We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ancient House River Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ancient House River Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Ancient House River Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Hamlet 2, Cam Thanh ward, Hoi An 84 510, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free pick-up from Airport
Ranked #59 of 85 Hotels in Hoi An
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We loved staying at this very relaxing spot. Hoi An's Old Town is pretty noisy so it's nice to know you have a retreat to return to on the river. Riding my bike around the surrounding fishing village and rice paddies was the highlight of my time in Hoi An. Make sure you try the noodle soup for breakfast, it's delicious!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ahr1, Responsable relations clients at Ancient House River Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear, good afternoon,

We really want to thank you for your comment about our hotel,
we are really glad to know that you enjoyed your stay among us and hope to see you again in Vietnam.

Have a nice day.
Faithfully yours.

BATAILLON Océane
Manager Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    109
    24
    4
    3
See reviews for
46
151
16
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We spent two nights here during a hectic tour of Vietnam and really appreciated the rural surroundings and relative peace (apart from the early morning cockerel!) Rooms large and well furnished with views over the gardens and pool and ours had a very smart marble wet room. The staff were pleasant and helpful, laundry handled quickly and efficiently and the shuttle bus service into the town of Hoi An was useful and necessary, as this hotel is out of the town. There is a boat service too but we didn't use this. The restaurant is beautifully located by the river and the food was very good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ahr1, Responsable relations clients at Ancient House River Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Hello Dear,

My team and I really want to thank you for the nice comment you posted about our Resort,
we are really happy that you enjoyed your stay here and hope to see you again in Vietnam.

Have a nice day.

Faithfully yours.

BATAILLON Océane
Manager Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

A great place within walking distance of the town (although there are free bus transfers if required) free bike hire for short cycle to beach. Own beach cafe with free sun beds towels and good changing facilities. Lots of attentive staff to hand. Good breakfast and nice pool set in an attractive garden. Happy to recommend to anyone

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ahr1, Responsable relations clients at Ancient House River Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Hello Dear,

Thank you for your comment about our Resort, we tried our best to make your stay perfect and we are really glad that our efforts make you happy . We hope to see you again at Ancient House River.

Have a great day.

Faithfully yours.

BATAILLON Océane.
Manager Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

Hoi An is a lively colorful town . The Ancient House River Hotel located by the water is a welcome breath away from the crowded streets. The hotel is charming. the front rooms have a nice view of the bridge. The service is both enthusiastic and consistently good. Danny the chef is eager to surprise guests with his innovative menu and seasonal treats. His Tet cake and orange marmalade is lovely. The spa is clean and relaxing with enough variety of treatments and price ranges. Whether you appetite call for street food or a high end dining experience. Just walk out the door cross the bridge and voila culinary
nirvana. A few more steps away from the crowds but well worth considering.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceaneBataillon, General Manager at Ancient House River Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear CarmelpHappyfeet,

Thank you so much for your review. My team and IU are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We do the best for offering you a high quality service and make your stay comfortable. I will congratulate my staff for their enthusiasm and dynamism.

Again, thanks.
Have a nice day and see you again at Ancient House River Resort.

BATAILLON OCeane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire UK
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

This was a charming hotel set by the river where you could watch the fishermen in the mornings while eating breakfast. The setting is idyllic and the walk to the restaurant charming. The food was very good. We ate both nights we stayed here. A shuttle bus is available to get to the main town but it finishes quite early. We wished we had stayed an extra night so that we could also go to the beach. Staff all very welcoming and some spoke really good English so it was possible to chat.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceaneBataillon, General Manager at Ancient House River Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Sue from UK,

Thank you very much for your comment. We are happy to read that you have been satisfied by our service and infrastucture. It is always a pleasure to make our guests stay a wonder.
We sincerely hope to see you again at Ancient House River Resort for living another relaxing experience.

Have an excellent day.

BATAILLON Oceane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

The hotel location on the river bank is very pretty, but being spoilt by the "thumping" noises mentioned by another guest, which is due to a new bridge being constructed. Not the hotel's fault, but a consideration for anyone coming for peace and quiet, nonetheless.

The hotel buildings and our room are very nice and much better than we'd anticipated. Staff friendly, even though communication can be difficult.

Room - comfy bed and good aircon. However, we only had a bath with one shower handset in it (Room 308) and this did not suit us - we like to shower. Tried to do this sitting in the bath but the water pump system here means one second you have boiling hot water flowing over you, the next freezing cold. Not nice on a tender scalp. Tried to run the bath and get over the problem that way - soooo slow, you;d be waiting all night and meanwhile the hot water runs out. We were only staying one night so not a major issue, but I would not stay in that room again and nor would I want to stay longer. Shame as the furnishings are lovely - good, strong furniture, nice floors, good amenities. Also, had a nice but small Juliet-stye balcony - great views over pool to river - but no chairs out there . . .. what a waste. Incidentally, our friends had room 304, with a shower - but had the same problem with the water pump and temperatures.

Tried the pool which looks gorgeous, but was very cold.

The bar overlooking the river has a fantastic setting, but after the first 4 bottles of wine we requested were not available, we gave up. Why have a special Wine List if you don't want to stock its contents?

Hotel is a good 5km out of town, but the shuttle bus in worked well. 9.30pm for the latest return to hotel seemed a little early to us, but that's a personal thing.

All in all, we enjoyed our one night stay. Next time we would stay nearer town and insist on a shower facility. I would have given the hotel another "star" in my rating, but the "cons" just outweighed the pros in the end.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ahr1, Responsable relations clients at Ancient House River Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear,

First of all, we would like to thank you for your comment because it helps us to make our services better quelity ones.
Indeed, we really sorry for the inconvenience caused by the noise from the bridge construction but unfortunately, as you mentionned, we cannot do nothing for it, it is gonna be finished soon. For the room equipement, you should ask us to change your room number because we also have many rooms with both handing shower and bath, same for the outdoor chair, we can provide some on requirement that's absolutely no problem. The water pump system has been totally checked so there is no problem anymore, once more we are sorry for this little problem.

My team and I really appreciate the fact that you noticed our effort for making your stay pleasant and we really hope to see you again among us.

Best Regards and have a nice day.

BATAILLON Océane, Manager Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed in deluxe rooms. The room was pretty, and the bath and shower were great. Breakfast was excellent - omlettes fresh fruit yoghurt etc... The pool area is well maintained chairs are comfortable. The jacuzzi was not working when we were there. The water in the bathroom is not consistent and kind of blurps out - so you have a beautiful bath and no real way to fill it up. The decor in the rooms is quite lovely, and the views from the top are ok. I found the general manager very helpful and kind. No issue with getting into the center of Hoi An (maybe 15 minutes) but you can always bike in and the shuttle runs all the time and later there are plenty of cabs so this was not an issue. Beds were firm and super comfortable. There are some issues with the industry going on by the river building a very important bridge for Hoi An which created a thumping metallic sound - dont know how long that will go on. The GM is working hard to improve the hotel I wish them luck.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top are the best - so the 300's
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ahr1, Responsable relations clients at Ancient House River Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear,

My team and I really want to thank you for your comment about our Resort, we are really glad to know that you appreciated your stay among us. We try our best for answering our guests requirements and making our services better.

We are sorry for the inconvenience cause by the bridge on work but unfortunatelly we cannot do nothing for fixing it. It is gonna be finished soon.

Once more thank you for you review and we really hope to see you again among us.
Fairthfully yours.

BATAILLON Océane, Manager Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ancient House River Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ancient House River Resort & Spa

Address: Hamlet 2, Cam Thanh ward, Hoi An 84 510, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 85 Hotels in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ancient House River Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ancient House River Resort & Spa is an authentical 4 star hotel located in the quiet and peaceful Cam Thanh Village. We propose to our customer a large range of services, from transfer from/to airport, laundry service, to excursions. Join us for spending a sweet stay near the paisible Thu Bon River and discover Vietnamese way of living. We promess to make your stay special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ancient House River Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ancient House River Hotel Hoi An

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ancient House River Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.