don't put the curtain in front of the AC. The beds are a bit firm, no pillow top.
The next day we took our laundry across the street - that same sketchy looking was also a bar, laundry and motorcycle rental shop. The owner looked a little sketchy at first, but then he gave us a big smile and said "Hello!" And his little girl eagerly feted us as we'll. they do laundry for a decent price - 2 bucks a kilo - our bag of clothes as 3kg and so we only paid 6 bucks and got them done same day as long as we brought it in early enough. So the entire place during e day was not scary at all. I guess first impressions aren't everything!
Overall, our stay was pleasant. However our friends didn't have quite the same experience. The review about the bats is dead on. They've been hearing scratching noises under the bed at night and after the second day they had a bat flying in their room! They ended up catching it with a waste basket and had the staff remove it. In addition, turns out that scratching noise was not from the bats, but possibly termites munching on the wood ra,e! (Not quite sure as our Vietnamese translation was not up to par). But besides that, it was a decent stay. I only wish we were closer to either the town or beach as we had to schedule our day around the shuttle.

Overall, here's my rating:
Pros:
Free Wifi, although a bit slow
Laptop provided in each room to access wifi and other things
Free shuttle to town and beach
Free bike rental
Pool table
Free breakfast buffet
Pool is nice with side jacuzzi

Cons:
Far away from town
Shuttle times to town can be inconvenient as it stops from 11:20 to 2:20, so you either have to stay in town or taxi back
Shuttle times to beach is also limited, only until 3pm
Biking to the beach can be a bit far, about 15 minutes and you could easily get lost, the map provided is not detailed enlightened as it does not show you the other roads. We almost got lost twice coming back. Fortunately I had looked up the route on google. Plus you have to PAY to park your bike at the beach, they won't let you in otherwise. $10,000 vnd
The hotel can be very quiet and unpopulated at time, nobody around at all, which was a little weird considering it was a hotel. Sometimes we would get bus loads of tourists for a day or two.
Not kid or handicap friendly
Beware of bats!
Bikes are very old and squeaky. Check the brakes as they seem very rusty and not well kept!
Food is ok, but nothing special.

Overall, it was a very decent place, but I don't know if this would be considered a 4 star resort.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ahr1, Responsable relations clients at Ancient House River Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Good morning,

I am in charge of customer service and I would like to answer your comment because it deserves an answer.

First of all, this is true that we are not located in town but we never said that we were, our location has been chosen to ensure a peaceful stay faraway from noise and agitation. Moreover we are one of the rare hotels having a floating restaurant on the river, that also explains our location. The hotel is half way between town and beach, the shuttle bus is available all day long for reaching these places, Indeed the schedule is fixed but it is possible to use it out of the time table or to borrow a bike.

Concerning the key, we are sorry if the last guest lost it and we didn't have had the time to add the keychain on yours, now that is done. You probably stayed in our resort during a low occupancy period that is why the restaurant was closed before 11 pm, we cannot ensure the fact that they will be many customers of not so sorry for this.

The private AC can be regulated according to your desires, each room has a control remote for this.

We will do the best for increasing the quality of our services, thank you for your comment and contribution.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This hotel is very interesting in that if you get a ground floor room you get an outdoor shower in a private garden area. Ask for a ground floor room as this is a wonderful experience. The restaurant is out onto the river so you can watch life on the river while you eat. The pool is lovely. This is the only hotel in all our travels that has provided a laptop and Wifi in each room. The hotel offers excursions which are worth doing. We took the cooking class. It was one of the highlights of Vietnam. The chef took us to a market where it was obvious no or very few tourists had been. It was very interesting. The food we learned to cook could be replicated at home and was incredible. The location is excellent - close to the old town and they offer free bus service to and from the old town. Highly recommended hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor if you want an outdoor shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ahr1, Responsable relations clients at Ancient House River Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear,

We really want to thank you for the comment you let about our hotel, we are really glad to know that you enjoyed your stay in our resort. Indeed we are really proud to offer a high standard service to our guest to make them happy of they passage in Vietnam.

We really hope to see you again among us.
Fairthfully yours.

BATAILLON Océane, Manager Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Our 2 day stay here was incredible! Starting from the moment we arrived, we loved the rooms, the friendly and competent staff, the warm and lovely outdoor pool, the exquisite rooms with hardwood furniture and laptop included with WiFi! The restaurant served authentic and perfectly cooked Vietnamese food. I felt this was a highlight of our trip to Vietnam.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ahr1, Responsable relations clients at Ancient House River Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Good morning,

We really thank you for the comment you posted about our Resort, we are really glad to know that you have enjoyed our hotel and staff.

We really hope to see you again.
Fairthfully yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We only stayed for one night and arrived very late, we had a quick check in by a lady who spoke good English. We were shown to our room and shown how the air-con etc worked.
In the room there is WI-Fi, but unfortunately our iPad would not connect to it, but there is a laptop in the room, flat screen tv, complimentary water and bananas. The rooms are large and luxurious with a tropical beach resort feel.
The grounds of the hotel and pool area are very pretty with lots of plants and flowers.
Breakfast was nice with lots of choice over looking the river.
The hotels is outside the town surrounded by paddy fields, but they have a shuttle bus into town but we didn't use it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ahr1, Responsable relations clients at Ancient House River Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Good afternoon,

My team and I really want to thank you for your nice comment.
We are really happy that you have appreciated your stay at Ancietn House River and hope to see you again.

Have a great day.

Faithfully yours.

BATAILLON Océane
Manager assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We loved staying at this very relaxing spot. Hoi An's Old Town is pretty noisy so it's nice to know you have a retreat to return to on the river. Riding my bike around the surrounding fishing village and rice paddies was the highlight of my time in Hoi An. Make sure you try the noodle soup for breakfast, it's delicious!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ahr1, Responsable relations clients at Ancient House River Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear, good afternoon,

We really want to thank you for your comment about our hotel,
we are really glad to know that you enjoyed your stay among us and hope to see you again in Vietnam.

Have a nice day.
Faithfully yours.

BATAILLON Océane
Manager Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ancient House River Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ancient House River Resort & Spa

Address: Hamlet 2, Cam Thanh ward, Hoi An 84 510, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 95 Hotels in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ancient House River Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ancient House River Resort & Spa is an authentical 4 star hotel located in the quiet and peaceful Cam Thanh Village. We propose to our customer a large range of services, from transfer from/to airport, laundry service, to excursions. Join us for spending a sweet stay near the paisible Thu Bon River and discover Vietnamese way of living. We promess to make your stay special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Ancient House River Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ancient House River Hotel Hoi An

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ancient House River Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.