We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid !!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Nhat Huy Hoang Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hoi An
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nhat Huy Hoang Hotel
Save
You added Nhat Huy Hoang Hotel to your Saves list
58 Ba Trieu St, Hoi An, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #115 of 121 Hoi An B&B and Inns
Nakhon Pathom, Thailand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Avoid !!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We arrived in Hoi An after two long bus rides and were very out of sorts. We tried a few hotels and guesthouses suggested by Lonely Planet but they were booked.. so we stumbled upon this hotel and decided it seemed like a reasonable price for decent rooms. The staff seemed nice, so we dropped off our bags and headed to get some dinner. Luckily, we had our valuables with us because when we returned to the hotel we found a hand written note on the back of our door saying that there are thieves in the hotel. Exhausted, we brushed it off. The next morning, two European girls knocked on our door and told us to leave. They had money stolen from their bags- which were locked inside their room! The thieves in the hotel were the employees! We also woke up to a bad ant problem in our room. Overall it was a very negative experience. There are plenty of options in Hoi An- so don't choose this place !!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    3
    7
    7
    38
See reviews for
3
13
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Although we saw our 'room' before we took it, we should have checked more thoroughly. We later discovered our $10 room on the roof (neighbouring another room, split by a thin wall that didn't reach the ceiling) had no lighting outside (broken) so the padlock was tricky without flashlight. There was no water for a shower, the toilet leaked and stank (to flush, you had to pull some string from within the cistern), there were other guests' undergarments under the mattress, the bedsheets were disgusting and it was cockroach infested.
We asked for help with the water: waited & waited to later find the guy we'd asked sitting at reception playing on his phone. He said he didn't know. Eventually the owner/manager lady turned up as we threatened to leave; a harsh woman, who had no time for our petty complaints. She turned on the main water supply and we had water.
The next day we got upgraded to a nicer room ($25 for which we paid $15) after much protesting. This was ok, a/c but overpriced. The staff seemed clueless & quite unhelpful. I'm sure there are better places for your dollar.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

Somebody stole 300 dollar out of my room. I haf the all the time with me. So somebody must be entered into my room by a master key. 4 otherguest also lost some money one the same day!!! The stuff was very unfriendly and no way of helpful!!! And in the end. On the 3th floor we didnt have wather for a shower!! We did have to go downstairs to get a shower. They said its normal in hoian. But i my new gesthouse i had wather in the 6th floor...
Its important that you go the policestation. Maybe they will react one day if they hear thats people get often stolen in this hotel!!! In the end i didnt want to pay the full price. But they kept my passport and where really rude!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

It would have been otherwise fine, but my money was stolen from the room. Now that I look at these reviews, it seems I'm not the first one. DON'T GO TO THIS HOTEL, NOT WORTH IT. I called the hotel but they wouldn't return the money (of course not).

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed here 1 night and had been excited to find a double room for $14/night, as we were planning to stay for 5 nights. Unfortunately, we didn't read reviews first. After dropping our bags and going to explore, we returned to find that someone had very obviously gone through our things:
-my (locked) backpack was 4 feet from where I had left it
-the bathroom door was closed (we'd left it open with a backpack holding it in place)
-the room's door handle was mostly unscrewed (we'd tightened it before leaving)
-my friend's bag, which she had been complacent with and left unlocked, had been unpacked and sloppily repacked in a different order. Her wallet had been hidden in the very bottom and the bills were folded differently than she had left them, and 2000 baht and $10 USD were missing.

We asked the girl at the front why someone would have been in our room, as we had just checked in and not even "room cleaning" could have been an excuse. Her response was that "sometimes guests get confused and forget which room they're in and go into the wrong one"--so maybe the keys are all the same? She also told us that no one would steal Thai baht in Vietnam "because you can't use it here".

We also saw another staff member inside the room next door to ours, whose occupants were out; when she came out and we asked if she worked there, she looked totally freaked out and refused to talk to us.

Other issues: tons of ants (more than the usual SE Asia numbers) on and around the beds as soon as you sat down or put anything on it, crappy wifi signal.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

It was Tet, so everywhere was expensive or booked up and after walking around for the best part of an hour we walked into this one and looked at a very large double room with a balcony and bathroom.

The room cost $15 a night and had a warm shower, TV and fridge, unfortunately the downside was a springy warn out mattress, no working air-con or fan (which made it really hot in the evenings), holes in the towel, stains on the sheets and there was a smell of dampness and damp patches on the ceiling. It defiantly needs a bit of a refurbishment!

I stayed for 2 nights with my girlfriend and had not read any of these reviews until we took the room on, luckily we never had any issues with the staff. They were really helpful and gave us a map and told us where the sights are and where to go for the fireworks display for Tet. They also arranged a bus to Hue for us for $10 (not sure if this was a rip off or not as travel in Vietnam is fairly expensive).

I did notice one of the guest arguing with the receptionist over a stolen sim card but we never had anything stolen from our room (although we always kept the key and didn't leave anything valuable in the room).

My only annoyance would be when we were booking up some flights for ourselves in our room, I sent my girlfriend to get our passports and they would not give them to her until we had paid, she even offered to bring the money down straight away or for them to come up to the room to collect the money but the receptionist just kept repeating; it's against our policy to give you back the passports until the money has been paid! This meant my girlfriend had to come back to the room get the money, pay reception and get our passports and by this time our information had timed out!

We couldn't connect to their wi-fi but instead used an open network, so that we didn't have to go down to the reception area.

Other than this we really enjoyed our time in Hoi An and feel this hotel should not reflect on the the people or town itself ;)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ベトナム
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Employee awareness of the hotel here is too low.
Into the room with the master key, steal the money of travelers.
There are a variety of passengers is compromised.

Room Tip: Should not be used
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nhat Huy Hoang Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nhat Huy Hoang Hotel

Address: 58 Ba Trieu St, Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 121 B&Bs / Inns in Hoi An
Number of rooms: 11

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nhat Huy Hoang Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.