We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful villas, spectacular surroundings and excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Hoa Su Frangipani

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Hoa Su Frangipani to your Saves list
Villa Hoa Su Frangipani
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Hamlet No 5, Cam Thanh Ward | Hoian City, Quang Nam Province, Hoi An, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 94 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Beautiful villas, spectacular surroundings and excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband and I booked this based upon Trip Advisor reviews, and when we arrived on the 9th September we couldn't quite believe how beautiful it was.
There are around 5 villas and three hotel rooms, and the pictures on the website do not do the surroundings justice. There is a beautiful pagoda to sit and have breakfast on every day (and dinner if you notify the staff - but be prepared you get what you are given, which is delicious and plentiful for around USD 20.00). The pool lies amidst a stunning pond full of beautiful fish, the setting is both tranquil and relaxing. There are lovely bikes to borrow (at no extra cost) to go to the town centre (approx 4km away) or to the beach (approx 4km away) - this really is so much fun and we spent our entire time hopping on the bikes and visiting somewhere new.
We stayed in one of the villas which offered a large room complete with cable television, large double bed, sofa and both indoor and outdoor bathroom. The air con was fantastic and we never needed to leave it on overnight. The outdoor bathroom is really very charming and a special deature of the villas. Admittedly, there are perhaps a few little things that need to be improved in the rooms (just a little maintenance), but you must understand that everything is so gorgeous and the staff are so fantastic that you can completely overlook any little things like the odd small stain on the wall, or a broken drawer handle.
The staff are exceptional, nothing is ever too much trouble and they offer both decent and helpful advice (such as visiting My Son temple ridiculously early in the morning - brilliant idea to avoid the crowds and the heat). Taxis are ordered and prices agreed by the hotel before you get in, so no bartering over using the meter.
There is a chap called Bon who worked in the evenings, I mention him specifically as was such a delight to have a chat to on the way back to the villa and always offered such wonderful advice as to which beaches to go to, and the best restaurants in town.
I cannot recommend this place enough, and secretly would like to keep it to myself but feel it's only fair to share such a magical little oasis with others.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    29
    14
    5
    4
See reviews for
32
86
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kfar-Saba, Israel
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We have stayed in Hoa Su for one week. We were amazed when seeing this place and we certainly did not want to leave at the end of the full week. This is a sure place to return to.
Its a mini boutique hotel on the river, with ducks swimming there. It has 5 villas infront of the swim pool, one luxiourus vila in the 2nd floor and two simpler rooms.
Each villa has inner bath room and a lovely bath room in a a patio open to the sky, full of plants and amazlingly decorated/desinged.
The room are magnificant, very beautiful, very comfortable and pleasure to be at.
The hotel has lovely little swimpool serounded by a huge fish and water lilies. everything was built in a perfect symteric way.
The place for breakfast is built as a ramp above the fish pool, so all arround you are water lilies and colorful fish.
The people running the hotel are very servicable, polite, kind and caring. The place is extremely clean and breath taking.
The breakfast is gernorous and served nicely.
there were free bycyles for all the quests to use. we got umbrellas when it rained.
Everything was done to make our stay a pleasure.

Room Tip: The room in the 2nd floor is the nicest in the hotel. It has view to the river and to the enitre hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madrid
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

I am writing my review while taking my last swim in the wonderful little swimming pool of the hotel. What can i say...this place is just heaven...We were going to spend just 2 nights in Hoi an but after the first night we decided to extend our stay to 5 nights. The hotel is small, with 5 fantastic deluxe rooms with a gorgeous uncovered shower (there is also a covered one i did use). The common área is probably the most charming one i had been and i have travelled a lot. Beautiful swimmingpool surrounded by a pond full of fish, frogs, water lillies....breakfast was delicious too. Try the cao lau which is a local speciallity. Mrs Thu the woman in charge was great too, providing with all the information in the área, as beaches, villages to visit...rent one of their motorbikes to discover the area. Location is also perfect just 10 minutes in bycicle to Hoi an, peaceful and quiet and 10 minutes to the beach which is also very nice. Very highly recommended place

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latrobe, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed here with friends, their second visit and we were not disappointed. This is an absolute gem, away from the bustle of Hoi An but accessible by taxi for around 2 australian. Staff very helpful and friendly . Found the breakfasts yummy and ordered Vietnamese breakfast twice. Our pre ordered evening meal was equal to anything we experienced in town. Room was spacious with added bonus of out door shower and bath, we also loved the pool surrounded by the fish pond. Friendly comfortable very enjoyable. Perhaps tea and coffee making facilities in each room would enhance the experience.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the 5 rooms directly opposite the pagola and pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bouvard WA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

After spending a few hectic days in Hanoi we were looking forward to a quiet break in Hoi An. We booked directly with the hotel about three months earlier. The hotel arranged our collection from Da Nang airport and the transfer took barely 30 minutes. We were warmly greeted by Miss Thu with a cool fruit juice and as she was checking us in we just could not stop admiring the beautiful gardens.

Our room was quite large, very clean, and well equipped with AC, safe, Flat TV and DVD. There was Wifi in the rooms and use of 2 computers in the outside Pavilion. Each room has a private outdoor courtyard where there is a large stone bath tub as well as a shower. During our visit the weather was hot and sticky and to have an outdoor cool shower was just perfect. The indoor shower did not get used once.

Across from our room was the pavilion. This beautiful structure is completely surrounded by water containing lotus plants, water lilies and of course plenty of fish, and this is where breakfast and dinner are served. Breakfast started at 0730 hours and was perfectly adequate. Warm fresh bread with coffee and fruit. For those who enjoy Vietnamese soups or eggs and bacon were also included. Dinner is available but needs to be confirmed the day before because the Chef will buy his ingredients from the market early morning. This way you really know that everything is very fresh. During our time at the Villa we had dinner twice and can honestly say it was delicious, and looking out onto the beautiful gardens made it even better.

The hotel has a swimming pool which, like the pavilion, is also surrounded by water ! just as though the pool was built into a pond. Really quite spectacular.

Bicycles are available free of charge, and they were perfect for either the 10 minute ride into the town centre or the 10 minute ride to the beach.

This is a small family run hotel where everybody was very friendly and efficient. Ms Thu
certainly looked after us and made us feel very welcome.

Highly recommended and would certainly return should our travels take us back to Hoi An

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nha Trang, Vietnam
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

I stayed 3 nights and enjoyed the quietness,wake up early,went for a swim in the clean swimming pool its like your in another world!breakfast made by ms.Thu another nice experience so calm they let you go..rooms are spacious clean and shower with bath tub outside just what I needed to get my concentration back after a few days of busy,noisy Hanoi.just one word,"wonderful"
sure come back here in january with my family...

Room Tip: they just add one more room its upstairs with large balcony,private!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

After reading reviews of this hotel, we were slightly disappointed once we arrived.

Staff were very friendly and helpful throughout our stay. The hotel surroundings are very pretty and relaxing but can see that the rooms now need a little TLC.

What was good:
Service, pool, breakfast and hotel surroundings (very pretty).

What was not so good:
No restaurant for Lunch / dinner, room is now tired (needs painted, window latches broken, lights broken, and not as clean as other hotels we experienced in Vietnam). Also room was never serviced during the stay.

If you are looking for a quiet hotel away from the old town (city center) in Hoi An, this is an excellent option (if you overlook the above).

Bond helped us to rent a scooter for USD7 per day. Cycling into town was a 20 min ride.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Hoa Su Frangipani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Hoa Su Frangipani

Address: Hamlet No 5, Cam Thanh Ward | Hoian City, Quang Nam Province, Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Hoi An
#25 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#28 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Hoa Su Frangipani 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Villa Hoa Su Frangipani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Hoa Su Frangipani Hotel Hoi An

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Hoa Su Frangipani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.